Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Anarchy Reigns

by TeamCalcium - Jam Entry

We introduce to you: Toucanman!
Play as the self-proclaimed Hero to save the world!
Fight anarchists and crime with your own repartoire of DIY Weapons.

(Edit: We noticed a bug that accidently links the players movement speed with the framerate. As we plan to finish this game until the point to where we planned it initially, this will be fixed in the finished project)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#303Graphics(Jam)3.71
#341Humor(Jam)3.22
#376Audio(Jam)3.07
#413Fun(Jam)3.20
#431Mood(Jam)3.19
#440Overall(Jam)3.32
#556Theme(Jam)3.30
#805Innovation(Jam)2.56

Comments

komjaur says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:59am

damn its hard and i love those grapichs

PixelMind says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:04am

Pretty cool little game :) Perhaps some sort of visible hit effect would be cool for projectiles. Good job!

Perjoka says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:20am

Nice game, a bit hard but i had fun playing it :)

kyyrma says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:26am

The graphics are really neat, I love the mixture of sprites and low-res 3D. Sometimes it's not exactly intuitive what is on the same layer with the character (platforms that he can jump on) and what is on the background / foreground.

Demy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:27am

I like the idea and the design of this game. May be graphics is too dark - it's hard to see your own character. And this game is too 2D for the 3D it uses, some times it's hard to understand what's going on in this projection.
But I like the atmosphere and character design.

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:36pm

Laughed quite a bit while playing.

Fenaer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:51pm

Movement is a bit janky - got stuck on terrain. And it's a bit hard. Cool idea though!

Nikteddy92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:21pm

Wow this game is hard!
But.. WHY WATERMELONS? XD
BTW nice job! Well done!

rogberth says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:27pm

Hard game and the controls are a bit hard also... The game is impressive, love the style!

goglmogl says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:19pm

why don't shoot on jump?

TeamCalcium says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:21pm

You can jump and shoot simultaneously.

Druid says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:33pm

That combination of 2d and 3d is amazing! This game reminded me Duke Nukem Manhattan Project. Great work! Just cotrols are little floaty.

lochmann-apps says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:42pm

Nice graphics and fun game, the colors are a bit dark in my opinion but thats a matter of taste ;-) Congrats!

Jungle says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:57pm

Great job my friend! Graphs are great, a mix of 2D and 3D. Controls are good but jump button (the character dont jump if you hold the button). Overall great game! Congrats!!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:07pm

Like everyone said, game is a tad hard, I gave up after respawning 10x at the second beam. Love the graphics and audio.

adsilcott says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:56pm

An unconventional hero for an unconventional weapon. :) Great graphics and lots of fun!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:01pm

Very cool game. I don't know how you did manage to model so many level details in a such a little amount of time.

shatley123 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:38pm

Loved the art style! It reminded me of one of the old build engine games mixed with a platformer. I've never seen anything like it. Jumping can feel a little weird at times but besides that it's great!

asobi tech says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:43am

I love how I'm randomly Toucanman, with some really random weapons.
It's all a bit dark though, the colours don't really pop.
Movement and attacks lacked "weight" needs more juice.

jhell says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:57am

Really cool, the music is excellent, as well as the setting and art. After that gameplay feels a bit simple, but it does its job and I wanted to see more than those levels :)

borgi says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:29am

I really like this 2D mixed 3D art style, well done!

AdamW says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:29am

Dem graphics!

mantis says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:41am

Loving the style.. Toucanman shall have his revenge!

Null DIES says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:20pm

I liked the game environment. I felt immersed in this bizarre world. My only suggestion is to find a way to make the player not just run and jump fast to finish the game because I did that and won the game easily.

Ouro17 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:46am

Nice world and nice theme, I wanted to play more at the end! Too short!

Frenchie says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:35am

Good game but the difficulty needs to be tweaked a bit.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:45pm

The fruit gun feels very well to play.
The physics (specially the water pistol) act a little weird.
Its hilarious to shoot backwards.

dcRfj15 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:22pm

Fun game, graphics were nice as well. The enemies were hard to kill, but I felt that it was a good thing, made the game more challenging. It would be fun to see a sequel of this game :)

One thing that I didn't understand was the first part when the character had the water gun. I didn't understand why that part was in the game, since the water gun wasn't used, and the water gun didn't show up at any other part in the story.

Zeriver says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:43pm

Solid game, shame it's so short.

Kasmilus says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:26pm

I won in something about 20 secs just by running forward. Not sure if that's a bug or you actually can run that fast ;D I love that art style, very pretty game!

korvyashka says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:58pm

It reminded me Duke Nukem somehow.

Jasonsumm says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:30pm

cool style :)

Conflei says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:31am

Dude that's what i call -the next level- congratz and thank you!

safran says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:17am

Well, i do love to see some (water)melons. Control is difficult though.

hbocao says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:25am

Good job, guys.
I didn't find the controls weird or something like that. The weapons made me laugh out loud, but what really shines is the Toucan-life-bar. hahaa

Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:31am

Seemed like a pretty stock standard game with an 'unconventional' weapon. I think most people in the jam have just made some wacky weapons... Other than that it was a pretty cool shoot em' up!

MonoS says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:31am

Kind of liked the 2d low res sprite with the 3d environment, also the accumulation of body parts XD.

Took me some time to feel accustomed with the controls, but than was a fly to the ending.

Overall a bit to short and nothing new to the genre, so low innovation but well fitting into the theme.

lucien says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:45pm

Bit hard but very very cool:)

sorlok says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:18pm

Very fun and interesting! The jumping was a bit floaty, but the overall gameplay was well done. Great job!

snapman_GT says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:58pm

A pretty conventional game, and honestly, a pretty conventional weapon. Seemed easy to just fire watermelons way ahead, and everybody would be dead by the time you got to them.

Pixel Heart says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 4:19pm

Hard and funny! As we like it

joe40001 says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 3:29pm

Few things:
1. Graphically nice, I appreciate the attention to detail when it comes to background and stuff.
2. It was very "sticky" the character didn't like to move and when he did it was very start/stop like, the whole controls felt rough.
3. I liked the weapons, good take on the theme and you have a good humor/mood as well. Overall good/fun game, probably could have used a little more polish though...


PS: In unity if you want things to be independent of frames then in Update you work with time.deltaTime.

Fabraz says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 9:46pm

Graphics are cool, but I'd be much more into it if you had given a little more weight to the actual theme. Yes, melons are unconventional, but the whole thing just kind of works like a gun. Except... it's a melon.

It seems like people like it though so good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]