Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Hackinator

by ungarischeziegenspielen - Jam Entry

In the times, when the army does research with Artificial Intelligences, one minor coding fault can cause the end of human life on Earth. But not today.
You are Hackminator, the best hacker in the world. Your mission is to disable the new Military AI, GroundNet, which went crazy a few milliseconds after it's first run. Now it wants to use the army's robots to take over the world.
You. Must. Not. Let. This. Happen.

~~~ Technical stuff about the game ~~~
As it's written using libGDX, you will need JAVA to run the game. It's doesn't have high system requirements, so it's very much probable, that it'll run on your computer.

* SPOILER *
To hack in the game, you need to click on an enemy, to move, click where you want to move to. Two numbers will appear on screen, you quickly need to press the number on the keyboard which equals with their sum.
* END OF SPOILER *

To mute the music, press F11, to unmute, press F12.
To turn on an amazing CRT-like effect, press F10.

Hope you have fun playing it!

TL;DR
Game with mouse control, you need to hack. It runs in 800*480 resolution.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#337Audio(Jam)3.17
#386Overall(Jam)3.37
#506Mood(Jam)3.08
#524Innovation(Jam)3.08
#543Fun(Jam)3.00
#582Theme(Jam)3.27
#585Graphics(Jam)3.16
#701Humor(Jam)2.48

Comments

talecrafter says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:42pm

Cool game. Reminded me positively of old school realtime strategy games.
The walking was a bit strange. Sometimes the Hackminator made a step backward when I orderer him a movement command.

plams says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:47pm

Took a while to figure out you had to add numbers, but it was rewarding :) Controls are a bit glitchy, feels like moving on an invisible grid. Music is nice!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:49pm

Well, you are moving on an invisible grid plams :D telecrafter, it does step backwards, but I don't really have time to fix it :(

Linus123xbb says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:49pm

Fun game with an interesting concept, the audio was really good aswell! :)

Saymon says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:57pm

Nice game.

hercludes says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:59pm

Interesting idea. Movement was pretty rusty and probably needed some shining. Graphics are beautiful and present a good environment. Not sure how hacking is an unconventional weapon but a walking wizard hacker might be. Nice music too.

Jadernak says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:11pm

I must admit this was way more fun than I've imagined and I just had to finish it. The two frustrating thing is that click to move goes one step back and also music gets repetitive. Otherwise good job.

Jordan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:11pm

Love the UNIX styled terminal. The terminal messages/instructions help out the feel a lot, and the back story is interesting. Overall, great job!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:15pm

Looks very cool! How do I get past the first map though? I walk to the edges but can't go anywhere else.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:46pm

theholychicken Pick up the 5 pendrives

wintermute says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:24pm

I like the graphic style and the music.
However, there seem to be a reoccurring, seemingly random crashes caused by an exception (full stack trace here: http://pastebin.com/YK1P6Tqp)
Apart from that very well made.

Xanjos says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:44pm

The game seems to crash at random moments but I really like the concept (especially the look of the terminal).

lucentbeam says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:25pm

Nice work! Looks really good, and has a fun concept. My only complaint is the reliance on mouse clicks to move... I often found myself walking toward a barrage of lasers if I misclicked or an enemy moved out of the way when I intended to hack them.

Somnium says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:57am

Nice game! The hacking mechanic felt powerful, and the music was quite good. The game has a nice aesthetic overall, including the pop-up "console windows".

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]