Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

walkin' talkin'

by justthestudio - Jam Entry

In WALKIN' TALKIN' your weapon is persuasion. Player must talk to his enemies and find their weakness. By talking to them and using actions you can stun and finish your enemies.

Controls:
WSAD - movement
Mouse - click on enemies to interact

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#56Graphics(Jam)4.42
#109Theme(Jam)3.96
#175Audio(Jam)3.52
#226Innovation(Jam)3.56
#243Mood(Jam)3.45
#488Humor(Jam)2.92
#531Overall(Jam)3.20
#631Fun(Jam)2.88
#1436Coolness46%

Comments

Tuism says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:45am

I really like the idea, but it's really not clear what I need to do. There are words above and below the line, but I don't know if I should do those or not do those... And then it just become a case of whack-a-mole rather than finesse and conversation.

Really interesting idea, if it could be implemented with an Eliza-like (or Siri-like, if you're under 25 :P) conversation engine it could be interesting.

Oh I could walk all the way past like 10 rooms before it actually kicked me back to the beginning.

sandbaydev says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:52pm

Overall a nice entry. Cool graphics and nice idea. I agree with @Tuism: was hard to think what option I should choose.... as there wasn't really good way for me to understand the consequences.

Garris says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:17pm

I managed to get through several enemies, but the farther I went, the more confusing it was to see how to defeat them. I did really like the graphics, and the music was pretty nice.

MrShoestore says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 1:55am

I think this has great style, but it is a bit tough to figure out what to say to people. it does become a bit of try everything to see if anything works.

jtpup0 says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 6:48pm

Awesome gameplay really confusing at first but easy to pick up after a few playthroughs, well done

NoWandStudios says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 7:35pm

Needs more logic in the decision making but all on all good idea. Nice graphics and music aswell.

jk5000 says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 7:58pm

Music, graphics and concept is good. Hard to figure out what you are supose to do, to find their weakness.

May 4, 2015 @ 7:59pm

Nice atmosphere & gameplay, one of my LD32 favourite !

Fabraz says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Cool art assets. Like the vibe of a 70's detective story.

I felt the options were good but that the enemies themes were a little bit opaque. I also wish I didn't have a hallway full of crying guards by the end. That was the only way I could seem to defeat them after the first one.

Difficulty scaled very quickly, so I reached a point where I couldn't get even one stun in to try and deduce the puzzle before being sent back for the loooong slow walk :(

Overall great idea, theme, and take on the prompt!

Noah Ratcliff says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 9:28pm

Really interesting use of the theme! It was also surprisingly engaging. However, I feel there was too steep of a learning curve, and I spent most of my time just guessing at random responses for the personality type, and then getting booted back to the start.

Saker Games says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 9:55pm

Nice one. The emotions means the weapon :). After the final level are darkness only but otherwise is OK. Lot of stars for you.

poohshoes says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 10:35pm

I struggled to figure out what to do.

ZQMony says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 2:38am

The game had nice graphics and a very good idea, but it did get a bit confusing towards the end.

May 5, 2015 @ 5:51pm

Awesome graphics! Loved the characters' art!
The mechanics look ok, but I couldn't guess the outcome of my decisions. I'd advice you to make the feedback clearer. :)
Nice job!

gelisam says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 11:42am

The early enemies did not do a good job of training me to use my abilities so that I am ready to face the harder enemies. Instead, I used chose randomly for the first few enemies and it worked, and for the later enemies I didn't have enough time. I eventually noticed that some lines caused some enemies to wait longer, but I couldn't figure out the relationship between lines and enemies, it was just trial and error. It also took me a while to realize that it was better to always use the same emotion or two than to mix up all four, as the counters mechanically imply the opposite.

rogueNoodle says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 8:11pm

Loved the style, both visual and audio. The gameplay was a little confusing though - some enemies were easier to crack than others, but I couldn't really figure out why.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]