Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Big Man Moai

by track02 - Jam Entry

Take control of a Moai statue and jump up and down on the Earth to propel it through space.

Crash into aliens and bounce around.

A & D to move, W to jump

----------------------

Will only work with Windows at the moment, I've linked to some instructions on how to run on Mac / Linux on the readme if anyone is really interested.

I didn't have enough time to add in any sort of progression or win/lose conditions but may continue working on things if I can.

Either way, let me know what you like or didn't like.

Bug/crash reports are really appreciated, the source is a total mess so some things may have been missed.

If you're rating the game please use the windows download link to the original submission.

----------------------
NOTE:

- The windows download is the original (buggiest) submission
- Play this version if you want to rate the game


- The source is more up to date and might be less buggy and have more features

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#318Theme(Jam)3.65
#481Innovation(Jam)3.14
#515Humor(Jam)2.86
#625Audio(Jam)2.18
#766Overall(Jam)2.91
#819Fun(Jam)2.61
#845Mood(Jam)2.55
#869Graphics(Jam)2.41
#1667Coolness40%

Comments

rinat.kh says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:04pm

Windows and Source link redirects to the same github page. So, where is the executable?

track02 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:10pm

Both are hosted there, I've just uploaded it to dropbox too though:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/wkau91pxt724xyi/LD32-Distrib.zip?dl=0

philipp says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:21pm

Neat idea. But as you already know the lack of progression is really hurting the game. I think it would become really interesting to see how it would play with escalating difficulty. As it is now, there is very little challenge even if I pretend that I die by hitting something :]

And to everyone who tries to play the game:
Download the "LD32-Distrib.zip" to play. It was a bit unclear to me and I downloaded the whole project.

nassi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:25pm

Got stuck into the edge of the screen. Which made Earth shake so hard that all of it's inhabitants must have perished :P.

Definitely the most unconvenient weapon so far, but the gameplay could be more varied.

track02 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:49pm

@nassi
Thanks, I'll have a look into that
Can you remember which edge it was? (top/bottom/left/right)

vogon101 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:09pm

Decent game, shame about no progression

chromebookbob says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:35pm

Good idea, fits with the theme. The controls were unclear until I read your description. I got stuck in the wall a couple of times. Great work!

Huo-cuo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:38pm

Very promising idea. I would love some sort of score or more levels.

nassi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:21pm

@track02: It was the right edge of the screen.

I think it's because you handle the collisions one frame late as the first thing in the update-function. Thus your dt might vary between the frame where you leave the playfield and the frame where you try to correct that. If the dt is smaller on the next frame the planet might not move back enough and get stuck. There might be more to it though.

In a game like this I suggest handling the collisions after moving everything, so in your case last thing in the update function.

Line 736 of main.lua should probably also have enemy.x < 0 instead of planet.x < 0.

track02 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:47pm

@nassi
Thank you, I'd like to say I've sorted it now but it seems to happen so randomly I can't say for sure.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:50pm

A fellow LÖVE user! This game was pretty cool, very Asteroids inspired.

mokujin says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:41pm

+1 for Moai in a space

xplicitone says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:53am

I agree with the above. I got stuck on the side for a bit. Score would be awesome! Pretty neat idea so great start!

Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:55pm

Very cool and innovative concept, but steaks felt low since there wasn't really any way to fail. Still, very good job!

Jajo says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 4:13pm

An enjoyable game. The idea is there, with some polishing, I think this could become a great, innovative game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]