Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Soccer Cows

by MartianGames - Jam Entry

Battle with Cows in a Post-Apocalyptic Soccer-War with Cows Everywhere!

>Earn points by shooting or pushing the ball into either goal net.
>Cows earn points by trying to kill you.
>First to earn 3 points wins!

WASD = Drive
Left-Click = Primary Weapon
Right-Click = Launch UNCONVENTIONAL WEAPON!
Shift = Turbo
Space = Jump
-----------------------------
Created for the 72-hour Ludum Dare #32 "An Unconventional Weapon" game jam challenge. Our weapon of choice: The COWtapult, developed by Shadow and Jenni (Martian Games).

Made with Unity, which Chrome no longer supports, so please use Firefox :)

We opted out of graphic & audio because we've used a few delightful Unity asset store items. Jenni designed & modeled the cows!

We occasionally live-stream our game development on Twitch & are always stoked to connect with others obsessed with the interactive arts. ;)

http://twitch.tv/MartianGames | http://twitch.tv/JenniNexus

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#22Humor(Jam)4.14
#53Overall(Jam)3.96
#54Fun(Jam)3.88
#182Mood(Jam)3.55
#237Innovation(Jam)3.54
#358Theme(Jam)3.58
#1634Coolness41%

Comments

Shimmergloom says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:21pm

Very cool, worked extremely well in web player by the way.

Xanderzoo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:13am

I have been defeated by cows! This is unthinkable! Must give five stars!

xbcw says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:51am

Great fun. The controls were very tight.

PushmePullyu says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:16am

Those cows were dynamite!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:17am

Wow! that one's difficult as hell and It runs very smoothly. Congrats!

MartianGames says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:08am

Thanks guys! You make the 3 days of lost sleep worth it!! I'll be playing your games! Keep in touch :D
http://martiangames.com/ https://www.facebook.com/pages/Martian-Games/213670532029705

ajopart says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:28am

Flying cows, dynamite, automatic weapons, sport. Nothing can go wrong... Excellent. Ho, and the sound is great, the face of the cow before flying is priceless

Horsed says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:57pm

Holy cow! Played really well.

PIXEL^3 says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 7:49am

This game feels amazing! Probably the funnest game I've played this Dare. Take the broken physics, and the car, and the turbo and run off with them to make something. Then send it to me so I can play it. ;)

yuigoto says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 11:32pm

Nice nice, and FUN! But it's a little bit hard and challenging, Cows always win here! T_T

The choice for graphics and audio, even if it were asset store items, was really nice, and you set up a nice mood for the game. :)

lochmann-apps says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 6:38am

nice game!

volkoivan says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 6:52am

Really cool and fun game, but the loading is reaaally long
But the waiting was worth it, fun and nice-looking
Also, one question, how the AI for cows was written? :)

Xanjos says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 2:44pm

Harder than it looks but incredibly silly and absolutely fun to play. A multiplayer version of this definitely needs to happen.

Omiya Games says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 2:20am

Reminds me of Twisted Metal. There are too many things to juggle at the same time. And trying to dribble the soccer ball to the goal post is very hard and kind of frustrating.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]