Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Gravitas

by SpringCabal - Jam Entry

How to run: Remember to extract the whole archive, then launch `Gravitas` bash script on Linux or `Gravitas.bat` on windows. On Linux, you'll need to have SDL2 installed.
NOTE: If you use the post-jam version, just run Gravitas or Gravitas.exe (there are no bash or bat scripts).

Controls: right-click to move or attack, W + left click to jump. Q to switch pull/push mode, S to stop movement/attacking.

About game: This is a puzzle/shooting game made on an RTS engine, with all the ensuing hilarity. You control a character who can jump around and shoot gravity beams that either attract or repulse objects, including enemies. You can kill enemies (except ones who cannot be killed) by projecting them into danger zones like ion storms, fires, or space, or just by smashing them against each other fast enough.

About stuff: Some code were reused (UI framework and such), but all art from ground textures to unit animations was done from scratch with exception of a few cursors and icons.

About engine: The game was made on the pretty versatile if somewhat difficult to learn Spring RTS engine (springrts.com/ ), using its interesting physicsy bits to try to make something less ordinary and RTS-y.

About us: we're a few guys who've some different stuff using Spring, so we decided to also do a Ludum Dare event for epic fun.

About bugs: you can submit them on github.com/SpringCabal/Gravitas/issues

Developers (alphabetically):
Anarchid
ashdnazg
gajop
Picasso
Silentwings

PS: We want to thank everyone who has played our game. We're also thankful for all the feedback that has been provided, keep it coming ;)

We also provide a post-jam version you can use for better enjoyment. The changes are mentioned below.

Update 22.04.2015:
- Fixed one resource hog
- Fixed room 12 bug
- Made the game easier
- Made the character control slightly better
- Changed distribution archive from 7z to zip

Update 23.04.2015:
- Fixed robot explosions
- Added restart button/win condition

Update 26.04.2015:
- Using a better pathfinder system: should result in smoother movement
- Changed (improved) the control system
- Easier to right click on robots
- Units avoid electric fields better
- Added wall explosion
- Some other minor fixes

Update 07.05.2015:
- Using a newer engine version which removes the need for .bat and .bash files and contains some additional fixes

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#293Graphics(Jam)3.74
#365Audio(Jam)3.10
#549Mood(Jam)3.00
#554Innovation(Jam)3.04
#558Overall(Jam)3.17
#654Humor(Jam)2.57
#671Theme(Jam)3.14
#823Fun(Jam)2.60

Comments

manabreak says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:03pm

This had some real potential, I liked the idea very much. However, it was pretty jittery and there were many graphics missing.

Krunoslav says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:17pm

Very cool and pretty game, i was not very good at it, but it was fun

Bananaft says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:23pm

Looks fantastic! But unfortunately, it's too hard. First four enemies shot me dead before I mange to push into fire at least one of them. GamOver window lacks Restart button. I wish I could get further, than third room.

Drauthius says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:26pm

Very beautiful game with a nice atmosphere. I had some trouble getting past the robots though. I pushed some into the fire, others I locked into a room, but they kept hurting me too much. Hope you had fun creating it. :)

GlowingSnail says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:28pm

The graphics are very nice, but the controls are horrible.

DeinFreund says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:42pm

Luckily the source is included directly in the build, so it's easy to adjust the difficulty to something I can cope with.
Nice graphics and idea. The RTS controls are awkward.
It's a cool demo of map features and terrain deformation.

daltostronic says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:53pm

Looks like loads of work, keep developing it and make it a bit easier to control the gun :)

vdimitrieski says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:52am

Game looks very well, really enjoyed playing it. It reminds me of Rochard but in 3D. Although, the gun control should be smoother. Also, I've got black screen first time loading it and it needed a force quit.

SpringCabal says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:56am

@manabreak:
I just tested it on my work PC which has a pretty bad GFX card, and I didn't have any fire or electric-field effects.
If that's the same case with you, it's likely to do with Spring (engine) having issues with shader support for ATI/Intel GFX cards, and thus doesn't render them (or crashes on start).
Your complaints are valid though, we just didn't have time to add non-GLSL effect support, but maybe we will later on ;)

Acrimiens says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:28am

This game is awesome, keep working on it!

coderitual says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:52am

That's right about controls. Otherwise it's really cool (especially graphics)

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:28pm

It's cool, but it takes a while to figure out the controls and things.

Alexbrainbox says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:44pm

Could you please provide a version in .zip format? Some people (including me) don't have the programs required to open .7z files.

SpringCabal says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:52pm

@Alexbrainbox: The post-jam ones are in .zip
I don't really want to change the original ones.

Bensonance says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:12pm

Awesome jam entry, but the controls feel odd and moving is a bit of a chore. That said the concept is very good and the graphics extremely impressive.

Sublustris says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:28pm

Awesome art!!! 5/5

felipeberquo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:29pm

You guys should continue this game! Looks awesome :D
Keep it on buddies!

louis.denizet says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:50pm

This was really great, I also think it has a lot of potential. Controls are a bit hard at first though but great anyway ;)

Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:45pm

I think this game has a lot of potential and looks great, but the controls aren't very intuitive at all. Needs a bit of work, but a good start so far.

Lyje says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:25pm

Cool idea, but very difficult to control.

sorlok says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Neat idea! I found it a bit hard to control, but I liked the concept.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 4:41am

really enjoyed theme and the graphics were great but the controls were too hard - nice job

Omiya Games says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 6:59pm

On ATI/AMD graphics card, this games comes out as graphically corrupt. And I'm having framerate issues, too. Sorry we can't play this well.

gv1351 says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 12:36pm

the game doesn't seem to work

Shadowfury333 says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 4:42am

At the request of Anarchid and gajop, I did a playthrough for Twitch and YouTube. The video can be viewed here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_-2M5YBu_2Y

Almost says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 4:02am

I was pulling boxes while jumping around and ended up throwing a bunch of boxes and myself through some walls.

Almost says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 4:04am

I was pulling boxes while jumping around and ended up throwing a bunch of boxes and myself through some walls.

Apparently pulling a robot into me hurts a lot.

uber says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 10:40am

The games shows a real potential, keep working on it and good luck!

CiderPunk says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 3:03pm

great idea, looks amazing but the controls let it down a bit.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]