Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Crystal Chords

by monkfallsinsnow - Jam Entry

**Update: You can now control the second player using either WASD, the arrow keys, or another gamepad (using the same button mapping as player 1). Also, for those of you who don't have a numpad, you can use the normal number keys.***

Crystal Chords is a 2 player fighting game where players (one using a gamepad, and the other using the keyboard) drop musical crystals in order to form specific chords. Once three crystals have been dropped, the player can then harness the chord's destructive power and battle his/her opponent in never ending combat.

This is my first game jam, and my second game creation. You'll probably find the game a bit frustrating, but I hope it brings you at least a few moments of joy. Also, I forgot to mention in the instructions that after you place three crystals, you need to press the A button, if you are player 1 and using a gamepad, or the enter key, if you are player 2 and using the keyboard in order to fire your weapon.

One more note: If you are using the keyboard, you must use the numpad keys 1 through 7 in order to place crystals.

For all you musicians out there:
X or 1 = A note
Y or 2 = B note
B or 3 = C note
R Bumper or 4 = D note
L Bumper or 5 = E note
L Trigger or 6 = F note
R Trigger or 7 = G note

(I only managed to code six chords. Shhh... don't tell anyone)

Ludum Dare!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#244Theme(Jam)3.74
#261Innovation(Jam)3.49
#615Overall(Jam)3.10
#743Fun(Jam)2.72

Comments

LordKawaii says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:32pm

I could not figure out how to place the crystals on the keyboard. I tried every button/combo I could think of but all I was able to do was walk around.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:04am

You gotta use the numpad.

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:51am

Really original, would've been even more fun if I had a gamepad too. Good job, especially for your first LD!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:58am

Having to press three different buttons instead of a single one in order to do stuff doesn't seem like a good idea to me. Memorizing the arbitrary mapping between button triplets and actions makes it difficult to get into the game and it really doesn't add anything to it.

Mykaelos says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:17am

Cool idea for a weapon. Took me quite a bit to figure out how to play. It's kind of unwieldy on the keyboard.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:43am

Ya, the control scheme is certainly not ideal. I wanted to implement some sort of radial menu, but just didn't have time. Thanks for playing :)

Andromeda says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:59am

Initially tough with the chord memorization, but a lot of fun with another player (disclosure: I used the gamepad and haven't tried the keyboard) -- it gets more fun on a second play when you actually remember a few of the chords. I actually liked that this game isn't conducive to mindless button-mashing to win. Neat concept too. Keep up the Ludum Dare-ing!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:18am

This was a really cool concept done really well. Like you said, a radial menu (like secret of mana) would be really cool, but as an education tool I see the current layout as very beneficial. It would be great if there were a game that I could play with my Kawasaki keyboard and duel keyboard someone!

Keep developing this please, there's some really good stuff here.

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:05am

That's an interesting concept, music theory applied to a game. I found it a bit difficult to remember all combinations, but it works well besides that. good choice on letting the player use the crystal notes anytime, it'd be hard to do it if we had to collect them :).

nihilaleph says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:12am

Really original! Loved the concept! Too bad I don't have a second player >.<

Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:52am

Thanks for playing! Originally, the game was going to be one player, but on the second day, I realized I wasn't going to have enough time to program decent AI, so I opted for a two player solution :)

Davikin92 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:24am

Pretty interesting idea. As playing the piano is one of my hobbies, I would prefer to use the upper number keys rather than the numpad because of the way they are aligned. I feel the numpad is much finger twisting.

ironleonem says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:41pm

You have a very original concept here, and I actually really like the idea! I don't think it was executed particularly well, but I definitely think it's an idea worth pursuing.

Pros:
Your idea is sound, if poorly constructed, but there are ways to make it work.
The game is pretty fun, once the concept becomes apparent.

Cons:
Your gameplay is a little hard to understand. It took me rereading the instructions twice to finally figure out that only certain combinations of abilities worked.

Your gameplay is completely based on memorization without any real flexibility. If I were you, I would limit yourself to four notes, and make every combination of three do something. For an example of what this would look like, check out Magicka. Then, you could just button mash any combination of buttons and get SOME kind of effect, but players would naturally memorize their favorites or the more effective ones. It's the same kind of theory behind fighting games!

Your projectiles still hit the player who cast them. This may be a style choice, but if it is, it's one I disagree with.

Otherwise, I think you have a really solid start here. If you were to tighten up this gameplay and put out a more fully fleshed out title, I would buy it and play it with my friends. I'm not just saying that, I mean it. Keep working on this! It's obvious you have a very creative idea here. Thank you for your time! Have a good day, and thanks for sharing your entry with us.

Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:54pm

Thanks for such a thoughtful comment. I agree with pretty much everything you said. This being my first game jam, and only my second ever game creation, I found it really difficult to properly design something in such a short period of time. Actually, my original design for the game was quite different, but after running up against time constraints, I found myself having to redesign core elements of the game on the fly. Thanks again for the encouragement!

bossmojoman says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 12:36am

Hard to figure out at first. Controls might be simplified a bit. that being said, very cool concept, good job

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 9:12am

Nice little retro game. Cool stuff!

Chris Mondok says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 12:30am

As a non-musician, I found this highly confusing until I realized that it boiled down to a "combo" mechanic. But the musical interaction could use some work.

tmpxyz says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 7:12am

@ironleonem has said all. The mechanics has potential, you might need to decide some good effects for each combination.

May 11, 2015 @ 5:00pm

Great job on your game! I really enjoyed discussing your progress with you. I had a lot of fun playing it.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]