Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Rescue Mr.Furrybottom

by dray - Compo Entry

You wake up in the middle of the night seeing your cat being kidnapped! you will use everything you find to fight your foe and get your cat back !

The dodge roll is very important because you are invincible while doing it. throwing items is very effective to avoid getting hit but break more quickly items so you can find you cornered without anything to fight back if you do it too often. long range weapon like the coatrack or katana is very usefull for not taking too much damage.

Controls ( best with a 360 controller):

A/D or Left/Right or Joystick Left : move
E or Joypad B : grab object
F or Joypad A : Attack
Space or Joypad X : roll(evade)
R or Joypad Y : throw current object.

Objective : get to the end of the level.

bugfix version have a correction where enemies sometime kill you in one hit. i also added controls on the main screen and an exit button for making your life easier.

MacOS version is UNTESTED.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#104Graphics4.00
#337Mood3.19
#357Overall3.38
#397Humor3.00
#400Theme3.52
#443Fun3.17
#608Innovation3.03

Comments

nassi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:59pm

Played the windows bugfix version with a controller.

Neat intro cinematic thingy in the menu. The combat was also quite enjoyable, albeit a bit too easy thanks to that dodge roll. The game also felt very good and smooth. Some simple sound effects could've done wonders and of course I would've wanted for it to be longer and have more variety too :P.

Great entry.

ohai1 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:59pm

Most stars I gave to any game so far. Graphics are very nice. Music fits well. Really hilarious. Good job!

ProjectX593 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:05pm

A little bit easy, but overall fun. Does he ever find Mr Furrybottom? :o

Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:34pm

You may need to enable public sharing on the Source download. Right now it tells me to ask permission using my Google account.

dray says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:37pm

the source file public sharing should be corrected. Tell me if this not work i will put it on dropbox.

Deal With It says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:38pm

Lol. Nice graphics!

sawyerWeld says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:39pm

Lol

Big Cow says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:42pm

i enjoyed being able to pick up random items in the corridor, and i liked the boss battle. combat mechanics could be more diverse.

MasterOfNaN says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:44pm

Awesome overall look! FYI, it hanged on the end of game menu each time for me on MacOS.

sebasRez says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:46pm

This kid is too old for a teddy bear, but one is never too old! I liked those menu animations, I'm sure because lack of time there wasn't a chance but it'd be nice to have damage bar and sound effects to feel those hits. Nice graphics too.

Kasmilus says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:09pm

Nice graphics, enjoyable gameplay. I like it :)

DeadFragment says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:23pm

Controls felt a bit clunky at times, but it looks nice and is a good take on the theme.

-Hando

bentglasstube says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:27pm

It was really difficult to know the hitboxes and if you hit an enemy, making combat somewhat awkward. A fun concept nonetheless.

elitegoliath says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:22am

Not too bad. Could use a way to exit the game easily though. Game was smooth, but sound effects would have added a whole lot. The art was really nice. Pretty simple, but as you said, probably easier with a game bad (no stars removed for that haha).

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:30am

I loved the art style and it was really fun seeing all the things I could pick up off the wall.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:30am

Love the graphics (liked the music at first, but eventually found it a bit grating.) I enjoyed the experience overall.

Asado says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:05pm

Great. Simply great, so much detail in the artwork and very smooth gameplay.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]