Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Bullet Time

by BulletsArePeopleToo - Jam Entry

They say that Man is the deadliest weapon.

Join Bullet Willy on his heroic quest for vengeance against the crime syndicate that tragically took the lives of so many of his bullet buddies by firing them from their 9mm's.

Use Willy's bazooka (which uses ragdoll humans as ammo) to dole out some poetic justice for all bulletkind. Be sure to pick up the weapon drops and speed powerups to deal with the increasing waves of enemies in this survival shooter.


Controls:

WASD - movement
mouse - turn/aim
left click - fire

Your ammo is represented by hearts , which will refill after a few seconds of not firing depending on the weapon type (since everyone knows human health regenerates rapidly when it is not being depleted).


Change Log:
4/24 - Fixed a bug which caused infinite blood particle generation upon enemy death. Now Willy can survive much longer without unplayable lag.


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#28Fun(Jam)4.02
#38Humor(Jam)4.00
#130Overall(Jam)3.76
#187Theme(Jam)3.81
#222Mood(Jam)3.48
#281Graphics(Jam)3.76
#511Innovation(Jam)3.10

Comments

Bsevers18 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:28am

It's hilarious! super fun :D Love that the people gravity down and start dragging. shooting blood all over. Ridiculous >.<

Gunzil says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:29am

I like the copious blood effects but they also made the game run slow :<

Having your ammo be represented by hearts was a cute idea given you're shooting people.

ProjectX593 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:30am

It got REALLY laggy after a couple minutes of playing. I also didn't see any of the powerups mentioned. The blood spraying everywhere is pretty funny though - for a moment I thought some guys covered in blood were actually strapped with dynamite or something :P

th4t says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:31am

Pretty good entry. Had a similar idea at the start of the contest.
I like the blood and ragdols. Good work :)
The game starts to slow down on my system after a while, probably due to all the particles.

Rahazan says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:31am

This is so much better than I expected from the screenshots, great entry!

iapc says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:32am

fairly fun, though i had some framerate issues

Orange says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:33am

It's good but it got very laggy when there was a lot of blood on the screen.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:34am

Fun turnabout with bullets firing humans. Nice level graphics. Great job!

Phil Strahl says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:35am

Wow, okay, now that's something! It's been a while since so much much blood was splattered on my screen, that's for sure! The take of a bullet firing humans is a funny twist and the Bullet Willy's taunts are a riot.

I had a couple of framerate issues, especially when a lot was going on and I have no idea why I got killed, because there's so much pixel gore going on that I couldn't make out any bullets headed my way.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:38am

This is really fun. The music is really fitting with the overall rebellion against subtlety. The frame rate is really quite slow for me and if I had to hazard a guess its the multiple realtime lights. I am probably not a good rep for computer power so well see. Good job.

farnsworth2 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:49am

Fun to play. The controls feel a little unresponsive, and there's a noticeable amount of lag later in the game when there are a lot of bleeding bodies on the screen. The animations on the enemies are very well done.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:54am

Thanks @internetpaulicy for the tip on the realtime lighting. We removed most of the lighting so it should be significantly less laggy.

lucien says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:07am

Very funny :)
Nice work

RARoadkill says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:07am

Very fun, ragdolls really do improve everything

Harley77 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:13am

That is seriously fun. The music makes it.

Logicon says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:26am

Good fun :D

bossmojoman says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:35am

Don't call me bill, that was my dads name....

Awesome. A little work on the blood particles and this could be a fun little shooter commercially.

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:40am

Haha, turning the tables on those damn people! Very clever concept.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:44am

Wished you had some sort of way that got rid of the excess blood particles as after a while the game gets unplayable due to lag, which is a big shame because I was having massive amounts of fun shooting bodies at people!

Buko-Studios says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:16am

this is so hilarious. great concept!

rmc says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:59pm

It's a very fun game, but it gets unplayable laggy after some time.
The wilhelm scream is way too loud compared to the rest of the sounds.
Anyway, good job.

nuprahtor says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:02pm

Bullet that shoot people with people.
Duke Nukem really is a pansy after this!

WiErD0 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:08pm

Really funny game! Love the concept, and, more than anything, the hilarious little sayings the guy has. "People don't kill people, bullets kill people" was my favorite.

Hey, I would love it if you could give me some pointers on how you did that banana on the guys head. I was trying to get the same thing in my game: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=37149 with hinge joints, but it glitched up when I turned around (flipped the xScale). If you're interrested, feel free to email me at myWumboGames@gmail.com

Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:07am

Loved it, very funny. Gets a little laggy with the powerup that lets you shoot multiple people though.

jacobturn says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:53pm

...... funnny

Omiya Games says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 3:31am

Quite a solid game with no obvious bugs. There power-ups, however, comes in too slowly, meaning for the most part, I felt the game was very repetitive. If the different weapons and enemies were introduced sooner, I think this could have been a more captivating experience.

May 3, 2015 @ 4:55pm

Merica!

jk5000 says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 7:22pm

It is now proven that "man" is the most dangerous weapon. Good idea and fun to play.

steboots says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 8:05pm

That was...

SPECTACULARLY SATISFYING! I don't know which aspect of the game it was that set it over the top, but I truly enjoyed playing this game.

LeoM says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 9:24pm

Nice one ! :)
It's always cool to shoot peoples in an office ! ^^

OnlySlightly says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 3:53am

Yours was a lot of fun. I liked the attention to detail like the recoil and blood splatters that made it a really satisfying game. The funny quips the bullet mentioned throughout the game as well as the ones in your menu system gave the game some personality. Great job!

IamAcoconut says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 3:08am

Pretty awesome. Loved the blood effects. The controls seemed a little floaty, but perhaps that was intentional. Anyway, it was really fun! Loved the take on the theme, and the music. Great job!

myachin says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 5:13am

hahaha yeah!
great interpretation of theme!
very good entry!

ThirdMoon says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 12:34pm

Great Game!! Really Funny!!

May 9, 2015 @ 8:53pm

Funny idea, interesting reversal of the usual setup. Game is well executed too, the shooting is satisfying, the controls are solid, and the graphics and blood effects are pretty great. Nice music too. Good stuff!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]