Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Gician

by bitdecaygames - Jam Entry

You, the player, help a young self-proclaimed wizard on adventures through medieval times. The only problem is that our young wizard is not wizard at all... Do what you can to keep the kid safe in any way you can.

Controls:
WASD (movement)
Mouse (different actions, experiment with clicking, dragging, moving the mouse fast at an enemy [the knight... wink wink])
Enter to restart
Escape to quit


Each level contains a teddy bear, this is the portal to the next level. In some levels you have to kill all the enemies for the bear to appear. Other levels, the bear is always visible.


Note: This game requires Java to Play

Fix:
- Uploaded Java 6 version for those that don't have / want Java 8 installed.
- Uploaded Mac version, should fix the issue with the mouse climbing up the screen.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#611Audio(Jam)2.28
#662Graphics(Jam)2.97
#731Humor(Jam)2.43
#865Innovation(Jam)2.41
#910Theme(Jam)2.62
#933Mood(Jam)2.30
#951Fun(Jam)2.35
#1028Overall(Jam)2.43

Comments

Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:41pm

I uzipped and ran "run". but nothing happened

pythong says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:46pm

I can't control the player. I can move (AWSD?), but SPACE/Enter resets the game, and the mouse automatically moves to the top of the screen and I cannot click

MacOS, newest Mavericks

Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:08pm

Full of bugs, I can't click on the enemies, the pointer keeps on moving to the top of the window. I do like the sounds however.

jhell says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:20am

So, despite the lack of Azerty support, I managed to play but didn't figure out how to kill the knight :). I like the ghost art very much, and also the idea on how to kill them. For the rest, I didn't see much, is there a way to progress without killing the big knight?

To answer your comment on MagDef: Thanks for your feedback, actually I didn't put a hard cap on population growth but there is on asteroids damage so it's very good input on your part.

morazor says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:17pm

Collisions seem a bit off, the knight got sucked in the fence and went off screen... I've played Java8 version on Windows 8.1
Besides that, I really like the style and the insane amount of cuteness :D

boateye says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:19pm

The game worked for me, FWIW.

Once i figured out ow to defeat each enemy, the game was quite fun! The only wierdness i experienced is that the cursor stays in the same x, y position on the map instead of with the camera. If this was intentional, i think it should not be this way. it makes the cursor feel buggy and unresponsive because it's not how I expected the cursor to move when i moved the camera.

Other than that, the game was really good!

andrewjoy says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:05am

Cool mechanics once I figured them out, it was pretty frustrating until then! The Knight fight especially was a fun idea.

asobi tech says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:10am

At little confusing to start with, but was pretty fun once I got the hang of it. Nice clean art style.

phi6 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Thanks for trying out Nuclear Autumn, I've fixed the clipping/collision bugs now so I hope you will pick it up again! Seems a shame not to be able to experience the ending as we're really proud of that :)

I had a few goes on your game - that Knight fight!

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:15am

The game failed to run on a POSIX system, it's encoded to look for "Level1.tmx", but the file is "level1.tmx". Had to change it to be able to run.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 12:33am

Cool concept with the different uses of the mouse to attack. I didn't really have any bugs besides collision being slightly off at points. Good work!

ndebruyn says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 5:58am

It worked for me.
It is not bad, for me this game is okay.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]