Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Pillow Fight!

by The Pixel Collective - Jam Entry

***This is a two player game***

Make the feathers fly!

It's a slumber party deathmatch in this brutally-cute arena fighter! Knock your opponent off the bed to achieve great victory; first to 3 wins, wins it all.

It's like Super Smash Bros. with pillows!

Player 1 controls:
Move: Left, Right
Attack: CTRL

Player 2 controls:
Move: A,D
Attack: R

Brought to you by thepixelcollective.wordpress.com
More junk @pxlcollective

Made with lots of help from Cowboy Colors:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=51198
and music by Mike Jones and Zane Anderson:
http://mikejonesaudio.com/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#52Fun(Jam)3.89
#203Mood(Jam)3.51
#230Theme(Jam)3.76
#270Audio(Jam)3.30
#302Humor(Jam)3.30
#374Overall(Jam)3.38
#418Graphics(Jam)3.50
#471Innovation(Jam)3.16

Comments

gene-z says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:39am

Good Game.... interesting concept

Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:40am

Good music, but some soundeffect got bugged and replayed constantly drowning everything else out, it was very loud. Fun to play, if a bit smash-bros-y. Fit the theme well! Graphics were good too.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:48am

good job , congratulations

joaovitorbf says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:49am

Nice concept and beautiful artstyle. Good jog.

Good luck with your game :)

Supernovadx says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:49am

Before playing:
OMG THE THEME, so cute :)
haha I can't wait to play.
After Playing:
Wow, I really like this actually. I want more in depth combat, more levels. OMG please make this into a full game.

Elit3dGaming says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:51am

Fun concept love the bouncy bed :D

xbcw says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:56am

Wow, great concept and a lot of fun. The controls were very tight. It was suprisingly fun to explode your opponent into a burst of feathers.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:10am

Haha, loved the concept of the game, and thought it was quite fun and creative! Music also fit in quite well, especially with the theme. Great work, and best of luck in the competition

cowboycolor says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:19am

Congrats on your first LD game, homie! Lovin it, it was really sweet to watch it grow

rortron says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:01am

Fun game! Nice work and I look forward to more games in the future!

Pixel Heart says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:26am

Please make a Mac version! Cool Concept!

mandolin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:24am

@monkeedude1212
Thanks for the catch, v 1.0.0.2 should have the bug fixed :)

@pixelheart
Not sure if I'll make a mac version, I will definetly try and make a browser version though

@cowboycolors
thanks and congrats on your game!

Shivur says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:05am

Haha so good!

Huo-cuo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:15am

Unfortunatelly I cannot play it by myself, but could be fun for two people.

Hammer Games says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:16am

Great job! Congratulations!

jadam009 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:22am

Good game, Could use some more content but otherwise a fun little quick game that I can get into.

muromets says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:26am

Nice game, the music was nice, but the sound effects were too loud and somewhat buggy! Fun though!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:27am

@jadam009
I will definitely be adding more content later. Some ideas are multiple characters (4-5), scrolling levels (like the ice climber stage in SSBM), level editor, and awesome power ups like bigger pillow, invincibility, heavy, etc.

@Huo-cuo
unfortunately it is only local multiplayer ATM, but it would be great to get online functionality at some point (but I have no idea how to do that, lol)

Almost says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:35am

It's a pretty simple game, so I feel it could've been better. There doesn't seem to be a current lives/score indicator, and if you swing the pillow while standing next to someone it hits them before the pillow is even rendered and the pillow is instantly destroyed, which feels a bit weird.

Bitterdeath says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:36am

The music is amazing! Though I had some audio issues when my wife and I got in a fight.

luizgama says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:38am

I like it! I had thought about using pillow fight as my theme too! Points for being multiplayer, but also a pity its ONLY multiplayer.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:47am

@almost
Thanks for the critique! I really want to continue working on this game, so it's good to hear about legit flaws. I will work on your concerns and try to have an updated version soon

@Bitterdeath
Did the sounds keep looping infinitely when you fought? I thought I had fixed that bug, but I guess not

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:01am

I always like multiplayer games :).

The opposite colored pillows were a bit confusing, and make you forget which character you are playing with!

Music was nice ^^

randoman says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:02pm

This is so much fun! The controls for the red player were a little weird, though. Maybe setting the attack to Left CTRL or left SHIFT would be better

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:02pm

@diningphilospher
Thanks for the input. I went with the different color pillows as a design choice, but it's good to know that that design choice doesn't work as well as I had hoped. Might go with simply a unified color.

@randoman
What was the problem with the layout exactly? were the controls too cramped or was it just a weird hand positioning? Would moving the hit button to "T" fix the problem?

Jan Marcano says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:08pm

Had lots of fun!

There was a slight problem in audio though, after you win, the sfx gets stuck and keeps playing even in the menu.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:34pm

This game was great fun! I loved the pillow smack sound effect. Great job. Keep making games.

peecestudios says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:32pm

Nice design, nice concept. The music is nice but for me the audio when you would swing the pillow stack up so it would replay over and over.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:47pm

@peecestudios
Sorry about the audio. I've been trying to fix it. This version should do it if you wanna give it another go.

Thanks for the review!
https://www.dropbox.com/s/yvq6bhecbx3gq0v/Pillow%20Fight%21%20Post%20Jam%20Update.zip?dl=0

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:17pm

I don't have a second person to play with; I was going to try it anyway and see what I could see, but the zip file is labled post jam update, so... I dunno if that's a thing I can really vote on.

BeardoGames says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:45pm

Haha, this was a lot of fun! The gameplay is a great mix of Smash style, but with that added element of the constant bouncing to mix things up. And the audio is absolutely incredible!!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:04pm

@crowbeak thanks for looking at my game. I made some sound updates. But I will switch back to the original version for the purpose of ratings. I will however post a further updated version here in a bit.

This is the original version here:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/r2rdo89fgp2rk77/Pillow%20Fight%21%20.zip?dl=0

RHY3756547 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:19pm

Nice work! Could have used a more complicated arena, and a reliable way of dodging enemy swings (maybe make the jump on demand?). The music and graphics are solid, great first entry!

Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Thanks @RHY3756547 I'm making a new build for IndieCade and adding in a counter attack, which will add a little more skill to the game and make it more tactical when engaging your opponent. Also working on a much bigger level, but want to add a camera (similar to yours) which zooms in and out based on character position, but having difficulty implementing it in game maker.

Thanks for the review!

Apr 28, 2015 @ 8:07am

What a great idea! It's so simple it's brilliant. I had so much fun seeing this game come to life. I love everything about it. The art looks great and the gameplay is really fun. I love the music and sound effects done by Mike Jones and Zane Anderson, they really matched the theme so well. I look forward to seeing how this game progresses. You did such an awesome job on your first LD entry! Congratulations man!

gillenew says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 9:39pm

Very nice, I enjoyed myself a lot with my wife :D

block97 says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 6:13pm

Funny concept, maybe with more time some other form of attack would be nice. Congrats!

RyanNielson says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 7:42pm

Neat! Feels a bit mashy, could use a little something more to break up the repetition.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]