Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

The Collection

by gillyadrien - Compo Entry

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
The Collection is a top-down dungeon crawler.

Play as Jimmy the Doll as he traverses the bottom of the sewing kits, looking for the three items that were stolen from him: his hat, second eye and heart.

Fighting with throwing buttons and his trusty sewing needle, he can use the latter to draw the string from his doll enemies and kill them.

Will Jimmy make it out alive, ready to reconquer his freedom?

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

It was my first time doing a SOLO game jam, but I really enjoyed it.

Feel free to contact me to give me your thoughts, feedback, or to ask me to play your games!

>> UPDATE: Web build added! However, the string seems to have been corrupted and is always pitch black instead of being wonderfully colorful. But oh well, the rest works :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#82Audio3.74
#86Mood3.72
#167Overall3.65
#193Theme3.81
#213Innovation3.64
#249Graphics3.62
#411Fun3.22
#504Humor2.78

Comments

Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:29am

I really liked the sewing needle mechanic, especially the area being drawn as they unravel. I wish there was more play with it, like maybe something like trapping a doll with another's innards?
I did feel that it was a tad long.

mpath says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:45am

Don't mind the haters, gilly. This is fantastic work. There's always going to be people saying it's too long or too short or the files are too big or some gripe. I love this. Great controls, it's innovative, it has sound, it works, it amused me. High marks. I'll see you in r/ludumdare.

stoarch says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:34am

Greatest game ever. So fun mechanic and interesting music grab me until I die. And I want to play it over and over. Good game (pathfinding is buggy :)

ajopart says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:09am

Fun little entry. Graphics and music are perfect. Challenging at the end. The mechanism is (maybe a little too) simple and works fine. Congrats

maunovaha says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:33pm

Nice little game. With more polished graphics and gameplay this could be even more promising :)

bloone says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Plays awesome, really fun and cute game :)

DaniDK says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:57am

OMG... Awesome game, I got shivers at the ending! SO GOOD!

Aevek says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:17am

Love it. Really amazing work for only 48 hours. The ending made me really sad. I would love some kind of mechanic that meant you could tie enemies in the thread from another to damage them too or slow them down or something. Keep up the great work!

Ossi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:15am

Really cool mechanic, nice use of the theme. The audio was really good and it set the mood very well. Congrats on your first solo game jam! Good job!

Frenchie says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:29am

Nice and innovative gameplay. Full marks on mood from me, you really nailed that.

I noticed a bug that at 0 HP enemies still attacked you, which was annoying since I almost died from it.

Also, since this is Unity, please make a Web Player build. It will make it much easier for people to play your game :)

gillyadrien says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:55am

@Frenchie I am currently trying to wrap my head around the Unity 5 WebGL build. It should be up soon!
Also yes the bugs are killing me, I still haven't managed to fix all of them. Hopefully it will be done by tomorrow.

@everyone else: Thank you so much for playing and rating. I have played / look forward to playing your games and had a great time :)

mcburrobit says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:34am

Very fun game! I too wish it was longer, but on the other hand it's nice to see a full story arc in a LD-game.

Lovely artwork and plays well. The screenshot looked like tempest which is a big plus :P

Larzan says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:19am

Wow, the gfx are great.
Very good onboarding where you explain how to play, very well done!

gruhn says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:12pm

Good mechanical and good visual feedback of the controls.

kipelovets says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Pretty fun, cute characters. It's nice it's also a little creepy with all those living dolls and creepy ending

DoItForWilson says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:03pm

Loved the music and the needle gameplay (very witty) !!!

randoman says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:27pm

Really fun!

tummyache says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:33am

I loved it, it was just basic enough to grab my interest. I did have some technical problem and it glitched out and killed me towards the end. Maybe it was a game jolt ad in the back bogging it down or something.

Teesquared says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:02am

Binding of Isaac meets Coraline. Great game. Creepy and compelling.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:16pm

The needle is clever, but there still seem to be a few bugs. An enemy seemed to teleport to me once after being frozen by a button. It took me a while to realize buttons freeze enemies especially since they continue through the enemies. Also, enemies still hurt you even after they are 0 health and dead, until they vanish.

Also this is nothing to do with you really, but I really wish Ludum Dare had an option to disable web embedding, since it makes it a big pain to play web games (they get embedded in a tiny window, or play the music/game twice at the same time if you open in another tab). Even clicking screenshots doesn't kill the web embedding.

The hat was cute. :D

Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:22am

Really really liked this game. Great length, great ending; best "mood" of any game I've played so far. I wasn't super into the needle mechanic, but the difficulty did ramp up in a pretty cool way toward the end there. Great work!

sebasRez says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 5:37pm

This is very innovative! I think it really needed a bit more of a tutorial to get the idea that I could click on the enemy from afar and I was sowing them but once I got it it was a real clever idea. Maybe something that can be played more with to use the string for purposes as well. Nice work!

leffe108 says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 7:15am

Very well polished game. May be good to stick some note at the beginning that the controls are WASD + mouse click.

Also, I had problems with the iframe player here on LD. It shows a website with the game somewhere down so I had to go full screen, but when clicking on the mouse, full screen is closed. However, when using the web link to show the game fully contained in a browser tab, it worked very well. However, I did not let this impact the rating as your game is otherwise very nicely done and should you had some more time I'm sure you would have been able to package the game better for the iframe above.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]