Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Pacifist Piper

by Pete - Jam Entry

Rodney Piper, one pacifist must take down a war machine factory, using only an unconventional weapon, and L-shaped pipe! Levels are re-generated each playthrough to keep things interesting.

Created in 48 hours by Pete Hufnagel (art, programming) and Obadiah Brown-Beach (sound, music) for Ludum Dare 32 "Unconventional Weapon".
Pete Hufnagel (www.biodromegame.com)
Obadiah Brown-Beach (www.obadiahbrownbeach.com)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#4Theme(Jam)4.50
#9Innovation(Jam)4.31
#29Fun(Jam)4.00
#69Overall(Jam)3.91
#175Audio(Jam)3.52
#283Humor(Jam)3.33
#316Mood(Jam)3.34
#748Graphics(Jam)2.81

Comments

Armanky says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:14am

Great idea and very well-implemented! I can't express how much I love that the gun the dealt the killing blow does a little victory dance.

The only real issue was that there's not an obvious relationship between the direction you're facing and the direction your pipe will be oriented. Sometimes you can tell where you should put the pipe, but it might take a moment to figure out which direction to face to get it in that position.

pythong says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:16am

great entry! this game makes really good use of the theme

Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:18am

Newish mechanics. I like it.

Valon says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:20am

Very nice idea! I had fun playing it.

BMacIntosh says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:20am

This is an excellent use of the theme :)

factorial says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:21am

Thank you for the infinite lives, you would've had me cussing. Very fun game, I want more levels.

LTPATS says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:22am

Really interesting mechanic! Having to focus of lining up the character right and hitting the correct key last so I was facing the proper way was was kinda tricky. Having the facing direction and movement be independent may feel better (for me at least). Overall I really liked it and think it could be a really cool game if expanded on!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:22am

This is really cool. I really liked your take on your theme, it's a bit hard to get how we should face the cannons but overall it's great !

sliphtrex says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:38am

Really solid game. I'm so hooked.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:42am

"Put that in your pipe", I laughed quite a bit at that. Great game, love the idea!

nightlord says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:52am

was a lot of fun to play. the pipe orientation was initially confusing to me but once i got a hang of it, it was a lot of fun to play. Extra kudos for music.

MightyToast says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:41am

Great concept, and solid execution! Mechanics worked great, music was awesome, and the one liners were hilarious.

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:05am

Dope music, unique as heck idea. I could see this becoming a bigger web or mobile game.

SayHiBen says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:31am

Love this take on the theme.

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:30am

Great game play! Its so satisfying when the turrets blow up, very nice work.

ProjectX593 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:34am

Now THIS is a good game! Super simple idea, solid execution. I love the little victory spin the turrets do when they kill you!

Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:49am

Make pipes, not war.

TeslaCoil says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:04am

Amazing concept. Absolutely brilliant concept. It was just... really frustrating. If I'm walking around with a pipe, the direction I'm walking in doesn't affect how I hold the pipe. I can hold it any direction I want as I walk in any direction. I'd suggest if you take this further, add a 'flip orientation' button or some other control scheme to give the player direct control over the pipe, separate from their movement, so that they feel like dying is their own fault instead of the character deciding to hold the pipe the wrong way.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:04am

Wow, I really enojoyed this mechanic. Given more time I'd love to see all of the things it could offer.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:04am

Pretty crazy game! Lots of fun!

Buzzwerd says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:31am

Awesome concept. Had a lot of fun and I felt like you did a damn good job exploring the idea.

Flayk says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 6:28am

Out of every weapon I've reviewed, not only is this one aesthetically unconventional, but it plays unconventionally, too. If this were based on that alone, then I think you should win. Fun, innovative, and kept me hooting and hollering until I won.

Apr 27, 2015 @ 8:06am

Great game. The hit box got me killed unexpectedly a few times.

MegaPonies says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 11:49am

I really like the idea, just wish projectiles were slightly slower so it was more of a puzzle and less of an action game.

celisoft says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 4:10pm

Game finished and I love it even if the difficulty is not enough progressive. Well done !

zimmy87 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 8:02pm

great use of the theme! I also really like how the turret who kills you celebrates afterwards

jk5000 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 8:59pm

Simpel = fun. Good job.

Pete Hufnagel says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 6:20pm

@ShawnFeatherly yeah, there are some hitbox issues. This was my first Unity project so I was learning how to do things. I have a local build where the hit detection feels a lot better. I'll be uploading that at some point.

May 12, 2015 @ 11:40pm

Love the puzzles! Very simple concept, really fun game! I included it in part 10 of my Ludum Dare 32 compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/3cEj0moqZLI

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]