Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

ColorMaze

by amonkalagin - Compo Entry

Color Maze is a Topdown Puzzle Game in wich you use two different colored kinds of ammunition to shoot at different colored kinds of walls. You can either use w,a,s,d or the arrow keys to steer and the numpad 1 + 2 to shoot the two projectiles(1 = red, 2 = blue). You can only shoot, when you have enough ammo of the type.
Have fun playing :)
So, the Software i used was Unity, Photoshop and Blender. It was actually the first time i used c# and i did quiet like it :D
Thank you for your feedback and enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#348Graphics3.40
#864Fun2.65
#882Innovation2.60
#884Overall2.80
#1005Theme2.55
#2240Coolness20%

Comments

bazld says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:43pm

Really nice idea, and very well presented. I can see this expanded to a full game - wanted some trickier levels to try!
[I had trouble with some controls, e.g. how the turret realigned itself].

xirion11 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:13pm

I try to play the web version but it asks me to download a zip

vikpek says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:05pm

Great art style and smooth implementation.

43iscoding says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:52pm

The graphics are neat, yet controls are pretty messy. Sad that there's only 2 levels ;(

eemmbbeerr says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:28pm

Great idea! You will need to make more levels.

dallonf says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:33pm

Nice game! Only complaint is that I wish I could have seen an onscreen ammo counter, though. Oh, and it was too short - but that's kind of complaint you can have!

Anti says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 4:19pm

Controlls feels a bit weird but the graphics and the game itself was very good.

Perjoka says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 11:18am

i like the gameplay and the art style but it`s a bad idea to use numpad keys as input without any other option as not everyone has a numpad ;)

HotBoxGames says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 1:47pm

I like the concept - the playable character can only JUST fit through one block width, which took me a little while to figure out when I ran outta ammo :') Given more time this could be a top puzzle game :) Good work!

Huo-cuo says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 1:48pm

Nice little game. Too bad it is not longer and more challenging.

May 10, 2015 @ 2:07pm

Definitely has some promise! The controls are a little slidey presently, but perhaps you could make that work to your advantage if you expand this. Good work making this and learning c# at the same time!

LeoM says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 2:32pm

Look nice but a bit short.

IamAcoconut says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 6:43pm

Nice game, it'd be nice if it was longer :)

sorlok says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 1:50am

Cool idea; wish it was longer! Would love to see the mechanic expanded upon.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]