Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Trojan Horse Simulator: The Art of Subterfuge

by freeholdgames - Jam Entry

Ever wonder what it was to like to be a Greek soldier in the bowels of the Trojan Horse, secretly rolling through the gates of Troy? Wonder no more. From extensive archaeological data, we've recreated the classic Greek stratagem that felled the fabled Trojan city.

So how do you play? Using the left, right, and up arrow keys (or WAD), fling the Greek soldiers toward the inner walls of the horse, giving the marvelous wooden contraption momentum in your chosen direction. Tap quickly and tap often. The onlooking Trojans will be dazzled by the autonomous horse, and they'll let the thing roll right through their city gate. Just like it really happened.

But be careful! Smash the horse against the ground too hard, and she'll break apart. Use the soldiers to manage the horse's momentum, striking a balance between speed to jump the Trojan crevasses and finesse to keep her right-sided.

Occasionally a soldier will be flung on top of the horse or fall to the ground. So what? Did that bother the Greeks when it happened to them FOR REAL? No. What did they do? They used their momentum to jiggle the soldiers back into the horse, or crush the fallen so as not to arouse suspicion from the Trojans. You better do the same.

So get your spear and plumed helmet, and climb on board! Relive the exciting maneuver that defined a generation and gifted the world of war with the art of subterfuge!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#52Humor(Jam)3.95
#82Theme(Jam)4.01
#84Fun(Jam)3.81
#124Innovation(Jam)3.75
#205Overall(Jam)3.60
#277Audio(Jam)3.28
#403Mood(Jam)3.22
#771Graphics(Jam)2.74

Comments

madjackmcmad says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:36pm

Amazing. Truly brings the grim reality of that dark time in human history to life. Also I like it when all the mens fall out of the horse and die.

AtkinsSJ says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:45pm

Amazing. This has given me new appreciation for the craftiness of the ancient Greeks.

ALobker says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:30pm

Great fun even though I never actually made it to Troy

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:32pm

haha very funny game, could improve more the graphics, but the gameplay was nice.

coderkeith says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:34pm

I like it. Fun to control all the little guys inside. Perhaps a fixed terrain would be a good idea - something that started easy and got harder. Well done!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:43pm

I liked the take on something that really happened in History! Very good, I enjoyed it!

ApocoNypse says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:46am

Good fun, very original too! :)

salmonmoose says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:48am

With a little tweaking to the terrain generation to make it always passable, this would make a cool mobile game.

xWarZonex says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:49am

One of the best and funniest games ive ever played!
The game is alittle hard though, you don't have very much control, and you are forced to go fast to make the long jumps. I like the terrain generator.

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:49am

A bit difficult, but addictive. Solid work! I never made it to Troy.

noxuma says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:50am

Wow, this is really awesome, great job! I keep breaking apart, but thats okay because its totally awesome.

Ash K says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:51am

That was fun and hilarious even though I failed horribly and lost a bunch of my little Greek dudes!

micahcowan says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:32am

Man, I can NOT get more than half way there. Incredibly addictive game, though.

43iscoding says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:46pm

This game is ASTONISHING! :D

Really nice graphics, physics, characters. And very well done sounds! The best thing I played at LD32 so far.

The only thing that bothered me is a bit unfair procedural terrain generation. Sometimes you get pits/hills you cant get over >_<

But still, this game is extremely well done!

freeholdgames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:20pm

After playing it 10,000 times during development, I can beat pretty much any terrain that's generated, though some require you to spam up AND right at the same time to pull yourself up, which is not an obvious trick.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:06pm

Very fun, original game play. Didn't get close to finishing though.

philipp says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:13pm

Lovely idea. And fun to play.

Cool, that it is random generated , although sometimes I had areas that didn't seem beatable.

I know the delayed control of the horse through the greeks inside is the point, but, for me, it was very hard to react to incoming dangers. Maybe a camera that was further away would have helped

j_peeba says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:57am

It took me a while to get the hang of the controls but after that the game was loads of fun! It's hilarious too.

I'd appreciate it though if the game would be comprised of stages of increasing difficulty (with the first one being stupidly easy) since as a stupid player, I crave the feeling of immediate satisfaction and reward. :D

Nevertheless, this is the most addictive game on this Ludum Dare that I've tried this far!

louis.denizet says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:13am

Hard to stop even if I died often, it's a good idea well done ;)

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:59pm

Nice game

kaa says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:20pm

nice idea ) but a little bit difficult

dvdfu says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:12am

I thought the concept of this one was hilarious!

F. Wiktora says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:02am

This is my favourite so far. GREAT job!

Budaniel says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:40am

This is a fun game with a unique control mechanic. The music fit very well, and the sparse use of sound effects was a good design choice.

daredevildave says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:27am

Great idea and great fun. Is it possible to complete!?

eddynardo says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:36am

I like the idea its really clever.I had a lot of fun playing it.The only thing i would change is the random terrain(this made it preety hard to siege troy)it took me about 30-40 runs but i enjoyed the gameplay !The theme taken in an other way.good job!

Dejvo says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:12am

i like the idea. it should not be called simulator though. nice game. maybe make the randomized terrain completable every time and let the player know, on what basis does their suspicion grow and it could be a OK game

puppetmaster says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:40am

Soo Cool!! My kids had fun playing your game! Congraz you have now two new fans!! :-)

Druid says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:41am

I really loved the concept, but game was too hard for me :D I really hated that random level generation because i can't predict what comes next and make progress in level. But still, overall is pretty good!

hadesfury says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:45am

Really funny idea :D But sooo hard. Is it actually beatable ? Good work, in any case, almost looks like a finished product.

monika says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:57am

I've never seen an LD game that made me think "This. This is what 5 stars of fun feels like." This was instantly engaging and immensely satisfying. Good job.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:48am

Such a cool game idea! Key input was clever and fun, and I enjoyed playing this!

It was not so clear what would trigger the trojan suspicion. Obviously being upside down and losing men, but sometimes the meter would go up and I wouldn't understand why.
Also, the game is at random sometimes impossibly hard, so I never made it to Troy :(

Great entry!

Chaoseed says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:58am

The game is pretty hilarious. ;) The controls are pretty hard to use, though. I mean, it's easy to hit the buttons, but it's difficult to get the horse going how you want. For example, if you tilt too far forward, you end up rolling on only your front wheels, and it's basically impossible to get out of this state because there's no way to tilt backward. Also, steep valleys are impossible, because when you go down into them you end up, again, on your front wheel on the opposite side.

I wanted to explain the problem I had because I actually like the game, and I think it could be even more fun with some sort of improvement. ;)

PushmePullyu says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:01am

Most fun game Ive played so far! :D

Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:15am

Gave up after about 40 tries, rolling a record distance of 300 cubits. it would have been difficult enough without the Trojans being so suspicious, but the mechanic is nice.

dunin says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:17am

funny idea, but hard, is it possible to reach the end?

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:18am

Very fun, but there is definitely a difficulty problem with this game. With the chance of randomly generating an impossible jump, 500 cubits is just way too far. I was also baffled that the horse would tip *forwards* when I was going up a steep incline! Still fun, though.

joppiesaus says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:54am

Amazing game, but I'm terrible at it. I really like the mechanics. You'll have to balance your weight depending on your situtation. It's really fun. The audio is great, the graphics are neat too, physics really make the game fun, great mood, it's polished and innovative.
I don't really know what to say about this game. Great work.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:07pm

Plus on Innovation, Fun and Humor! Lots of laugh XD Gameplay and leveldesign need some adjusts, but it have potential do be a cool game! Mobile plataform is an interesting choice for this game! Good work guys! :D

phi says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:15pm

Quidquid id est, timeo Danaos et dona ferentes.

This is a wonderful piece of art on multiple levels. The physics aren't exactly realistic, but who cares about Newton if you can have Ulysses? It's great fun and the random level generation makes it very replayable! I absolutely loved it, awesome work!

kristof says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:45pm

Ha, excellent! This is probably the best interpretation of the theme I have seen so far. The music is awesome!
One minor thing: I think it would have been better to have non random levels. Currently there is a lot of luck involved.
Overall, great entry!

JALgames says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:46pm

Seems quite hard to me, but the idea is really nice (although my brains is telling me that physics don't work this way...)

Jasonsumm says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:46pm

Awesome, concept, humour, everything! :D

nassi says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:57pm

Managed a distance of 300 cubits on my best try, but then I encountered a steep valley with a hole in the middle. Deep valleys seemed to be where I would lose most of the time. Reading the up + right tip in the comments made the climbs a bit easier though.

It was pretty neat twist on the hill climber formula, but the RNG makes it pretty difficult indeed.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:18pm

I finally won! Just by accelerating and jumping from a first hill and flying directly to the gate.

RHY3756547 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:24pm

Really cool, physics and controls work surprisingly well! One problem though... I was able to fly the horse to troy by spamming right and up. I don't think that's how it happened back then, but that might have actually worked even better than their original plan. Graphics aren't the best but the solid gameplay makes up for it. Nice work!

Scripturus says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:50pm

Damn, this thing is tough as bricks. But love it! Best Trojan Horse rolling simulator ever, 10/10.

Anshul Goyal says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:29am

After only few tries I realized that the terrain is different each time. Wonderfully done!

GarethIW says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:32am

Nice, I didn't get very far but it was fun while it lasted :)

renatopp says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:21pm

Funny game, bad graphics, good sound. The procedural terrain sometimes sucks, but it is so cool to play... Congratulations for you game. Are you thinking in a post compo version? Would be great see this on kong or newsgrounds.

ztiromoritz says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:02pm

The "shhh shhh!" is so funny.

coderitual says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 7:19pm

I think I was trying to move way too fast! Nice music makes me feel like I was there. This game is kind of art imho but needs to be completed and tweaked little bit. Bravo!

May 1, 2015 @ 7:53am

Wow this is really fun! its a really cool concept. the terrain is unfair at times. i was never able to actually reach troy, my best was 200 away.the graphics are okay. i like the shushing sounds XD. overall quite good.

Beavl says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 11:54pm

Really love this game. Physics are spot-on and the use of the theme is amazing. Also, good game design skills with the “trojan suspicion” bar. Congrats on this entry!

dyfer says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 8:21am

I really like the idea and it's a very addictive game. A bit difficult, and I think you should think more the graphics.

mathmadlen says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 3:24am

This is really smart, addictingly fun and surprisingly hard. I thoroughly enjoyed this take on the theme!

lkpridgeon says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 1:33pm

A little stuttering noticed when moving but overall a nice little fun game. I enjoyed the audio very much.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]