Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Soul Breaker

by DeadFragment - Jam Entry

You have been banished to the lower levels.
Use your heart to solve puzzles and defeat shadow creatures in order to get back to where you belong.



Created by
Programming/se: Hando Space Biscuits [@handobiscuits]
Art/Graphics/bgm: Neith [@Harken_W]
All assets were created in the 72 hour limit for the Ludum Jam.

Feedback welcome, enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#35Mood(Jam)4.08
#65Innovation(Jam)3.93
#65Overall(Jam)3.92
#80Graphics(Jam)4.31
#100Theme(Jam)3.98
#107Fun(Jam)3.73
#127Audio(Jam)3.67
#538Humor(Jam)2.82

Comments

lordxam says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:28pm

interesting atmosphere, amazing art style !
I'm in happy mood =)

esayitch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:34pm

Literal usage of the heart :) (and not correctly)
Pretty cool concept, graphics are great (esp. lighting effects), sound is good and adds to the atmosphere a lot.

My only complaint would be that the movement feels floaty and slow at the same time, and needs some time getting used to.

Overall a solid entry, good luck!

maunovaha says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:30pm

Amazing work, especially as LDJAM game. You are good in gamedev! :)

Jajo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:15pm

They said go where your heart leads you. My heart led me to here. Your game is amazing! Maybe make it easier for people like me?

daltostronic says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:26pm

AWESOME! Not only unconventional weapon but also it's mechanics, I love mood of the game :) It could only be a little bit more dynamic! Congrats!

crockid5 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:28pm

WOW the lighting engine was incredible and the mood was awesome, had to quit very early however, the first level was too hard! Also excellent theme matching.

crockid5 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:30pm

Can you include the source as well please... ?

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:32pm

Looks awesome, plays great, solid.
Good job!

sydan says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:37pm

Gorgeous game. I love the mechanic, the art style, there's a lot of content here too. My only gripe would be that there wasn't enough confirmation that I'd completed a puzzle sometimes so I'd just keep trying but otherwise awesome!

parity_b1t says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:38pm

awesome occlusion effect!

duck says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:55pm

This is great! I think it'd be good if there was a way to restore your health as some of the monsters really pop up out of nowhere and if you lose all your lives its a long way to go through all the tricky buttons again, a couple of them it felt like I hit them through sheer luck.

But it looks fantastic, is really atmospheric and enjoyable!

rogberth says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:42am

I was having a great time, then I got stuck in the part with a very long narrow corridor where the hear couldn't reach the red button. So after a few tries the heart started to bounce like crazy in the corner and the game crashed =(. The game is brilliant in all aspects! good job

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:59am

I like how your unconventionality was not just in the object used as a weapon, but how it worked. The light/scouting/button pushing all in one mechanic is neat.

Spit Tex says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Loved the atmosphere and the art style, the idea is great and would love to see this develop.

RoryD says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:46pm

Good art, nice audio, nice idea. There was quite a bit of trial and error on my part to get the heart to bounce to the exact location of some of the switches. Not sure, but this might get a bit tiresome after some time.

I got a little lost near the beginning, but in general the level design was well thought out to show what you can do.

One thing that might have been interesting would be for the 'follow heart' button to only follow the heart once it starts going off screen. Then you could just mainly use this button.

Anyway, good job. That's a lot of work!

Smiley says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:23pm

yay another libGDX entry.. great use of box2d and lights :)

reiknight says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:30pm

The art is amazing, and the concept is nice.

Dreyan says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:46pm

Gorgeous game, nice mechanic - would be cool if using left click vs. right click could be used to influence puzzle design, as at present right click seems to be universally the better option. Please develop further, I really enjoyed it!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:52pm

One of my favorites so far. Love the atmosphere and the game mechanic. Would have loved some kind of checkpoint

dyfer says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:32am

very cleaver game, easy to play, interesting way to use the weapon, good pixel art, the music , the atmosphere, its a great job you've done , and if i had something to say is just that the charactere is a bit slow

ajopart says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:39am

Super nice. Please do more !

DeadFragment says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:57am

Thanks everyone for your comments! Glad everyone seems to be enjoying our game, makes it all worth staying up for and getting almost no sleep each day haha. We appreciate all the feedback we get on the game as it'll help us either develop this further if it gets enough interest and will help us improve the quality of any games we make in the future.

-Neith

louis.denizet says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:25pm

Amazing content for ludum game!! I think the mood is really great and art too! Maybe sound could be a bit better ;)

Well done anyway! =)

Victor RENE says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:59pm

Very good, but I don't get why all you guys make the first interaction with the game mechanics so unintuitive. Hiding the first button is just bad. If people don't get past this, they just quit.

DeadFragment says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:03pm

[@Victor RENE] This is actually one of the things we were debating whilst making this game, we decided that if we put that first button where it currently is it would teach the player a few things about the game instantly. 1) The heart is the main tool to the player and that it is the main light source. 2) buttons won't necessarily be in plain sight. 3) The most important one, the heart bounces. We felt this would be the best way to introduce those concepts instantly, as these are key features to the game. The learning curve and progression of difficulty is something we really want to get right in our games, so comments about how hard or how easy it was to realise what you had to do are very useful to us.

-Neith

kipelovets says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Pixel-art graphics and lighting are just amazing, it's incredible you could make such a great game in 72 hours
I couldn't beat it though, because some puzzles are really impossible (or maybe i'm just bad at geometry)

Wevel says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:24pm

Lovely, well made game especially for Ludum dare

Druid says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:41pm

I think this is most unconventional weapon of all times. For java game excellent controls, nice collisions (i played few java games this ld and... they was horrible :D) I thing i give 5 overall this one!

nassi says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:38am

Damn, the playthrough is just under 17 minutes yet it took me over an hour to beat this, probably closer to two. Really good value for my money ;)!

Took some screenshots while playing: http://imgur.com/a/hRuAw. Used some epic paint magic to combine some of the images to better show the place where it happened.

The first one highlights a spot where the ball lost all it's speed on the horizontal axis, bounced like crazy and crashed the game.

Second one... Yeah, the game had a really lovely sense of adventure and discovery! A minimap would've been nice (with the locations of pushed buttons marked) :P. Went back and forth quite a bit.

Seems like it wasn't a bug after all (checked from the playthrough after finishing). Took a while to figure out that you were supposed to give the heart a boost since it inherited your velocity... I guess I already noticed that when throwing the hearth while "boost jumping", but still. That was a hard part. But I prefer that to handholding so good job!

I also did the button after that a little differently from the playthrough. I actually managed to shoot the heart into it from below, as illustrated in the fourth picture. I love it when there is more than a single solution to a problem :).

So yeah, crazy polished and a lot of fun, even if some of the shots are quite tricky. Definitely my favourite minigolf platformer ;). The mood was also just perfect. The dialogue was funny but not over the top. I have a hard time believing this was made in just 72 hours. This is among the best games I've played in any Ludum Dare I've been a part of (starting from LD27 without missing any of them). I'm speechless (you wouldn't guess from the length of this comment though...). First time I've given out full marks in all categories.

Thank you for making this!

herniewise says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:40am

Pretty solid game :D

Shugor says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:55am

Good fun! It took me a while to figure out that you could follow the heart with Right click, but after that It was really enjoyable.
Might even recommend this to my non-LD friends.

Only complaint is the following effect while the heart is returning is quite jarring. Not too bad, though.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:04am

Cool aesthetics. Graphics and music are great. I also like the gameplay. What I don't really like the jumping mechanic though. It's more difficult to change direction while in the air.
Also, if the heart bounces too many times quickly, the game hangs. The game hung when I tried to do the part with the narrow shaft.

jhrrsn says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:02am

The environments and lighting are great, and the breakout/platformer hybrid works really well. The jump sound was a little grating, and the character movement was a little floaty (but it's not really about precise control of the character anyway!). I liked the little bits of text too. Good job!

RealityCheck says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:41pm

Truly enjoyable experience. Great artwork, good fun gameplay (especially trying to figure out a bouncy path for those buttons). Character moves a bit slow for my tastes though, and that could be improved. Overall - a great entry for the jam!

DeadFragment says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:14pm

Thanks for the awesome feedback!
I've just fixed the bug causing the game to hang/crash when the ball bounces too often in a small space.
Enjoy :)

-Hando

Snicklodocus says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:22am

Great game! I think my favorite thing was the writing! Art was beautiful and I though you used lighting very well, not only to create mood but also puzzles. One criticism is your character was so floaty it was hard to control at times. Really enjoyed this one!

Apr 29, 2015 @ 2:13pm

That heart mechanic is implemented really well. Was interesting to just throw it and follow its path with the camera. Great graphics and the puzzle aspects are nicely done.

jprogman says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 2:00am

I was stuck at one part with the three buttons with three elbow passages, but then I realize the jumping gives the throw some inertia. I was able to progress afterwards.
Very atmospheric game. Made it feel like a different kind of mini golf heh.

JenniNexus says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 9:59am

Wonderfully heartwarming & engaging game... loved the clever maze styles & pixel art! I would play this more in the future as well. <3

Yoon says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 11:02am

I could say it was _heartbreaking_ to have to kill these cute black furballs. *ba-dum-tshh*
Loved the SFX and gameplay mechanics. The BG music is cool too.
You both did a great job.

May 9, 2015 @ 1:44pm

The puzzels involving shooting out your heat were really fun and well implemented, the lighting gives it a really nice atmosphere.
Also GLaD to see a java game, as i really like java and fell that java games are underrated.

Smirnov48 says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 1:18am

It's amazing! It's very good by all parameters! Awesome graphics! Good music. Wonderful game play. I think it's one of the best entity in this LD.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]