Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Bob's Got A Cold

by CodeBlock Entertainment - Compo Entry

Top-Down game where you play as bob, a man whose dreams of becoming an astronaut have been ruined by society and the common cold. The easier it is for you to be noticed, the more points you score from an attack but at least 1 person must be infected for your score to count! This is my first comp so go easy on me but I will happily accept negative feedback :) Thanks for playing my game!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#10Humor4.24
#53Audio3.88
#101Mood3.65
#152Theme3.88
#393Overall3.35
#498Fun3.12
#2090Coolness26%

Comments

calavera says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:46am

Hahahha. 5 stars for humor. "Bob what are you doing?"

rodobodolfo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:54am

Haha!Funny and original. I played this longer than I should have due to the silliness.

Killbert says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:57pm

"He could try a nuclear bomb. But that was also too obvious"

sawyerWeld says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:58pm

"So bob decided to kill them all" Pls bob no

shatley123 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:01pm

Nice game! Poor Bob...society always out to get him.

Hamsternator says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:01pm

This is an excellent first comp. The silly humor is right up my alley and the gameplay makes perfect sense... in this particular context.

Would be nice to have some sort of radar so you know where people are, but it was a minor issue. This game brought a big smile to my face. Well done =D

Smokeylope says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:02pm

Voice acting and sound effects are funny and the art style is nice.

Huo-cuo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:05pm

Very funny but I do not understand why the infected people started to roll on the floor :)

Apr 27, 2015 @ 5:53pm

Voice acting was very amusing in gameplay. Core mechanic got a bit boring quickly, but its a very lovable game for its opening story and sense of humor.

Catwheel says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 9:12am

The dialogue in this game is fantastically hilarious.

May 4, 2015 @ 3:28pm

Very cute and funny! The gameplay is maybe a bit simple, but the concept is very original, and the introduction is great (though maybe you could add a way to skip it, if people have seen it already)! A great showing for your first comp!

OadT says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 4:02pm

I love the way infected people roll over the floor :D Also nice voice!

yuigoto says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 5:21pm

Oh, Bob! No! Don't! XD

Nice entry, nice use of theme! Could have some stickiness (but that would make it a bit gross :P).

Blocky graphics are simple, but they convey the message perfetly with the storytelling!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]