Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Viking Insult Fight

by ARubino - Jam Entry

Words can be powerful weapons! You, Arvid, are a young Viking in training. In order to get accepted in the rough Viking society, you need to learn how to swear properly. Only when you are able to defeat Balder, the most vulgar and foulmouthed of all the Vikings, you have gained an acceptable insult-skill level in order to join your fellow clan mates on the next raid.

This game is inspired by the Monkey Island Insult Sword Fight. It is my very first Ludumdare entry, I hope you enjoy it!

Controls:
Control the game with your Mouse (Point and Click).

Special Thanks to:
Stephan Balmer for the amazing Graphics!
Stefan Laubenberger for helping with the code. Assembling a PAX Wardrobe with sliding doors is a cakewalk in comparison to that code :-)

I plan on making a „proper“ game out of this, so please leave inputs and suggestions in the comment section.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#184Humor(Jam)3.54
#230Theme(Jam)3.76
#359Audio(Jam)3.11
#468Graphics(Jam)3.39
#575Mood(Jam)2.98
#645Fun(Jam)2.86
#651Overall(Jam)3.06
#673Innovation(Jam)2.82

Comments

lucien says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:35am

Nice idea and funny conversations.
Great Job

Hippolyta says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:26am

First off: Idea, Conversations and Graphics are awesome!
It was a bit frustrating to not be able to win a fight, but maybe I gave up too quickly?
Very well done, especially for a first try!

Ogniok says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:43pm

The menu is awesome - really nice graphics!

boateye says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:47pm

I liked the insult fight in Monkey island so it was great to see someone recreate that. I will say that the beginning can be frustrating for those folks who have not played the MI version and don't understand that you WILL lose most of your fight in the beginning, but that's by DESIGN. If you see people getting frustrated about not winning, then I would say that you should communicate to the player to expect to lose their early matches because they need to learn the various insults and counters. They did so in Monkey Island, and that helped players prepare for the insult fights. I hope you really do flesh this out!

sentendo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:48pm

haha like in Monkey Island! :D

jdselsor says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:49pm

I was a cool idea but I could not figure out how to win. It is a very funny.

2kah says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:54pm

Is there any way to win a fight once you've lost an exchange? It feels like if you choose the correct response, you just say back the last insult and then they say the counter.

Mak says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:01pm

The humor is excellent, at pair with that of your influences!

But I feel the game is too hard to beat and feel a bit rough to learn all insults. Maybe this would be more fun if some counters worked with more than one insult, making you feel more like you can win .

sebasRez says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:02pm

They have weapons but only use words, that's pretty funny. Be careful with what people can use as a layout because my game is really wonky, the map was still in the background, the words stayed on screen etc

The drawings were good, I am not sure either how to win since sometimes my insult would just lose. Careful putting green over green text because it also makes it difficult to read.

Wevel says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:19pm

Nice concept but it doesn't seem like you can win.

novadream says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:48pm

I was able to win one fight, but it was by accident. I was really confused about what to do in situations where the jokes didn't seem to make sense. Maybe if I'd played Monkey Island it would've made more sense?
At any rate, nice job on the graphics and look of the game! :)

ARubino says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:35am

Thank you all for playing my game <3!
Yes its hard to win a figth at the beginning because you only know some realy bad insults, but as you battle harder opponents your insult skill raises and you learn some new ones. You lose the figth but you have learnd new Insults while your loosing, and with those Insults you can go back to an opponent and try to defeat him with your fresh learnd insults. Well i hope i could clear out your Qestions. But if there still are some, feel free to ask me ;).

strong99 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:21am

I really like the graphics and the sound of the game! The game itself I found rather hard to play, couldn't find out how to win it. I suppose I wasn't scary enough with the insults, hehe

Demy says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:23am

I really do think that some vikings were fighting like that.

MasterOfNaN says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:34am

Great idea, and nicely polished - the subtle animations make a big difference to giving it some personality and energy.
The constant early losing is slightly frustrating - perhaps giving the player an easy win over a rubbish enemy in the second round, using something you learnt in the first round, but where you don't learn anything new would be a good way to reinforce the 'losing-is-learning' mechanic, and make you feel happier about future loses.
Good stuff, thanks!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:17pm

Heh, I loved the Monkey Island insult fight and I enjoyed this homage to it. One bug: I ran into a situation where it stopped giving me options after a very long back and forth battle. Nice job overall.

ARubino says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:40am

@all Thank you alot for your replies. I will take a look at the balance and the mecanics. Im still willing to take this Project a step further. Im im very thankful for every comment you leave <3.

lebrokholic says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:27am

Haha, like the graphical and humoric components of the game! However, the color palette sometimes is too pale. Make them "juicy" maybe.

srakowski says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:59am

Funny game, interesting, but I could not win a fight for the life of me! Well done though!

Huo-cuo says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:00am

We need more educational games!

cgmorton says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:23pm

You need to work on your randomization. Too often my opponent would respond to me with the same insult I just used. And what's worse is that many insults I'd learned just never seemed to show up. I mean after some 50 rounds against the boss I never had the option to try out the "holes in my boat" insult among quite a few others, and so was always defenseless when the boss threw them back at me again and again. I suspect you just used random numbers to decide, which simply are not good enough.

SteveSalmond says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:09am

Started off kinda frustrating, but became fun once I mastered a few of the insults! Some of the lines seem a bit random and not very 'insulting' to me, but I guess you had to come up with a ton of them very quickly. Wasn't too sure if there was a progression from one Viking to the next, so I just randomly picked them. Great work for your first Ludum Dare, congratulations :)

PS: Was that some stock music, or your own stuff? If the latter, very impressed!

jk5000 says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 9:28am

I love this type of game. It has a good sense of humor, and it fits the theme well. Great first LD.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]