Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

PeaceKils

by LorenaIpsum - Jam Entry

Sometimes wars are won by fighting, but sometimes the only way to defeat your enemies is peace. This time, peace kills the Strirlings. These vicious creatures live for fighting. Actually, if they do not fight for a long time, they just die. Your objective is put peace among them before they become a pest. Drag them apart, put hearth walls to keep them from fighting, or even use a gun, but... that is not a good way to maintain peace.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#529Audio(Jam)2.71
#610Graphics(Jam)3.10
#728Theme(Jam)3.05
#787Humor(Jam)2.29
#842Innovation(Jam)2.45
#964Mood(Jam)2.18
#995Fun(Jam)2.25
#1058Overall(Jam)2.29
#1769Coolness37%

Comments

ito123456789 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:15pm

I didn't get it.

timmik94 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:20pm

No Exit button. I see 3 Items but can use only one. Were is gun and drug and were I can get more barriers?

bonus1up says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:51pm

I see like a debug console that hides the action :-/

Qui says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:54pm

It is hard to figure out what to do.

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:56pm

Not sure how to play, sorry!

Ilseroth says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:11pm

Not really sure what I am supposed to do and a massive debug thing pops up on launch.

Can't judge audio, on laptop in class >.>

LorenaIpsum says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:43pm

Sorry the game maybe was a little unfinished. But the idea was that you should pacify them, but weapons are useless...

Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:57pm

Cool idea! Placing barriers strategically definitely makes the game much easier. Very unique concept, good work!

Cstudios says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:26pm

I did not get what to do. so i do not rate at this time :)

MaesK says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:37pm

The barriers are a nice idea, but the game is a little bit confusing at first. Nice 3d models.

Chibougamau says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:28pm

It seems not completely finished ... it's sad because I like the idea of separating people who want to fight.

rmc says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:50pm

The idea behind the game can be good, but it feels unfinished, and any interaction of the player seems useless.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:51pm

Interesting concept. It took me a while to realize I wanted the units to die. Could use some polishing, but cool idea

Hambone says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:58am

This was interesting.

Cryotube says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:03am

Could really use a tutorial, or any text really explaining how to play - the role of the player wasn't clear at the beginning. Audio and enemy spawn points could use some work. Impressive that you managed to implement some pathfinding into the game!

elpaulo says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:51pm

They're all fighting each other :-). Didn't really get the concept of the game.
Graphics are nice, and the 3d engine is well used.

eemmbbeerr says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 2:51pm

Great idea and really fun game. Walls spin too fast and it's really hard to put them in the right position. Also, in the later levels, there is really nothing to do when a bunch of them go fighting in one group. It's impossible to take large groups apart. The music was good, but the sound of fighting got really annoying after a time.

There is a problem with the Linux zip download (Small characters instead of uppercase in filenames), but it could be a Dropbox bug. Saving it to my Dropbox rather than downloading a zip got it right.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]