Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Just a cookie

by Babiole - Jam Entry

This game stars an old grandma, who's killing every scout coming at her house to get their cookies for free.

This is a point & click game, where the goal is to craft some unexpected weapons finding tools all over your house, and creating them in the garage. After that, you just have to come back to the kid and have fun !

How To Play :
The goal is to build weapon in order to get rid of the scout and get his cookie. To do so, you need to go around the house and find tools that you cant store in your stash by drag and dropping them. After that, you can go the the garage and try to build a custom weapon. There are 9 possibilities right now (of course we wanted to add more !). You just need to go back and face the scout ;)

We had a lot of fun by doing it !
The team :
Océane Leflon, graphist
Srah Simpson, graphist
Nicolas Constanty, programmer
Fernand Veyrier, programmer

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2292Coolness17%

Comments

Korial says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:30pm

Incredibly fun ! Good Job !!!
++Humour

goblin says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:36am

Very fun game, I couldnt find the right tools to combine with the dog :( Wished you could use the black magic book in some way.
Check ours too if you want http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

Diventurer says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:37am

Nice overall with audio, graphics, humor and mood.
But the game wasn't fun to play. Why? Because you were VERY limited with what weapons you could create. Personally, I only found the one you had in the screenshot.

Is that the only weapon possible? I tried A LOT of combinations that would make sense.

alpha_rat says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:38am

I couldn't figure out what I was supposed to do, maybe a little explanation in the description could be useful ;)

Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:16am

Very fun, great graphics. A bit hit and miss with trying to work out what to combine / what you could pick up. I stuck with it till I made a battery, knife, toaster thingy which was awesome but then stopped playing as I found the controls very unresponsive and buggy which greatly marred my enjoyment and made it very frustrating to stick with.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:56pm

Was a little difficult to figure out what I was supposed to do, but I like the art and sound.

DeadFragment says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:02am

Very original idea, it was hard to get a combination right though that you could use. The art style was awesome and the characters looked amazing. Only complaint would be that you should be able to create more things with what you have.

-Neith

freeholdgames says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 2:12am

Haha this is really fun, though I am depressed it didn't let me build my throw-a-knife-tied-to-a-fishingline-with-the-leafblower-to-impale-my-enemy-like-scorpion weapon :(

May 11, 2015 @ 1:48pm

Great job folks!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]