Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Lasers have recoil, right?

by th4t - Jam Entry

Engines are not strictly necessary to get around. Scientists might dispute the practicality of this novel laser gun application.

Sci-fi sound effects used in the game: http://opengameart.org/content/sci-fi-sound-effects-library
Music used in the game: http://www.newgrounds.com/audio/listen/613815

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#45Fun(Jam)3.92
#164Innovation(Jam)3.67
#239Overall(Jam)3.56
#392Audio(Jam)3.03
#682Mood(Jam)2.83
#748Theme(Jam)3.03
#825Graphics(Jam)2.58
#841Humor(Jam)2.14

Comments

bace1000 says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 9:09pm

A very fun and addictive game. For some reason the energy bar only appeared for me on the first two levels?

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:16am

Got stuck on the lava slope but very good fun!

th4t says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:34pm

@bace1000 @DesignerNap Thanks for the kind words! The energy bar got improved a lot thanks to your feedback. Turns out taking stuff away from players is seen as a bug at best. It's a more visible part of the game now.

The lava slope got made a bit meaner, it's the last level after all. We have added quite a few more before it :D

Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:41pm

This is my favorite puzzle game of the jam so far. Its really neat. I really like the puzzles naturally. My only complaint is that sometimes its hard to understand why I died. It might help to stop the game for a moment so I can see what hit me. Super great entry!

Photon says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:41pm

You did good creatively using the physics and hazards. One or two levels were a little annoying but otherwise this was really good. Fun play for sure.

joaovitorbf says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:43pm

Really nice game, i had a lot of fun playing it.
Also, i didnt really understand how the lava/fire worked, i kept dying.

dlowe says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:45pm

Thanks for the game!

nassi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:02am

Neat design and the difficulty is spot on for a jam game. And lasers do indeed have recoil for the same reason that light sails work for space travel :P! Timmy is probably quite a small bot if that is enough recoil to move him...

skiper4e says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:34am

Amazing! I would say expand it into a full game but it already feels like one

ZQMony says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:06am

Very fun and unique game. The constant clicking does get annoying though.

fixedgerald says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:07am

Amazingly fun, very unique take on the theme as well by having an unconventional use for a weapon.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:09am

Great idea! Nice mechanic, one of the best mechanics I've seen so far and a great take on the theme. Art is simple but works, nice level design to introduce the mechanics, nice sound and nice music choice. Overall really well done!

MiniBobbo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:12am

This was neat and the level progression as great. I like how you introduced new elements in a way that was safe and you could experiment with before it really counted.

A suggestion would be to reduce the hitbox on the fire. There were times when I would die when it never hit me. Also, some immediate feedback of my death would be nice too.

A great clean layout!

ChaosCult says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:30am

Cool! Simple, fun, varied. I like the inversion of the theme - an unconventional use of a "conventional" weapon.

yuigoto says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:48pm

It's fun and really nice, albeit short. Really nice to play, controls are simple and make the game nice to play, the graphics fit the style of the game and the sound work is also good. :)

Needs more levels! /o/

MikkelLevisen says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:34pm

Cool game mechanic and brilliant level design.
Challenging and fun.

goblin says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:35pm

Nice puzzle game, great job!
Check ours too http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

DeadFragment says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:44pm

Very awesome puzzle game mechanic, gameplay felt smooth and was fun trying to figure out how to tackle a level!

-Neith

Apr 27, 2015 @ 4:58pm

Seems a bit basic at first but became really fun once the levels got more complicated. Really nice concept and very challenging.

Frozen Stick says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 8:28am

An energy bar appears on the screen and I can't really play but for the first 2 levels.Very good and nice music!

Catwheel says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 8:30am

Great level design. Mechanic was simple yet fun. I like the introduction of platforms you can shoot to activate.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]