Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

UrIn Trouble

by Lovelace Lair - Jam Entry

STORY:

You are P-155 robot taking part in a Game Jam & have had too many energy drinks. Unfortunately the sentries are out to get so you so you must use your only means to destroy them.. causing a short-circuit in their motherboards by micturition of your favourite radioactive & fluorescent beverage.

This is a game about pissing

Piss on robots

Drown them in piss

Show no mercy for you shall receive none

Accolades:
Game of the Century - IGN
"Sets a new bar for piss-em-ups" - Eurogamer
"I was afraid" - Mix Kundegorski

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#189Humor(Jam)3.53
#270Fun(Jam)3.38
#312Audio(Jam)3.21
#339Theme(Jam)3.62
#374Overall(Jam)3.38
#387Mood(Jam)3.24
#481Innovation(Jam)3.14
#753Graphics(Jam)2.80
#1769Coolness37%

Comments

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 10:56pm

Interesting idea, but not very good implementation.

Liam :D says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:49pm

Ew. D:

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:07pm

Interesting theme interpretation - "YOU ARE WIN!"

taviandir says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:15pm

Hilarious game haha, could you share the source code? I'm a unity developer myself and is interested how you implemented that weapon mechanic.

Kardamom says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:25pm

It works, it has physics, the balance is reasonable and some thought went into level design. But I guess it needs more attention from game design perspective. I am not a big fan of piss jokes, but if it is a game about pissing, it should BE ABOUT pissing. It should not look like using a regular gun. Maybe you should collect drinks so that you can piss? Or instead of regular damage your piss could accumulate in low places and drown your opponent or whatever. This way it is just a shooter with yellow-colored ammo.

Smiley says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:31pm

haha.. that was actually one of the better games I have played in this LD :)

SowiHowl says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:37pm

Wasn't working on mac

lebrokholic says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:40pm

"Do you know the definition of insanity?" C'mon, I love the traces of bullets. Like a deathly fountain :D The game is cool, furthermore

benbateman says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:43pm

Liked the particle effects and the game played very well. Maybe the addition of a jetpack gauge, or a quicker decent over time, might make it a bit more interesting/challenging. Great effort though, I enjoyed it :)

myachin says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:29am

Good game, thank you.
Nice platform mechanic with jetpack height limiting!
Last level with robots on ladder is a bit frustrating. Maybe it need one more checkpoint...

Dynad says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:30pm

It's a fun concept, the physics part worked out really well =D

rishal says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 5:36pm

Funny game. Nice one.

Teesquared says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 2:04am

This game really pisses you off. You're in for a challenging one. I laughed so hard I peed my pants and got a new high score.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]