Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

SolSurvivor

by Blobo - Compo Entry

You are the sun, your weapon is your planets. throw your planets into asteroids to save yourself. P.S. i've been told it's quite challenging. you should've seen it before i nerfed the gravity force :P

fixed the web link.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#41Innovation4.08
#147Theme3.89
#346Overall3.39
#387Audio3.02
#425Fun3.19
#484Mood3.00
#542Graphics3.07
#826Humor2.17

Comments

Newt_ says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:21pm

Wow, what a great concept! The game's pretty hard, but fun enough that I kept playing. :) Love the music too! Awesome job!

chaosed0 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:30pm

Neat concept. I especially appreciate how the main menu teaches you how to play. Two criticisms: (1) The smaller planets are a bit too hard to click on, and (2) it's difficult to tell exactly where the asteroids are headed. This results in the game being a little too hard. Really nice music. If the gameplay were polished a bit, I think it could be very fun.

jlauper says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:45pm

Fun game, but quite hard (atleast for me...)

Ourson says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:50pm

Really clever game!
And I love how the menu teaches you how to play the game. I mean, the menu is your fucking tutorial. That's genius!
I think it's juuuuuust a bit too hard.
Mabe you should start slowly and progressively throw more and more asteroids.
Once again, brilliant idea of gamedesign.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:56pm

While it's sort of difficult to click the smaller planets, the idea was really cool. :D I also really love how you learn the controls through the menu! Your attention to detail was also nice (the moons orbiting the planets, etc) Good job!

longshorts says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:03pm

The menu as a tutorial design is genius and feels great. The initial difficulty probably needs tuning down though.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:23pm

I think you could have made it so that the planets could have been grabbed from points near them rather than them having to be directly on them. Would have made the game slightly less annoying in places. Sweet concept though!

jmf says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:28pm

Brilliant idea, too hard for me though. Multitasking is not my strong suit.

Blobo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:04am

For those who like memes...
http://i.imgur.com/oawIwK3.png

syncxzoz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:20am

good idea!!!!
at first i little bit confuse what i must to do to play this game... lol.... but that planet track give a hint.... but yeah... i was so hard to control the planet... i always lose under 1 minute... lol...

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:22pm

Perhaps make the game's difficulty curve a little easier, but great idea and nice execution.

Aree Vanier says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:26pm

Great job! like the challengingness(if that's a word)! The planets are very unconventional weapons! Nice take in the theme

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:28pm

Webplayer says "failed to download datafile" (in FF or Chrome)

JoshuaBurr says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:34am

This didn't run for me in safari. The error was: "Download failed, please retry" (I tried several times)

lucidsheep says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:18am

Like the last few comments said, I couldn't run the game, it gave me an error downloading file data. Running Chrome on Mac OS 10.10

MGhareeb32 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:30am

^ Same. Can't open.

Blobo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:14pm

Fixed the web link, thanks for telling me.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:32pm

Great concept, though it is tough to manage all of those planets with just one mouse. Loved the music and the gameplay. Nice job!

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:40pm

Awesome use of the theme. Great work on the music, too!

Dreyan says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:21pm

I love how such a simple mechanic made for such a fun game. It would be easy for this game - having so many different weapons to use - to have quickly gotten overwhelmingly hard or complicated, but you avoided it with some very balanced, thought out gameplay.

Almax27 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:22pm

I really liked the natural progression of learning how to play the game by learning how to start the game :D had the development console popup a new times with lots of null exceptions though and the sounds were pretty grating but otherwise a fun experience!

Nikteddy92 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:27pm

I really like the mechanic you implemented. The movement of the small planets is a little difficult, but it's a nice entry! Well done!

srakowski says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:39pm

You weren't kidding on it being difficult! Great concept, good use of theme. I really really like the way your menus worked, that was a brilliant touch. Well done! :)

richiebranson says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:41pm

Pretty tough game! This definitely can turn into one of those addictive hi-score style mobile games. The menu is brilliantly done as well. Good stuff!

hexdie says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:10am

This was a very neat idea! I enjoy the concept a lot. It was pretty difficult though.

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:21am

Took me a sec to figure out how to start and one death to figure out the object, but really intuitive! Also the music started out lame but then got a lot better, LOVE this idea, simply amazing!

Snicklodocus says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:25am

I love the concept here and the menus are really fun. Good music. I thought the difficulty was fine but I'm used to harder arcade games. I did get a null-reference exception on game over, but I just closed the dev log and the game worked fine. Good job!

Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:31am

Loved this! It is a bit difficult, yes, but a lot of fun. Took me a minute to figure it out, but once I did, I played for a while.

Jaloko says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:26am

Very cool game, I liked the mechanics and the difficulty. Also good use of the theme! I found that sometimes the planets were hard to click.

adsilcott says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:39pm

I love the way the menu works, took me a minute to figure it out, but by that time I knew how to play! It's really hard... I tried arranging my planets in a circle around me but that only helped a little. Great job, I love the concept :)

dyfer says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:16pm

Simple and clever game. I feel there is randomness in difficulty when sometimes many asteroids rush at me from the start. Good entry !

Photon says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:45am

Am I allowed to say great minds think alike? :P

Very difficult, but the concept is nicely executed. Great take on the theme and good job on the game as a whole.

ploy says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:14pm

praise the sun

thaaks says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:10pm

Cool idea for the theme! Nice mechanics and great music!
The game's pretty hard, I only managed to destroy 6 asteroids...
I liked that you moved the gameplay mechanics over to the menu - nice fit.
I would suggest to make the planets a bit bigger, maybe also use their moons as rotating colliders. Maybe also show their orbit lines? The asteroids speed should not increase so fast. Make it easier for starters ;-)
Some tweaks and it's a very good game.

Curial says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:14pm

Hey, nice concept and pretty addictive. I would increase the planets mouse area though since it is difficult to click them at major levels.

Great idea!

steboots says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:57pm

Ohhh... I want to be better at this game! I think the concept is spot on, and I can see it going further and becoming a more in depth game... Perhaps a control scheme change would help? Maybe I just suck at mouse, but I can't switch between planets quick enough, so I ended up just using the closest one to the sun and going nuts

Yword says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:17pm

Very great and innovative idea! Well done!

Horsed says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 9:45am

Hilarious idea! I had fun playing this. Your song sounds cool but it doesn't create a proper mood for me. Nonetheless good job!

May 2, 2015 @ 9:48am

Good polish and use of theme! I did think there were some issues with difficulty, but improvements to the control (or just size) of the planets could resolve that. Otherwise this was an all round well developed game!

Arche-san says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 5:10pm

Good game mechanisms. This is a bit hard but the concept is really cool and matches with the theme.

May 11, 2015 @ 5:01pm

Nice, solid entry! I like how the menu is basically a mini-tutorial on how to play.

I have to agree with the others, though, in that the difficulty is a bit to hard. I tried a couple times using all the planets and ended up with a score of 5 or 6 each time. I then tried spreading the planets around the sun in a small area, using the planet closest to the sun to obliterate the rest of the asteroids. This got me a score of 47, considerably better than the other attempts.

Overall, I think this deserves a rating of 3.5, but unfortunately that's not possible.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]