Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Time Speed

by Scornz - Jam Entry

*IMPORTANT : Fixed sound! Put in an old build by accident, music speeds up and slows down based on game.

You have to fight off bad guys, and you only have a calculator. Seems pretty unconventional, right? Well, this calculator can be used to slow and speed up time to dodge bullets and kill enemies.

Controls :
WASD to move around
Left click to speed up time (Can only be used for a second, and has a cool down of half a second)
Right click to slow down time

Instructions :
To kill the enemies, you must speed up time and run into them. But beware they shoot bullets every 2 seconds, and they are very difficult to dodge unless you have slowed time. For every kill, you get a point, and this is your score.

Thanks in advance for playing and voting for my game!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#391Theme(Jam)3.53
#459Innovation(Jam)3.18
#479Fun(Jam)3.12
#582Overall(Jam)3.14
#802Mood(Jam)2.63
#882Graphics(Jam)2.36

Comments

TheWzzard says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:09am

I don't think the leaderboard works...
If there was music it could speed up and slow down, which would really make it feel more like time is changing I think. Just a thought!

Supernovadx says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:10am

Cool, I like the idea. Some sort of background music would have helped.

w1n5t0n says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:13am

The game feels like SUPERHOT but it play very differently. Good job!

huga says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:45am

That was cool, I felt like Neo sometimes. But yeah, missing art and sound. Overall pretty good.

Scornz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:29pm

The Wzzard, it seems I by accidentally uploaded an old build without the sound effects, I will fix that

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:24pm

Leaderboards don't seem to work and enemies don't seem to always detect collisions, but aside from that nice job!

JALgames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:25pm

Nice game! The graphics are still a bit place-holder-like, but the game-play is quite fun (I played this game for longer than most of the other games). I am reminded of Mirror's Edge a bit...

Scornz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:31pm

The Wzzard, it seems I by accidentally uploaded an old build without the sound effects, I will fix that

MGhareeb32 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:07am

Windows link not working.

Scornz says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:11am

Fixed it

Infernobomb says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:13am

It's a cool concept. The models aren't the best, but that's understandable in a jam.

uheartbeast says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:17am

Really great game actually. It is very hard but still fun.

Scornz says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:21am

Thanks!

tikilittle says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:29am

Cool concept. I had trouble with the controls. You might have a settings page to allow players to switch to keyboard controls.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:53am

Really fun and addictive. To whoever got ~70 on the leader boards, I salute you.

Cosine says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:55am

The leaderboard is a nice feature ;)
In part because of the leaderboard and in part because of the Freaking Infuriatingly Amazing Addictiveness and Fun of this game, I unfortunately wasted many hours on it. It was so satisfying to fly through enemy after enemy and then dodge a bullet matrix-style.

Shugor says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:05am

This is a pretty interesting challenge of a game. I had a bit of trouble with the camera because I was stuck with a laptop trackpad, but otherwise I think I could have gotten a lot farther; the balance between needing to speed up and slow down time is really nicely made. I think it's also great that you included the leaderboard, as it adds some replayability and a sense of competitiveness. Great work~

Scornz says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:16am

Thanks for the feedback! I really appreciate it!

slowfrog says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:19pm

The idea sounded interesting but the gamed proved too difficult and impossible to master. I could not score a single point and died many times without visible cause (shot in the back, probably).

Lukbebalduke says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:24pm

Nice game! It makes me remember SUPER HOT =)

Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:07pm

Wow super fun!! the only problem was the graphics. the gameplay was super addicting. i couldnt get on the leaderboars. grrr. the only other thing is sometimes the enemies shoot when you're right next to them and you can't dodge and it feels a little unfair. also i wish i could jump over the bullets. overall great game!

F. Wiktora says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:33am

Sound!! :(
Anyway, great concept! Keep it up! :)

dallonf says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:37am

This was rather fun! Reminiscent of Superhot, but definitely unique. Felt very rewarding once I got the hang of it. Well, I say I got the hang of it; my high score was 2. :P

It desperately needs a retry option on the Game Over screen. I didn't want to go through the leaderboard and title screen every time I died (which was really often)

nihilaleph says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:50am

Great game! I liked the concept, but it's a bit hard for me, specially because I can't invert the y axis xp But great job!

SmallPhil says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:17pm

The concept is good but it's a bit too hard. You don't know when the enemies are going to shoot and it often looks like you die for nothing. The way the enemies explode is super satisfying though !

ChrisGaudino says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:37am

Loved it. Extremely fun. My only gripe was I wished I could directly restart after dying rather than click through the leaderboard every time, but that's really nitpicking.

Hambone says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:44am

Awesome concept, I loved the leader board !

Davikin92 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:27am

Good idea. It's really frustrating to be shot and not knowing from where it came. Aside from the music, you could use other resources to clear out that time has been slowed down or accelerated, maybe changing the visuals. It would be cool if the bullets were a little slower so I get time to slow down and dodge them.

Logicon says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:38am

Very hard to tell when when the blocks are about to fire because they are blocks.

dcRfj15 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:21am

Great concept, this is a fun game. It was really cool to be able to manipulate time, and to use time as a weapon. My highest score was 7.

This was a hard game though, it would be cool to see more walls around the map, so that the player would be able to hide more from the enemies. Maybe instead of long corridors where the player is super vulnerable there could be more open areas where the player would have the ability to move around freely, and dodge the enemies easier without falling off the map.

Great job though :D

Scornz says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:05pm

Thanks for all the feedback!

xtty says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:32pm

Has a cool idea, but the game is too simple and the graphics too...
Anyway, keep up with it!

Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:32pm

I liked the idea of crashing into enemies with your super speed, but I found it really hard to react to enemies if they are totally silent. Maybe giving the player more health will allow them to fight back when someone shoots you in the back.

Novodantis says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 12:33am

Tough game, but I like the concept. Pulling off a bullet dodge is satisfying.

java the hutt says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 1:34am

It was fun to see the enemies explode. I wish dodging enemy shots was easier, or that I had multiple hits.

Tatsu Studio says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 1:52am

Very fun game

bossmojoman says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 3:14am

Nice Concept, though I couldnt kill any of the rectangles.

TyrusPeace says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 5:24am

Some sort of hint that enemies are about to shoot would make a huge difference here! As was, I had a hard time predicting when my impending doom was coming.

lochmann-apps says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 9:16am

Nice one, but for a beginner it is hard to get, where you are attacked, just change the level design a bit, so it is clear that the enemy got you. Also a restart button would be nice. But a really cool entry!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]