Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

My Dear Pencil

by Dorgam - Jam Entry

A Challenging and fun platformer puzzle about a boy and his pencil.
You switch the available platforms by erasing an enemy. Try to reach the gate through erasing enemies in right order.

Controls are in game.

Changelog:

* Fixed Collision Bugs
* Fixed Resolution Bug
* Fixed Music Bug
* Fixed Credit Menu
* Fixed Background
* Fixed Animation Bug

To contact me:
https://twitter.com/TheDorgam

Have Fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#244Fun(Jam)3.43
#274Innovation(Jam)3.47
#306Audio(Jam)3.22
#346Overall(Jam)3.41
#437Mood(Jam)3.18
#468Graphics(Jam)3.39
#549Theme(Jam)3.31
#843Humor(Jam)2.13

Comments

bpleonvong says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:46am

Some minor bugs, lacking some UI, but despite pretty cool. I would flushed a bit more, and then it might be epic.

AtomicVikings says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:58pm

A really funny game. Like the idea how you have implemented the platforms. In summary a really nice game. Good job.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:04pm

Awesome Game! 420 blaze that shit!

snade says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:15pm

Nice concept! sweet music.

I am not so fan of the controls. Switching between W and then go to S really quickly is annoying. I also don't like the R button. can't it just auto restart?

Tatsu Studio says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:18pm

Its a funny game, i liked to play.

Red_Fan games says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:53pm

The art is great, really refreshing and clean with just a touch of sketchiness. Controls are a little wonky but still a great game.

Xanjos says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:17pm

Pretty cool concept and I absolutely loved the music and hand-drawn art.

ZQMony says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:43am

Very fun and simple game. Good Job!

dcRfj15 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:48am

Good job, this was a really cool idea. I liked how the terrain shifted as you killed enemies. The music was dramatic and supported the game, and the graphics were simple but visually appealing.

One minor problem that happened once or twice was that my character fell directly through a platform, I only noticed it on one level (the level where the moving enemies were introduced).

GTA LUDUM V says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:55am

Good art and music!

Andrea says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:48pm

Nice game, with a bit too much difficulty created by the fact that the character tend to disapear off screen and the level change when you kill an enemy, but I finally beat it!
Would love to play more once it's polished!
Great job!

leo_p_mahon says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:00pm

Great sound and music! That was the first thing I noticed. Also the art is good. The gameplay works fairly well, I found it difficult at first but then I realized I need to hold s in order to bounce off the enemies. If I was to suggest an improvement it would be to zoom out so you can fit the whole level on one screen. Again audio is solid.

ajopart says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:50am

It needs a specific animation when pushing "s". Otherwise, great audio and art, unique. A little disappointing because, with the pencil, I thought we would have to draw our way to the end of the levels. Keep going, with more polish and features, it can become something

Lynx says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:35am

It's a great start to a potentially great game! The respawn should be automatic just so it doesn't break the player's concentration and gameplay flow and maybe think about custom control layouts or arrow keys along with WASD... other than those minor thing, I hope you go far with this and can't wait to see the post-Jam results! Good job.

BabaJaga says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:49am

It's solid, but I wonder why is there need to push S, it's not like it has any effect on gameplay.

broknecho says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:40pm

Really neat start here. Given that it's a sort of trial an error, I think it's a cool concept. Trial and error can be frustrating but because death has no consequence, that works in it's favor.

Nice entry! Well done!

CScribes says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:22am

Really strong entry! I loved the music, concept, and use of the theme. My only hang up is that the controls are hard for me to work with my hands.

Zinhet says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:44pm

Cool game. I really liked the art style. It was a bit hard to tell when I was going to be able to actually erase an enemy instead of die to them.

sorlok says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:37pm

Great use of the theme! Nice jumping mechanics too!

SamH says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 11:05pm

A bit short, confusing at times (I don’t fully understand the platform mechanics and my character sometimes disappears when jumping). I still played it to the end and enjoyed it. Add more complex levels and it can become very interesting.

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 11:29pm

Very solid platformer, I really liked it. Finished it in a really short time in our stream, somehow. The controls felt tight, and the levels were fair. Lots of speed running potential.

I recommend adding ghost jumping (a brief moment where you can still jump even though you ran off the edge of a platform). It would make it easier to design harder levels without feeling unfair.

hexdie says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 1:04am

There is some very good gameplay here. The mechanic where platforms and enemies switch out when you kill an enemy is very cool and I could see this being used for some pretty awesome things if you were to expand on it. I also enjoyed the music a lot.

For some criticism, the art was very lacking. There was only one enemy (which I liked the design of), very simple platform graphics and not much of a background. You are probably aware of that though. Secondly, pressing the E button to hop on their head seems almost pointless. As long as you press (and hold) it once before hopping on an enemy's head, it works. I would prefer that you do away with having to press anything to kill an enemy.

Overall, there is definitely some promise here. Nice gameplay, nice controls, and a neat mechanic. Good job!

mikomic says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 11:40pm

hi it's Mikomic from the stream, your game is really cute and the gameplay is really nice. keep up the good work. :)

May 3, 2015 @ 7:31pm

Very cool and simple game. Loved the music even though it's a bit out of place. Great entry

RyanNielson says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 7:31pm

Well done! I would tweak the controls a bit. Is it necessary to have to click E to kill enemies? Maybe it would be better if you just needed to land on them? Good job though!

NuvlearGames says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 11:06am

I love it, although I suck at platformers so it was quite difficult but I absolutely love the art style. Well done.

May 8, 2015 @ 5:41am

Nice idea! the controls need a little work. it almost be better to have the guy always erase when he is in the air. it be cool if there were more ways to switch zones. be cool if there was more enemies and mechanics. would like to see a larger version of this game.

May 9, 2015 @ 11:16am

Short but very sweet. Great idea.

LukeZaz says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 8:56pm

Pretty good. Levels were a bit easy, and I couldn't hold E but other than that it was fine.

elpaulo says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 9:56pm

Pretty game ! I really love the animation of the enemies when they appear, i can't even conceive how you made it.
Platform physics are cool, i had a little bit of difficulty to find how to jump on enemies, but i'm a noob :-)

Also, need more levels !! Good job.

Plustech says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 10:20pm

I really enjoyed jumping from those enemies and expecting what to come next after you kill one. Had a blast actually, I think the animation on the erasing action could be a little more clear, besides that, a really solid entry. Nice music btw. I wish there was more too.
Cheers

tweedle says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 10:21pm

too short! :) nice work - great game mechanic

Crefossus says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 12:30am

Having to memorize the positions after the first bounce reminds me of "leap of faith" issues - but it's very easy to memorize. So it ends up working and even being fun.

I liked the sfx for hit, although the music could match up a bit better.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]