Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Flash Escape

by scottthoo - Compo Entry

Player Tips :
-You can have unlimited Dash ! Like Flash !
-You can do Jump and Dash to get higher ground.
-Find secrets if you want to challenge yourself. ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#462Overall3.27
#2192Coolness22%

Comments

TaoPhoenix says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 1:30pm

This looks like a cute little platformer. Very fast initial impression is it's decently balanced, so I'll play it a bit and give another update.

TaoPhoenix says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 3:03pm

Fun stuff. Don't let my low tolerance for difficulty spikes matter! I start getting stuck around the spot with about seven "rickety" jumps in a row. But it's got a nice little feel about it!

By the way,

The DonationCoder LudumDare 32 April 2015 thread is here:
http://www.donationcoder.com/forum/index.php?topic=40573.0

It happens to be their 10th anniversary! So I don't program myself ... so I am unleasing Weapons Grade Enthusiasm!

If you stop by DonationCoder, please put in the code/tag LudumDare-Tao so they will know it's my doings that brought you in! I'm not part of any of the site structure ... just doing my bit for my favorite site on the net!

Also over there, I post a few of my detailed reviews of some LD games.

--TaoPhoenix

mtanton says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:25am

Fun game! Would be really cool if you could dash upwards. Enjoyed the game, good job!

doitle says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:28am

Decent platformer here. I particularly like the jingle at the title screen. It's very "Get pumped!". I'm not sure if it's just my computer but whenever I would take damage to die the game seemed to freeze for about 15-20 seconds before returning me to the start of the level.

Lynx says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:40am

Loving the idea! I'm a big fan of the Flash, and I can really see this becoming a great speed runner game like Dustforce or something.The jump feels a little lackluster but, whatever, who needs jump when you can dash!

One bug I did notice, that sometimes the guy won't turn the direction he's running so he look like he's doing the moonwalk, but hey, I found that quite funny!

scottthoo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:19am

Woah guys, Thanks for the comments !

@Tao, You getting done, after the jumping, it will be Running ! Or exploring other way to finish the game ;)

@mtanton, Thanks dude, if dash upwards it will be rocket, Flash still stick with gravity bro. ;)

@doitle, Thanks, that is my intention ;) and i think its about your PC, my friends are no freeze while testing the game. (No time to do restart menu)

@Lynx, Yeah, its animator bug. :P Only happen when he is walking, its looks like walking backward when see something danger. :)

orukinawa says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:12pm

The cake is a lie!!!!!!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:53pm

Platforming was really hard, as the jump was a little to control. The flash mechanic was really cool though, very satisfying to get enemies with it

Anas Azmi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:39pm

Oddly, I can see Keiji Inafune laughing here. Anyways, fun game! Though I don't really like platform hells like I Wanna Be The Guy. Using dashes is not that unique (or maybe that's just me), but it's certainly an unconventional weapon.
Maybe you could put a game over screen so you get breaks between continues (especially since you're going to listen to the same music all the time).

Yword says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:54am

The dash action is really cool! Well done!

ftvs says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:41pm

Controls feel goood. Maybe variable jump height would be good. I stopped after restarting from the beginning a few times.

ftvs says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:44pm

Let me clarify: the dashing felt good. The jumping and mid air control felt rather stiff.

TyrusPeace says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 7:20am

I loved the feel of the dash, but jumping was so short without a dash, and the platforms were very narrow, so it ended up being very difficult to get anywhere. Great feel, but the level design could have worked with it a lot better than it did.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]