Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Play Your Doom

by Bendev - Jam Entry

Play Your Doom is a music-based game where you make your way through a dangerous dungeon.

The Q, W, E and R keys are your music. Use the notes to craft spells and unlock doors.

Survive four rooms and face the boss.


BUGS
- Sometimes the five letters doesn't appear correctly on doors! Please restart the game if that happens.
- The boss is unkillable. Ha!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#206Innovation(Jam)3.59
#272Theme(Jam)3.70
#445Audio(Jam)2.93
#633Mood(Jam)2.90
#675Overall(Jam)3.04
#715Graphics(Jam)2.89
#828Fun(Jam)2.59
#855Humor(Jam)2.09

Comments

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:57am

Really cool concept! I'm very musically challenged but I love it when I can put together a melody to save my life :)

Ilseroth says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:57am

The sound design seems intentionally annoying and the combat is drawn out and boring. The graphics are alright and the concept of music as a weapon is alright.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:58am

I killed five zombies and then I saw an rw on the screen and I could not get any further. I wish I could figure out how to get further.

ionbattle says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:07am

Cool concept, the controls aren't as responsive as I'd like and even when I played the unlock or spell codes correctly it sometimes just didn't work. Would be cool if there was some sort of visual cue that I was hitting the right notes.

Isk says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:17am

The first time I played through, the letters on the bars didn't show up and I was stuck in the first room. It was fine on reload, though. Dope game, mate.

Pinpickle says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:19am

Fun concept for the theme, but it seems a little buggy. It seems I can't cast the toxic spell without casting the slow spell first, and I couldn't past the first door. The first time I played, 5 letters appeared on the door when I killed the zombies but playing them did nothing. The second time I only saw one letter after killing all of the zombies.

Still, I really enjoyed the concept of playing music to cast spells.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:34am

Combat is too long for a few variations of instrument tones. The reaction of the enemy attack relative to should be a little varied, as well as notes. Overall, the game has a good concept.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:56am

I've never seen anything like that before :)

seraphki says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:32am

Really like the concept, especially casting more complicated spells with word-like combinations. Unfortunately it seemed like the notes weren't always responsive, so I had to try multiple times to cast a spell. Also the second door didn't "unlock" either time I got there. Not sure if that's the end, or its just bugged?

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:35am

This Game is an awesome concept. I would like to see this game fleshed out!

UltraRat says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:39am

Reminds me of a fantasy version of patapon, that's cool. Which spell or door you're locking onto needs more feedback, like highlighting valid combos.

kyyrma says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Very difficult! I like what you did with the theme, and the ocarina does automatically bring forth some memories of Zelda games.

I did have some issues though: the game seems to be very laggy, even on quite high-spec hardware. Also opening the doors with spells seems to be pretty hit and miss. I tried opening the first door a good dozen times before I got it.

Azurency says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:18pm

Really interesting concept ! Nice game

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:16pm

Nice concept, was a little hard to execute the combos though

Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:16pm

Graphics and audio were good, neat concept. If the input was a little more reactive I think it'd be a lot funner, as it is, I felt like I was waiting for notes to finish to play the songs, which was frustrating.

Dagatts says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:21pm

I like the idea of "composing" the spells, with there were more! Nice game =D

rodobodolfo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:26am

The concept and art are great. The controls dont feel very solid. I got stuck after defeating the first wave of enemies.

EwChap says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:32am

Great entry. The concept of playing a note to cause effect was really neat. Once i understood it i was doing much better. Could be explained up front but overall really nice.

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:04am

Really interesting idea here. I wish the tones played by the character had been in key with the background music -- if you choose to keep working on this concept, that might make things come together really nicely. Keep up the good work!

jmborden says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:29pm

Windows version didn't run for me in Virtual box. Couldn't play the W note on the Mac Web unity version. There is a similar game called "Song of Aria" about a girl in a dungeon who sings to vanquish enemies.

TyrusPeace says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 6:52am

I agree with some of the other reviews that making the amount of time each note "blocks" input for the next note smaller would vastly improve the playability of this game. Cool idea! I had a hard time seeing the "Q"s weren't Os or Ds at first.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]