Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Ants

by cgmorton - Compo Entry

Ants can be your strongest allies in the struggle to mess with your friend's sandwich, but they can also be your most deadly foes.

This is my Ludum Dare compo submission, inspired by real-life events in my very own backyard! Wield a can of ant spray and corral the ant swarms to do your bidding. If an ant reaches your friend's sandwich first, you win, but if it reaches yours first, you lose. Simple, no?

This game runs on HTML5, and is currently playable at http://www.cgmorton.com/holygophergames/ants/ants.php

I hope you like it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#137Innovation3.77
#295Theme3.66
#387Audio3.02
#469Mood3.03
#630Humor2.58
#636Overall3.08
#770Fun2.80
#981Graphics2.25

Comments

Junber says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:55pm

Very interssting concept. I like that the ants move random but you can still influence them quite a lot. Nice game.

bpvelloso says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Very clever idea, I like the ants. Congratulations!

CireNeikual says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:00pm

Interesting game, I love ant simulations. They didn't really seem to follow the pheromones all that much though, so it felt pretty random when I won. I didn't have the patience to get past the second level. Perhaps more ants, faster simulation would help?

Zeriver says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:23pm

Really cool idea and execution. It's like a zen experience with this music :D

The best strategy for me was building a tunnel to the opponent's sandwich and focusing on one ant that was the closest to the goal.
Later levels required more creativity though.

It's a good concept to expand on but game in this stage is also really fun to play. Well done!

TD5 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:38pm

A nice, chilled game that requires a bit of thinking. Sometimes it felt like potluck that I won because an ant managed to make it by accident, but the challenge in the later levels proves that it's not all down to chance. Great game! :)

eott says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:26pm

Oh, I like this concept!

At first I didn't think the levels would be all that different and challenging, but just the different types of sprayable surfaces made it worthwhile to continue to play past the first level. Good work!

stevenlr says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:06pm

Really good concept and interpretation of the theme! This "real life event" of yours must have been damn funny.
The music fits well too.
It would be interesting to extend the game with a way to make the ants behave not so randomly, like find a way to attract them to some extent.
Good entry! :)

berkano says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:08pm

Very cool concept! Quite meditative to play. Nice music!

madameberry says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:35pm

Had to find out that the red sandwich is the one you want to destroy the hard way. Not sure if I was just being dumb or what.

thumbgarden says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:42pm

very soothing game. It makes me feel nostalgic for some reason. Good job

Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:32am

A neat little idea, though it could be too random at times.

calavera says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:36am

great mood and i love the background audio!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:00am

I keep running out of ant spray. Seems like winning/losing is mostly just luck.

ssiegel2 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:28am

I like the concept and there's a decent amount of strategy to it.

chanko08 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:28am

Interesting idea! Sometimes felt like more luck than skill though, which can be frustrating

xbcw says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:03am

That moment when you've run out of spray and the ants are almost to both sandwiches... awesome. Surprising amount of strategy involved in a game that appears random on the surface.

ViliX64 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:26am

Nice game. I had fun playing it, but gave up after about 4 unsuccessful attempts on level 6. I got a bit lost about what those yellow boxex actually are. I think I credit this to the differrence of details between the spray and the anthill. (The anthill is detailed and everything else is in simplistic art style.) Also I learned about the spray from your GitHub page, not from the game or description. It'd be better if you presented the game in a bit better way (the mechanics alone is fun).

I'm giving you 4* on overall (even though the game could be vastly improved).


I won't lie why I came to this game. I saw your comment on mine (Ageless Machine: Cup of Tea) and was a bit of upset, but mostly sad. The solution to the equation really is 25/9, which is 2.77..., but when there are only integers as the answer, it's pretty intuitive to assume that you just have to get rid of the decimal part. Even if you disagree with this part, there's no need to give the game 1* in every category. The equation is not the game. The game has about 30 minutes gameplay and the equation is only about 20 seconds of it. Please consider changing your opinion (or just explaining me your current one).

Thanks :)

cgmorton says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:54am

Hey all! Thanks for playing my game! This was really a spur-of-the-moment thing for me, so I'm glad a lot of you enjoyed it.

About the randomness, the ants' movement is a bit less random than it might seem. I won't say any more than that, though of course the source code is right there :)

To CireNeikual, I thought about putting in a way to speed up time, but decided that wasn't the feel I was going for. Later levels have a lot more going on as well.

And sorry for the confusion ViliX64, my sense of humor doesn't always come out right. I really did like your game!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:58am

very cool music

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:29am

It would be nice to know wich of the sandwiches is yours and wich is your friends

BobMorate says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:42am

Nice game, I quite like it! It's very fun and challenging! I missed an explanation about how to effectively use the spray, since it's not really explained anywhere if the spray attracts the ants or repels them :)

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:36pm

interesting idea. the randomness made me wonder if my actions had any influence at all, but somehow managed to win more often than not. audio was great. nice work!

rinat.kh says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:28pm

Nice idea, I liked it

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:34pm

I like it, definitely a unique idea I think. Cool game I believe

Ptolo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:02pm

Its a good concept for a game, the music/birdsong is nicely suited to the scenario. I only got to level 6 but found it quite fun :)

Headmade says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Interesting game but at first I didn't know what to do. I had to read the description here to get it. Then I didn't know which sandwich was mine. So basically I'm stupid :)

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:50am

Neat idea, and peaceful music. The bird sounds were too loud compared to the music, for me.

Unfortunately level 6 seemed to depend too much on randomness for me. It takes a very long time to wait and see if ants will move in the direction you encourage, with the very limited spray amount.

cdgugler says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:30am

Nice, I really like the concept! I'd love to see it fleshed out more.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:35am

I have to admit I didn't like the extremly indirect controls. (wasn't that one of the final themes too? - I think it would have matched that one better).

Gunzil says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:20am

Surprisingly compelling ant simulator where you plead the random number gods to favor the ants in the direction of the red sandwich. Those ants never listen though. They won't stop touching my previous sandwich.

Nice visuals, fitting audio, good time overall. That road level is nuts.

Playthrough video forthcoming :)

stoarch says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:51pm

Good game. I like pushing ants to opponent sandwich. One thing - bait for ants to move them toward opponent and AI.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:40pm

Nice Concept.

Pilly says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 5:06am

My sandwich...

Simple graphics, but surprisingly deep gameplay. I found myself playing for at least 20 minutes, stopping at level 9.

Simulation games tend to be too complex a lot of the time, but I really appreciated the simplicity of this one. Took me a while to get the hang of it, but I liked the trial/error process and figuring out what worked best.

Can't really think of anything I'd change, other than sprucing up the graphics a bit.

I really enjoyed this, thank you!

May 1, 2015 @ 8:51pm

Very cool, love your AI and path finding, very new and innovative :)

Crowbeak says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 7:05am

The outcome of the game is almost completely out of the player's control. All you can do is defend and hope. :\ I didn't really enjoy it.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]