Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Dick Cannon: Police Investigator

by ApocoNypse - Jam Entry

Join Dick Cannon, the world's first bionically-enhanced police investigator as he breaks up a drug ring!

This is our first ever jam entry, and though it may not be as polished as we would have wished, we hope that you find some enjoyment from it! All feedback is extremely welcome and appreciated!

Upon death the level will instantly restart. You can take 10 hits before dying!Health is displayed in the top left corner of the screen.

CONTROLS:
W, A, S, D = Move
Mouse = Aim
Left Click = Shoot
Right Click = Click on doors to open them (Click the lower half!)
Any Key = Advance cut-scenes/menu screens

Creators:

Lewis (@ApocoNypse) is responsible for all of the programming, whilst Ryan Wright is responsible for all of the pixels! Game Maker Studio was used to create the game, and BFXR was used to create the sound effects.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#142Humor(Jam)3.64
#273Graphics(Jam)3.77
#398Fun(Jam)3.22
#447Overall(Jam)3.31
#629Theme(Jam)3.20
#682Mood(Jam)2.83
#853Innovation(Jam)2.43

Comments

joaovitorbf says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:10am

Wait... dick cannon? HOLY SHIT EPIC GAME.
Okay, I really liked the artstyle and the game was very fun to play. Good job.

Fanttum says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:13am

Is his full name Richard? Haha, but really I couldn't play it cause I'm on the Mac. Any way a mac or web player is coming out? I'm loving the look so far.

calavera says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:14am

Hahahha. awesome! love the art. 5 for humor

only issue is that i frequently have trouble getting the doors to open :(

StrayByte says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:15am

Liked the take on the punchline of dick cannon without ever saying that his dick is the weapon.
It's funny and has a nice tone to it all. I'll go with good and bad:

good:
- AS i said, funny intro, the black megadick that shoots white bullets is... well.. unconventional!
- Sprites are well done, scenary is sharp and has no major flaws i can see.

bad:

- Totally classic game. i see it has no wish to be groundbreaking and it is not
- controls on doors could have been a tad more intuitive and precise.

3/5 overall

Orange says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:41am

Could have benefited from a health bar and Had some trouble getting the doors open. However I love this game! Simply hilarious!

MiniBobbo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:00am

I am mildly disturbed now... Super smooth presentation, but the doors were tough to open.

bpleonvong says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:01am

Man this game was pretty hard, sometimes they shoot through walls. But this game was absolutely funny.

huga says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:34am

Wow, this game is hard........
Made my day.

Pixel Heart says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:56am

Nice done Richard

trenchgames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:14am

That's unconventional weapon alright.. ha

Nikteddy92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:39am

Hahahaha Nice game! I really like the splash screen you did and the whole graphic is fantastic, simple and clean!
The gameplay is a little hard, you move really slow and the some bullet "pierces" through walls Dx
But it's really nice in the overall! Well done!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:15pm

Haha, epic weapon choice! The pixel art is very nice :)

I just wish I could shoot faster, that would make the game more fun. Perhaps more baddies to compensate.

jgritty says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:05pm

Not bad, some type of health regenerator would be nice.

Also, the shooting through walls is kinda annoying, and so are doors.

Snicklodocus says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:33pm

Wow, guess I should not have expected anything else from the title, haha. My inner five-year-old loved it. Art and presentation was great! I also had trouble with doors, but everything else was smooth. Gameplay is pretty hard and standard, but that's not necessarily bad. Great job for your first jam!

ApocoNypse says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:18pm

Thank you all for your feedback! :) I'd just like to address the 'bullets through walls', they don't actually go through the walls, they pass behind them due to the perspective of the game, much like the player can. I still see how it could be annoying thought haha. Thank you all so much for rating! :D

Bishkip says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:05am

Reminds me of a character in Tokyo Gore Police. Pretty funny and nice simple art.

careless says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:54pm

haha I just watched you play through it to get some tips and in a game called "Dick Cannon" you mentioned 'hard' and 'polished'...

Anyway's it is a fun game but too difficult, if you were just a little faster then avoiding the bullets would be a tad easier.

The pixel art is really neat, I like the mouse/camera movement.

Going to have a few more goes to complete it after voting, well done

Prowler says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:03pm

Wow! Hard game! The pixel art is great. It took me some seconds to get that the corners are 2.5D :) so they shoot me down. But anyways, good and entertaining game. Great job!

siryakko says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:14pm

Reminds me of Commando on Commodore 64 when i was a child, great game

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:42am

I thought this would be far less literal for some reason, great graphics!

ChronoDK says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:28pm

Haha, you misused the theme the same way I did ;-)

Fun :)

jcsirron says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 1:26am

This is one of the few games that actually made me laugh out loud while playing it. The minimal sound made the "shots" really sound like cannons. Good job!

Druid says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 9:23am

That art style is pretty neat, but i think that gameplay is little unbalanced. Enemies sometimes shoot trough walls or start shooting when they are outside my view, so i can't defend myself or dodge. Anyway, still good overall and pretty cool game!

GarethIW says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 9:59am

Needs a little more work on the game feel. I mean, I know the weapon is a cannon, but some faster fire rate would have been nice. And faster movement. Art was great!

gillenew says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 4:53pm

The game is cool, but some improvements as a few attributes such as speed of movement of the character and perhaps increase the speed of bullets will be great :)

ChronusZ says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 2:29am

I came, I saw, I came again ;-)

LukeZaz says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 1:32am

Pretty good game. Obviously enough it needs better UI and music, but besides that it was rather difficult and I think it would help a lot if I could move faster. Also, collisions seemed a bit strange, I'd not get hit when I should've and get hit when I shouldn't have.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]