Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Yappy Monsters!

by scampie - Jam Entry

Yappy Monsters is a game where two unusual monsters must settle their conflict... through debate and discussion! How unconventional!

Yap!




I wasn't originally planning to make a game for the jam, but I woke up on Saturday with an idea, so I dove in. I don't think this is the best game ever made by any stretch of the imagination, but this is my first completed project in Unity, so really the jam for me was just a good way of getting myself in gear to put something together.

Thank you for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#84Theme(Jam)4.00
#178Humor(Jam)3.55
#339Innovation(Jam)3.35
#384Audio(Jam)3.05
#549Mood(Jam)3.00
#632Overall(Jam)3.08
#695Graphics(Jam)2.92
#788Fun(Jam)2.65
#1436Coolness46%

Comments

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:25pm

It was a bit difficult at first cuz numpad only work button 1, but then I got on the top numbers and played nice, good entry.

Jungle says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:10pm

Its a bit confusing. I dont know if I am a terrible player or if the game is too difficult. Graphs can improve a bit. But I like the original idea, I guess yoou can make a great game with it! Keep the project on!

Move127 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:25pm

Interesting use of rock paper scissors mechanics.

Ourson says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:29pm

not bad =).
if I understood properly, this is sort of a rock paper cissors mixed with some kind of pong.
You should clarry what "word" beats what other "word". Or provide something to identify them more easily (mabe different shapes or colours).
Keep it going.

jmf says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:18pm

Nice idea, think words are a bit hard to parse in such a frantic game. Would have preferred shapes or colours to distinguish. Good fun though, really enjoyed.

Jordan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:37pm

Pretty interesting to play, and animations are nice. Haven't seen another LD32 game like this as of yet.

jacketsj says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:23am

I think I spent 25 minutes on this game, never winning once, but enjoying it the entire time.

SledKnight says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:30am

Nice entry!

chromebookbob says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:18pm

Fun idea! It throws you in at the deep end.

EwChap says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:42am

Fun. RPS on steroids.

DeadFragment says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:29pm

Trying to remember if yak beat yabba or yakko beat yolo was hard to get my head around, perhaps if you had the font colour coded to begin with, asin each phrase was a certain colour, so it would be easier to remember what beat what. But definitely points given for originality and it had some good graphics and audio!

-Neith

sebasRez says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 4:54pm

Pretty interesting, I like the rock paper scissors movement element but it would have probably been easier to remember what beats what with a method we familiar with instead of yap yappa yak. Nice Ai too.

freeholdgames says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 2:07am

Yabba is OP in my opinion!!! Very funny, nice job.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]