Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

A Month in Z32

by Ammypendent - Jam Entry

A sci-fi text adventure where you get the opportunity of a lifetime, a permit to travel to a sealed off sector of the asteroid belt called Z32.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#755Overall(Jam)2.93
#2192Coolness22%

Comments

Liam :D says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:21pm

I hate being the first reviewer of this as text adventures are really not my thing. I would hwoever appreciat if you uploaded this somewhere which didn't require a download, as it is an html file. I however have to admit I did cringe a little bit at the theme namedrop at "you've been collecting the sap. A pretty unconventional weapon you must admit.".

So yeah, unfortunately this is not something I personally have much experience in, so I can't give a fair criticism.

Muffin says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:32pm

Nice setup to the story, kept me interested for a while, but I find the 30 days too long for a rerun, once I failed the first time. I felt I didn't have a lot of options about what to do, but maybe I missed something. Good job on the atmosphere!

Trafulgoth says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:41pm

Nice little text adventure. It was bit easy for me; working the greenhouse seems to be a bit OP. At the end, I had over 300,000 units of sap and 8 trees, lol. Maybe I'm just too good at horror situations, but I had fun anyways.

Bastienre4 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 7:29pm

Great idea this text adventure game,very unique.

Ammypendent says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 5:03am

@Liam :D Thanks for reviewing even if it's not your thing! I tried to host it directly but the window appeared too small and you couldn't get past the first passage... and I did debate whether to take out the theme namedrop but time had me focus on other things.

@Muffin Yeah, I agree about the 30 day time period being long (didn't get to testing until the very end of the jam >_<). I'm pretty sure 15 days or simply more options would hold the interest better.

@Trafulgoth Since my testing was late I didn't balance things either XD. Glad you had fun.

@Bastienre4 Glad you liked it!

Almost says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 5:34am

It's a bit misleading to label the link as "Web" instead of providing a direct download link or at least labelling it as "Windows, Mac OS X, Linux, and Android"

Jezzamon says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 6:23am

The web link is wrong. It should be labelled "All OS's", or something similar.

Or, seeing as it's a html thing, why not just upload it to dropbox and link to it there? You'd get a lot more players that way.

The game itself was interesting, but I ran out of oxygen despite spending a lot of time in the greenhouse... I'm guess the results are randomly generated, and I got unlucky?

I guess I would've liked it to be more obvious what the results of my actions would be, like if after doing something I could learn what the general result of that action was.

blubberquark says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 10:34am

Did you know that you upload twine stories to itch.io and have them play in the browser? Should be just as little work as making them available for download.

blubberquark says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 12:14pm

In the beginning, you jump between tenses several times while the action is happening. Later the number of aliens I am fighting fluctuates. One moment: "You see 2 aliens", next moment: "You hit 3 of the aliens with the stick".

Also, having 300000 tablespoons of something is silly. Why can't you Americans use the metric system like normal people ;)

Xanjos says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 6:25pm

Pretty interesting story. I like the whole exploration aspect of it although exploring the asteroid doesn't seem to affect the plot whatsoever (just whether the alarm gets tripped or not).

Chaoseed says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 2:33am

Pretty interesting; a good start at least. You obviously put a lot of work into evoking the world, and it worked pretty well. Although, I went through 30 days and there was no real "solution" to all the questions that had been raised, so that was disappointing. As for game mechanics, by the end I had amassed literally millions of tablespoons, and fighting 'defensively' had me winning every time...the point is, it didn't seem like there was much tension, since I could win every fight! What else...I seemed to find a bug; every time the aliens attacked my camp I saw "As soon as the proximity alarm rings you spring into action. You find yourself <<print>> bad expression: unterminated string literal aliens.". Also, you set the itch.io settings so the player has to download the file, rather than playing it in the browser; and it's 'pay what you want', which is obviously bad. Still, congrats on finishing a game. ;)

Nomys_Tempar says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 11:34am

Nice textual adventure ! 30 days is a bit too long but the writing is good !

Mykaelos says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 12:45am

I really had fun with this game. I haven't actually finished it yet (got to about day 17), but I plan to the second I get a chance. I'm not really into text adventures, but the story and atmosphere gripped me. Excellent build up while keeping things a mystery. Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]