Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Pillows in Space

by Daporan - Compo Entry

Made with Java and LibGDX.

In a far future, where conflicts get decided by pillowfights, you try to pick up as much lonesome pillows as you can carry. Collect pillows, be victorious!

Controls: WASD / ZQSD

Web version unfortunately only works in Chrome.

Have fun!

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Daporan

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#547Audio2.71
#832Humor2.15
#933Fun2.52
#944Mood2.34
#963Graphics2.30
#966Overall2.66
#1018Innovation2.25
#1096Theme2.00

Comments

Mantlair says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:09pm

Looks nice ill check it when i get back home.

PixelMind says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:50pm

Doesn't load for me. I'm using Firefox. Tried to reload etc.

Lukbebalduke says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:54pm

I scored 183 points. Nice game =D

Daporan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:32pm

@PixelMind Thank you for noticing. Apparently it only work in Chrome. I will upload a downloadable version.

@Lukbebalduke Thanks for playing. I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Split82 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:41pm

I really liked the mood and music. My highscore is 66 only :(

Xgor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:41pm

It might be just me but I found it really hard to understand how close I was to the pillows. Making it much more frustrating to get.

Hectate says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:41pm

Hit detection on pillows is either a bit off, or I was gauging the location a bit off (hard to tell either way). Music isn't that bad.

HeyChinaski says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:50pm

Hard to tell what to do at first but fun once I figured it out. The pillows were hard to catch.
89 points was my best.

Daporan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:50pm

@Xgor @Hectate
The ship has a pretty small hitbox. While the pillows have a decently big one. This is so it's easy to avoid obstacles, but at the same time not possible to collect pillows without effort. I hope the issue didn't put you off the game entirely. Thanks for Playing.

mokujin says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:09pm

284 points, nice game

EwChap says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:20pm

Fun game. Some boundaries would have helped a little but I like the direction here. good fun when the speed started to increase.

Headmade says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:11pm

Man I can't compete with Lukbebalduke. I only got about half as many points :(
But I had fun and it's always nice to find a fellow LibGdx dev.

Blobo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:33pm

Really fun game, loved the music. i got to 220 points before i lost. nice work!

Multiplexor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:33pm

A bit hard to understand at the beginning, but it's nice when you get it, sometimes the collisions felt a bit unfair tough.

Somnium says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:47am

Nice game, although sometimes it felt like I did not get the pillow even though I collided with it. The "pass through the open part of the gate" mechanic took a few tries to understand.

Horsed says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 2:28pm

Nice music track :-) I missed a lot of pillows although the ship seemed to touch them. As soon as I got a feel for how long I had to press two keys to move to the target quadrant, the game became almost too easy. This was then compensated by the increasing speed. So it's a well done easy-to-learn-but-hard-to-master mechanic.

Apr 27, 2015 @ 11:10pm

Cool game and a good learning/difficulty curve. Like others have said, too many pillows you think you've got, you don't got.

Teesquared says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 1:41am

Challenging and fun. Pillow fight in space.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]