Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

LIGHT

by MSiddeek - Jam Entry

You're trapped with a vicious dragon in a room filled with all sorts of odd objects. Put everything to use in order to slay the dragon and make your way out of the room!

Find if you can outsmart the dragon. Figure out how you ended up in this mess in the first place. Discover where this room leads to...

PLAYTHROUGH
===========
burlapjack - http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/04/29/light-got-its-first-play-through-woo/

POSTMORTEM
==========
http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/04/23/ld-32-that-one-time-i-finished-a-game/

NOTES
=====
* Yes, all the levels are solvable. The game is thoroughly tested.
* Original jam submission is included in 'Windows (version 3)'.
* Audio is not in judging categories.
* Updates after deadline:
-- Update1: Fixed a level where one piece was missing.
-- Update2: Ported to web.
-- Update3: Submitted two bug fixes.
-- Update4: Added background audio and exposed one extra level.
-- Update5: Fixed ending.
-- Update6: Compressed audio.
-- Update7: Added WASD controls.
-- Update8: Fixed door bug.
-- Update9: Made jumping more responsive.
* To cheat press <END>+<PAGE-DOWN>. Please don't :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#191Mood(Jam)3.53
#229Fun(Jam)3.45
#239Overall(Jam)3.56
#391Theme(Jam)3.53
#610Graphics(Jam)3.10

Comments

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:42am

Nice game! Graphics are very cohesive.


It was easy to get stuck under a closing door....

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:53pm

Cool Graphics! I like the level design also

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:10pm

Using light as as weapon is cool! There's a bit of a delay between pressing the jump button and the character actually jumping -- if this felt tighter, it would be more satisfying to do the platforming puzzles. Nice work!

Shimone says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:49pm

This game was a little surprise! I didn't expect it to be so much entertaining. Very well done!

Sounds (even very simple ones) would be welcome, but the level design compensates for the lack of them.

terpin says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:08am

Shit I'm giving this 5 stars all around. I like that you used light as the weapon, and I love how it's all a lot more difficult than it looks (probably because of the delay in controls). No matter, I love this shit, great job!

richiebranson says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:12am

very solid! Love the way it teaches you new game mechanics as the levels progress.

solarexplorer says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:13am

well done, i had trouble timing the buttons because the controls were a little imprecise

Blobo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:24am

Amazing! very challenging at times, but that just added to the feel of success.

Shugor says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:31am

This was a very fun and challenging game! I really liked the different ways you used the mirrors and circuits, and the difficulty curve was very well made. The story told throughout the game is nice as well, it gives even more of a motivation to continue playing. If I had a complaint, it would just be that jumping feels a bit unresponsive; it may have been intentional to force the player to think about their timing more, but it can be a bit frustrating at times. Overall, this is an excellent game~

Smirnov48 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:32am

Nice game. Good graphics. But easy to stuck.

ThirdMoon says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:46am

Good game! Quite good responsive & Funny!

nopogo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:57pm

Found the delays in the switches to be a cool mechanic. Good ramping up of puzzle difficulty. And I really liked the mood and the simplicity off it all

Dynad says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:03pm

Simplistic graphics but cool, puzzles are fun... some of them is timing not easy... just need some luck ^^

MaesK says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:05pm

Great mechanics! Puzzles are great, and the ambiance and mood are quite good as well. The delay between buttons and wires were excellent. Nice one!

TeamCalcium says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:23am

Interesting style, solid entry!
Is level 4 really possible?

DeadFragment says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:27am

A great game, love how the buttons work so that you have to get the timing right, really satisfying when you get it all right. Nice art style also!

-Neith

ajopart says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:04pm

Great game ! Congrats

Arche-san says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:49pm

Nice way to use light as a weapon. I love the delay based level design. :)

Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:32pm

Excellent sense of atmosphere in this one, the ambient sound does a lot to help it, though the simple pixel art carries a certain mood as well. Interesting timing puzzle mechanics.

Bashabookoos says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:48pm

Love the graphics and sounds cape, Puzzles needed a bit more to keep me interested.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:43pm

This one is a very strange game but the atmosphere is really interesting and I like to solve riddles ^^.

Tanser says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:45pm

Amazing! I love it :)

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:47pm

Great concept, fantastic execution. Great job!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:48pm

On my machine all the edges of the wall tiles flicker pretty irritating.
Other then that it is a cool game, I like the delayed switch puzzels.

Good job :)

crockid5 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:15pm

Very Good :)

runvs says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:31pm

Challenging puzzles.

Nice game!

Dejvo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:34pm

fantastic game! first LD game that i actually would play awesome!

hmightypirate says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:36pm

Really entertaining! The puzzles are simply top-notch!

CScribes says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:07pm

Loved it all around! Especially the music and light as a weapon :)

Split82 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:33pm

Hard as hell and awesome! :)

Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:28am

Phenomenal gameplay! Puzzles were very well designed. Near the end of the game, things got laggier and laggier, and sound was really crackly. You might have a bug somewhere that is lagging things, maybe. But beyond that, great work!

SledKnight says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:41am

Most balanced game yet. Well done. I made it all the way through. Longer game than I expected. Nice!

Embalaje says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:57am

Brilliant gamedesign. Graphics are simple but really clever, you even tought on the feeling of the jump.
Excelent atmosphere, gorgeous game.

benjamck says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:05pm

Brilliant little game here. From the gameplay tutorial to the simple mechanics that create some fairly complex puzzles. I could see this one making a fun little time-killer on mobile devices.

flummox3d says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:10pm

I love the wibbly-wobbly graphics style and the little sigh before entering a door. :) Nice work :)

MSiddeek says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:03pm

@flummox3d Dude! I've been waiting for this comment for so long :D Yes, that's a sigh. THANK YOU!!! :D

siryakko says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:36am

Nice concept, music and graphics, just the control a bit tricky on the jump.

SiENcE says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:40am

Superb design! I read your post mortem and it's basically the same what I think about LD game making. The games details are also nice. You have to watch closely to notice all the details. You put a lot of work into it. I love puzzles.

BraindeadGeo says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:46am

Really nice game, well thought out and satisfying puzzles with a cohesive art design! I like.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:48am

Epic puzzle design, they really made me think and most took about 8 tries to complete.
i think this is a quality of a good game is it took time to solve each one, good job.

Mantlair says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:00am

It is cool. Couldnt finish the game but levels are really cool!

Robber says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:45pm

the mood set by the graphics and sound is so good, love that big sound, the gameplay is smart and addictive..jumping felt a little bit clunky to me, but otherwise a top entry!

Photon says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:12pm

Very good puzzle game! Unfortunately the audio appeared to go awry at some point. The SFX are also kind of hard to hear over the music (when it was playing, at least.) But otherwise, there were some really creative mechanics in there as well as some head scratchers. Excellent!

AdricZero says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:25pm

Like the idea, implemented very well.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:36pm

Nice original mechanics. Some of the levels are really hard - well designed. The jumping is a little hard to get right - if you're still holding jump when you land, he jumps again.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:01pm

Definitely a challenging timing-based puzzle platformer, although sometimes I felt it was too focused on the timed-platforming and not enough on the puzzle-solving. The graphical style fit the game nicely, although the twitching walls started to give me a headache near the end. Congrats on making a solid and complete game!

stvr says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:52pm

I liked this a lot! The idea of sending signals to eventually open doors was cool. Unfortunately if you messed up you had to completely restart, which is a bit sad.

ohsqueezy says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:24pm

I got to the room with the square waves around the border of the room and gave it my best. Great execution of a great concept. Some of the puzzles feel like they are too difficult and experimental for me, though they would fit well as extras. I like the delayed jumping and dragon sprite style.

ehtd says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:38pm

Controls are a bit off. Good game overall.

SpringCabal says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:38am

Frustrating level of difficulty, but that's OK. Graphics could be better though.

strega says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:56am

Cool game, I got as far as I could, but the timing puzzles were killing me, sometimes the jump button didn't see like it was responding!

MattTyson says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:31pm

Very interesting puzzle game. The level design is also pretty good.

Even the music is decent for a ludum dare entry.

Well done.

Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:18pm

A very nicely done puzzle game. Like it!

Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:23pm

Got to the level with the text "When it isn't simple, I may go back and fourth" after a while I started to lose interest in the puzzles. My approach to them remained the same throughout and I was surprisingly never punished for it.

The approach being a very brute force tactics of jumping on the buttons and flipping the lights on, and rotating things as much as possible until I could squeeze my way to the exit. When jumping on everything failed I could normally resort to just mashing one button enough until things worked.

I mean, I'm not bad a puzzle games or anything. I just found that method actually worked... so even though I know I should have sat and thought about it... just jumping on things until it worked was such an easier method of progression haha.

So the puzzles are a little weak in the challenge department (I know how hard it can be to make good puzzles). But I really enjoyed the overall atmosphere and mood you had going on. Visually it's all rather simple but it works really well. The ambient music playing in the background helps add quite a bit to it. Did you make the music or did you find it somewhere?

I also noticed the jumping felt like it had a bit of a delay to it or something. I see that you say in update 9 that it's more responsive, but it still seems to hang for a second before performing the action.

Looking at it more... it only happens when moving the character and jumping at the same time. And I don't perceive the delay when I'm walking against a wall and jumping. I think you may be accidentally moving the character back one frame or something when doing the jumping animation. Like, saving the character's position pre-jump, moving the character a bit, then reverting it to the old position and doing the jump.

Anyway, nice job with the atmosphere and whatnot. And you've got some nice standard puzzle mechanics here with the mirrors and light thing going on. I think in the future try to take some time out to make the puzzles less susceptible to brute force methods.

Oh, and there was a puzzlescript game that had a mirror mechanic I enjoyed a while ago you might be interested in:
http://www.draknek.org/games/puzzlescript/mirrors.php

burlapjack says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 2:06am

I did a YouTube play-through of your game! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sreMsUPFQ-U

MSiddeek says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 12:46pm

@burlapjack Thank you so much man! Appreciated :)

Awpteamoose says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 1:20pm

Great entry, i need more levels :)

recursor says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 2:32pm

This has some atmosphere and the music is a large part of it but I'd like to be able to turn the music volume down a bit as it is a tad loud for my tastes. There is a nice simplicity to the game that makes it easy to start playing, yet enjoyable enough to keep on going. Nice job

Anshul Goyal says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 5:40pm

quite intriguing and challenging! Love the way the puzzles work, I find it very original.

Nomys_Tempar says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 7:05pm

Great and challenging !

f7f5 says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 8:00pm

Great mood! At first I wasn't convinced by the mechanics, but then I just couldn't stop playing :-P

Javabot says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 9:12pm

awesome game! Love the mechanics!

DKoding says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 10:10pm

Good game.

tmpxyz says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 5:03am

The circuit and switch works quite good. like it.

renatopp says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 9:12pm

The graphics are cool, but I think it could be better if background had less movement. The levels are a bit hard, but it was cool. Congratulations on your game.

joe40001 says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 4:50am

Ran a lot smoother on windows than on web, but I got stuck in a door in a later level (which didn't seem finished but that might have been update1).

Nice puzzle design, pleasant simple game, needed a bit more polish.

Madball says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 10:51am

Wow, great level design there! I respect puzzle games which have simple mechanics but difficult levels. I liked that the text above gives me concealed hints sometimes.

Controls are quite weird, especially colliding with closing doors. And jumping takes some time to get used to.

The mood is great, and I liked those strange wall tiles. Completed the game, but didn't find an extra level you mentioned. I guess I wasn't looking careful enough.

May 6, 2015 @ 11:10am

That felt remarkably finished for a jam game! Well done! I really enjoyed the puzzles as well, taxing in a nice way.

01101101 says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 12:57pm

Great Puzzle .. interessting mechanics !!!

May 6, 2015 @ 2:43pm

Simple mechanic that turns into a really fun series of puzzles. I like the level by level narration for the story...and it directly addresses the theme! Great job!

Teesquared says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 7:21pm

A little light on the visuals but a very fun, innovative, and challenging game. There's no match for Light.

Druid says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 9:22pm

Pretty cool game! Interesting game mechanics too. Really solid entry !

OadT says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 9:49am

Great Idea and good levels, but the controls doesn't feel completely right. Anyway cool game!

MSiddeek says ...
May 3, 2017 @ 4:08am

For future reference, I got 75 comments on this game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]