Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

The Crazy World of Cotton Candy

by Mateus Culpo - Jam Entry

First time in LD32

This is a game for you who likes to spend anger.
Developed by:
"Mateus Culpo" Programmer
"Rafael Bozola" Game Design

Developed in Unity3D

Platform game that mixes horror

Controllers :

"A" and "D" - move player
"Space" - jump player
"left mouse button" - Attack (ground/ air)


Thanks for playing

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#573Audio(Jam)2.54
#640Humor(Jam)2.60
#648Mood(Jam)2.88
#760Fun(Jam)2.69
#881Overall(Jam)2.76

Comments

Iak says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:05pm

There are so many things wrong with this game... By far the most creepy entry I have seen so far.

Mateus Culpo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:41am

Thanks for playing =D At the end we realized that we really did very terrifying

MamuteTeam says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:46am

Interesting game. Very disturbing but somehow you can laugh of it, congratulations!

mockthebear says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:50am

The coltrols are kinda "slow". I dont know, some times they dont respond correctly?
but that game was the creepies so far! 4/5

Mateus Culpo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:07am

Really control of the game is in trouble, especially in jump.
Thanks for rating

muromets says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:29am

Well... it sure is creepy, and the controls feel a bit off, as if they wherent responding well at times. I will have nightmares :D

Hammer Games says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:06am

Interesting game.

Br_uno says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:03pm

A movimentação imprecisa da muita raiva hahaha
Eu sei que é complicado o 2d no unity pra esse quesito, mas tipo, o jogo é de certa forma um super meat boy, já era pra você morrer pra caramba, com essa falha da muita raiva mesmo, teve um ponto que eu n consegui passar pq era impossivel pra mim.
Parece que você usou uma função pra dar os translates, fica a dica, joga dentro do update mesmo.

Mateus Culpo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:35pm

Vlw pela dica, esse codigo foi um que eu ja tinha feito de movimentação suando o proprio Rigidbody2D, quando eu tava no Ludum Dare agora, nem mexi nele só implementei os ataques no personagem e mudei a sprite, fiquei mais focado em fazer as outras coisas que ainda não deu pra terminar ... mas vou concertar a movimentação deste personagem realmente está muito imprecisa ... vc corre e para mais pra frente do que o esperado fora o pulo que tem hora que da umas agarradas!. Mas obrigado por ter jogado =D

randoman says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:10pm

Attack and jump buttons do not respond sometimes. I spent a couple minutes in the first jump because of it :(
Game is really creepy but could be a good platformer if the controls are improved.

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:10am

Should be called "The Creepy World of Cotton Candy" >). This one can't get any more unconventional, using cotton to hit enemies is really different. Control is a bit hard, though.

Shivur says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 5:04am

The jump is hard to control

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]