Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Bunny Plane Massacre

by inappropriatebeeguin - Jam Entry

The bunnies are coming!
You are tasked with defending your carrot patches, using your trusty biplane.
Armed with an assortment of random farm object and your plane itself, you will bring a bloody massacre upon them!

The game allows you to use either keyboard or joypad controls.


We hope you'll enjoy our game.


(Linux and Mac version are untested)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#31Graphics(Jam)4.56
#37Overall(Jam)4.00
#48Fun(Jam)3.91
#161Humor(Jam)3.57
#222Mood(Jam)3.48
#263Audio(Jam)3.31
#474Innovation(Jam)3.15
#577Theme(Jam)3.28
#1347Coolness48%

Comments

Newt_ says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:59pm

Few sounds are as satisfying as that of a group of bunnies being obliterated. Top marks.

haveric says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:10am

Fun gameplay, but could probably use more variance or to start out with smaller fields of bunnies and add a few levels/challenges to it. It took a while to kill all of them, but I somehow only crashed one plane!

uvwar says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:40am

A little difficult to control with mouse and keyboard, but overall really solid,fun game!

Lo-X says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:48am

That game is just excellent. You want to relax after work? Just go smash rabbits with fridges and stuff. At first the plane control is a bit tricky, but you fastly get used to it. I would have make the aiming harder, like having to anticipate the plane speed, but the game would have been much much more difficult... Good job!

Bananaft says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:20pm

For the record: I've beaten it.

pss says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:48pm

Lots of fun to control the plane. Feels different from this viewport, but I really like it!

SpringCabal says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:14am

Hard to control the plane, otherwise good fun.

Liam :D says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:45pm

I am going to agree with "Few sounds are as satisfying as that of a group of bunnies being obliterated." :D

mortus says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:10pm

Nice idea and an original approach to controlling a plane, I don't think I've seen an isometric airplane simulator before. Lots of fun overall, great work!

kristof says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:36pm

Someone seriously hates bunnies... :D Awesome idea. And also very cool graphics. I ended up using only the Q and E key to move and kept the plane on the same hight. Trying the other ways to move always ended in a crash :D
Nice work!

rmc says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:45pm

Just amazing!!!

love the gameplay, really refreshing and interesting!

and of course, killing some bunnies, that my friend, is priceless!

hadesfury says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:04pm

Cooool !
That was fun, although the controls are a bit awkward and hard to get used to.
Have you tried to put the camera behind the plane just for fun ? It would be harder to see the bunnies but...

thomz12 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:45pm

Controlls good on a controller. Nice graphics and sound fx! Took a while to master the controlls tho.

Acrimiens says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:55pm

Game is just excellent ^^.

Foxarya says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:30pm

Funny but difficult to control the plane.

myachin says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:58pm

Great!
Thank you!

Kardamom says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:28pm

Very professional, didn't expect this level of quality. I think I most missed small things that would support the theme: a jolly music applauding you for bunny kills, a slightly less conventional explosion... Also a tighter height limit, faster flight and shorter bomb cooldown could probably help me get better pacing. Some form of wave mechanism / levels would help obviously but I understand those take time to make...

Kudos for letting me kill the bunnies with the plane directly!

xhunterko says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:41pm

Maybe I'm a stickler for controls, but eh. Not bad!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 1:51am

extremely fun - well executed - fantastic game!

Apr 29, 2015 @ 2:34am

Really liked the graphics, it was fun controlling the plane, the camera angle was a little strange for a flying game.

Urbanbg says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 5:39am

I thought the controls were a little hard to handle at first but the sound effects and graphics were top notch. I thought this was a really high quality game. One of the most professional ones I've seen.

Apr 29, 2015 @ 5:57am

oh that squishing sound! i just used q and e to steer, otherwise i would have crashed. it was quite fun to do arial trick tho. the graphics are quite impressive for 72 hours.

Ithildin says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 9:20pm

After playing GTA these days, the plane controls felt very familiar :D

Graphics were great and the sounds were effective. As much as I love bunnies, I have to say that I really enjoyed the game. Congrats!

renatopp says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 9:46pm

The game is great, congratulations for that. My only complaint is about the controls, I really hate how the plane movement work, even with the gamepad. Anyway, it is a great entry.

Boberro says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 10:13pm

Great game. Could get some rebalancing, but it was made in a weekend :)
I for once liked the controls - it makes piloting non-routine.

jk5000 says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 9:51am

A nice game with a good humor. Change control, please.

bvanschooten says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 4:32pm

Wow, that looks awesome! I enjoyed the game, although mastering the controls is the game's biggest challenge.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]