Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

ChromaGun

by lochmann-apps - Jam Entry

The unexpected weapon in ChromaGun is color!

Your ChromaGun fires in one of 3 available colors:
- red
- yellow
- blue

You can shoot at objects like walls or enemys and colorize them.
Colorizing a yellow wall blue leads to a green wall.

Red opponents are attracted by red walls, yellow opponents by yellow walls and so on.

When the emeny blobs fall into pits, you're able to walk over the pit.

Special feature:
Online level editor!
Build own levels and directly test them inGame:
http://chromagunapi.lochmann-apps.de/levels

Follow us on twitter:
https://twitter.com/pixel_maniacs

Steam Version:
http://store.steampowered.com/app/408650

Good luck to all participants, we had a great time building games with you guys!
Your Hydra Apps-Team

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#122Theme(Jam)3.93
#131Innovation(Jam)3.73
#346Overall(Jam)3.41
#482Graphics(Jam)3.36
#511Audio(Jam)2.77
#575Mood(Jam)2.98
#580Fun(Jam)2.96
#646Humor(Jam)2.59

Comments

Ilseroth says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:30am

An interesting concept with some strange gameplay; also COLOR IS MIGHTIER THEN THE SWORD.

Gipzo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:31am

Pretty-looking game. Took me a while to get how to play, though.
And sometimes enemies stuck in doors and i can't pass through...

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:31am

Pretty solid. Like the lava effects!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:41am

That burbling blob enemy is super neat and terrifying. This is really well done and fulfills the theme very nicely. I feel this deserves more attention!

ChaosRound says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:43am

i love this game... very good job

TeamCalcium says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:28pm

A very interesting concept. Controls are fine although it would be good to see which color is currently selected. What you should really improve is the beginning of the game. It would be a lot better to have ingame instructions which teach you how to play the game and not get overwhelmed by the different gameplay mechanics.

lochmann-apps says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:39pm

@TeamCalcium:
Thanks for your feedback! Yeah, the beginning and the instructions are really missing, you'r right.
You can see which color is currently selected in the weapon-model, but I guess this isn't obvious enough.

DarkwindMedia says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:20pm

I had trouble quitting the game. Escape didn't seem to do it. Would be good to add that in there quickly. Also the shooting seemed a bit unresponsive (it seemed like paint didn't always come out). Not bad though, and a nice puzzle idea.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:21pm

Cool concept!

OrkyOrks says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:26pm

A perfect score from me. Awesome design and color mechanic. I HIGHLY recommend you continue with this.

AinoraZ says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:27pm

Like the concept itself, but didn't particularly enjoy them game :/. Also, there should have been more then one phrase then colors mightier then the sword. Get's pretty old pretty fast. Other then that, the game is quite good. Going to give a good rating

nonetheless says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:45pm

Bloody amazing idea. Please keep working on this :)

kunzbe says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:24pm

pro: nice puzzles. con: this damn voice at the beginning of the level was annoying after a while

kunzbe says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:41pm

hi lochmann. thanks for your feedback too :) you're totally right, the most important thing is, that it's selfmade. I'm looking forward for your LD 33 game :)

yuigoto says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:14am

Nice approach on an FPS-like genre, making a puzzle! :) And, the fact that you could even build a level editor for the game is REALLY a plus.

The graphics (enemies, models, level texturing) and sound fit well together with the concept of the game, which I think goes really more into the abstract-side of games.

More styles for the stages and a little bit of a change on the "colour is mightier than the sword" thing would make it even nicer, though, but the overall experience on the concept you've build is awesome already. :D

edve98 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:17pm

I did not find any way to quit the game, so had to switch to other workspace and kill the process. Also, the voice at the beginning of a level is kind of annoying.

Shivur says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:41pm

Good game!

smokecastles says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:42pm

Interesting mechanic and adequate graphics! That futuristic "paintball gun" is really nice. But what I'm really impressed with is that online level editor, splendid idea. I encourage you to keep working on this!

Matt Tuttle says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:32am

Fun puzzle game! Took me a little while to get the hang of it at first plus you challenged my color mixing skills. :D

The bubbling color fountains worked well in that I wanted to stay far away from them. I'd love to play an updated version of this game if you continue working on it!

Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:14am

The game is really cool fits the theme, and has a really unique mechanic, my only critisicem is the controlls, as it would be nicer to fire each color with one of the 3 mouse buttons.

Tuism says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:33am

Superb! Love the presentation, the blob enemies look amazing, the environment effects and stuff are pretty great. The controls are pretty good, I can't think of a better system than what you have for the colours :)

Sometimes it gets a bit too dark to see, I think you could have brightened things a lot more. Maybe it's got to do with the filters you slapped on. (Aberration is awesome in free unity I agree :P)

The way the blobs moved slowly then charged super fast when it moved into a hole was weird.

ARRGH WHY IS THE MOUSE NOT LOCKED TO THE GAME

How do the blobs actually move towards colours? It seems like there's a weighted system of it finding an average spot between all walls of the colour it's attracted to? It's not very intuitive, and caused them to just plain get stuck, while you have to go paint them and some other wall another colour to get them moving - which I understand is part of the puzzle, but seems lanky and inelegant, as you'll end up spamming all the walls. And then they eventually all turn black, and that sucks.

Awpteamoose says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:41pm

I dunno, I'd like to see how far can this mechanic be taken.

PushmePullyu says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:09pm

Made me flashback to mixing every color of clay into one big brown glob. Good game!

dyfer says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:09pm

Interesting I got the concept but was never able to switch color on my gun... (web version from a mac)

Xanjos says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:23am

Absolutely love the concept. Probably one of the best takes on the theme so far plus I like the fact that you actually went out there and made an online editor for people to share their own levels. Also, that song that plays in the credits screen is amazing ;D

joe40001 says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 4:34pm

I beat your game. Interesting all around. Chrome and Unity don't play well together but I got over that. It is a good/inventive puzzler some of the hitboxes on the paint globs are wonky but it was still a fun well made game. :)

HotBoxGames says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 3:15pm

Nice entry! Feels complete and polished. Really like that you added community levels. COLOR IS MIGHTIER THAN THE SWORD!

rogueNoodle says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Great puzzle concept! Also, bonus points for including a level editor :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]