Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Gravity-Gun

by pianoman373 - Compo Entry

Gravity-Gun A game where you survive with only a gravity-gun to hurt enemies.

Controls: Click any block or enemy to pick them up with your Grav-Gun, Right click while holding a block or enemy to throw it, Left click while holding a block or enemy to drop it.

Object: To survive as long as possible. Dropping or throwing blocks is the only way to hurt enemies.

note: Sometimes the game loads blank. Just keep loading and it will work.

known bugs: The clicking event can be kind of unreliable, I cant find any way to fix this, i think it's java's event system. Some people have had crashes when it runs... Just make sure you have java 8.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#749Innovation2.81
#849Theme2.94
#901Graphics2.44
#937Overall2.71
#1044Fun2.19
#2054Coolness28%

Comments

WhiteVoidia says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:55am

I am on Windows 7 and when I run the .jar I get an error "A Java Exception has occurred"

Also, the Web link points to the same as the downloadable ones, when it should instead point to a web page where the game is embedded.

Hopefully I'll be able to play it soon!

Fanttum says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:10am

Yo, check your web link man.

Jordan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:23am

Hmm, when I try to launch the jar on Linux, I get this error:

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: com/pianoman/Main : Unsupported major.minor version 52.0

Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:24am

Very glitchy, sometimes the gun would work and sometimes it wouldn't. Movement seemed jittery. Not sure what the point was, I could sometimes pick enemies up and throw them but then what? No goal or end in sight.

rantt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:26am

Fun game, got pretty tense quickly. I like that you can teleport the enemies. I kinda wished I could kill them by dropping them, instead I just tried trapping them in the ground and that seamed to work. Cool, idea, I liked it :)

stoarch says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:14am

In game tutorial will be good. And you're not dropping, but hurling items to enemies. Landscape is hard to navigate and enemies spawn too close.

RyanNielson says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:18pm

This could be fleshed out to be an interesting horde mode style game I think with a bit of work on the controls and the gravity gun machanics. Perhaps fewer holes in the terrain would make it a bit less frustrating to move around.

I'd also recommend you make the enemy hitboxes a bit larger so you don't have to be as accurate with your clicks.

lanza says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:33pm

I have tried to run it in a PC and a mac, but neither did it, both have a gray background with nothing in it. Too bad, the idea for the game is really good.

PeerPlay says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:27pm

Game didn't work.

pianoman373 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:58pm

Everyone who is having problems should make sure that they have java 8, and make sure you have the resources folder right next to the .jar file or else it can't load the images.

If the game runs blank, just resize it a bit and it will load.

Also the clicking problem is some error with Java's click event system. Sometimes the event just doesn't fire, I have no idea how to fix it so i just had to live with it, sorry about the bugs everyone.

frokes says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:25pm

nice idea with a lot of possiblilties. In my eyes the game window itself is way too small, it's like I'm controlling ants. The problem with the clicking event is really anoying. Overall a nice idea.

jgritty says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:12pm

Sometimes I jump like twice my height, sometimes like 4 times, sometimes all the way to the top of the screen. I got to 600 points and the aliens stopped spawning. Maybe I ran too far to the right. Seems like an OK idea, but it's rather unplayable.

Kalman90Grape says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:03am

Interesting idea. As the others have said, the click bug does tend to mess it up a little, and for some reason I can randomly jump to the top of the screen. Besides that though, it's a pretty good idea. I could imagine this being a cool intro to a space game. You crash and have to survive for a while with just a gravity gun, until help arrives or you figure out what to do next.

DaniDK says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:24am

Nice concept. I love the idea, the game seems unresponsive I managed to kill one of the guys and felt super happy, but wasn't able to reproduce it

pianoman373 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:05pm

The problem with the jumping thing is lag-associated, it still thinks you are on the ground for a few ticks and makes you jump more than once. It rarely happened for me so I had no way of testing it for slower computers. It should be an easy bugfix i'll probablty have out soon.

Also anyone confused after defeating the first enemy: Spawn rates are determined by the difficulty, so if you're playing on easy there's a good chance you might be sitting around alone waiting for enemies to spawn. Also spawning occurs randomly so some games might be harder than others. Difficulty just increases the chances. So if you're bored and have nothing to do, move the difficulty up (by the way, You use the arrow keys to adjust the difficulty, i didn't have time for click events).

Red_Fan games says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 11:46pm

Neat, good concept but got an exeption.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]