Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Walkmask

by napoleon - Jam Entry

use the mouse + use headphones

made in 5 hours for ludum dare 32

note : if it seems to run out of the theme a little, please not that your only weapon here is your kindness. an unusual weapon indeed !

another note : if you dont figure out what the last person says, he says that he wants to go and he is already suffering here. he wants to go.

anyways, enjoy playing this short game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#442Mood(Jam)3.17
#450Graphics(Jam)3.42
#520Audio(Jam)2.74
#590Humor(Jam)2.69
#624Theme(Jam)3.21
#641Innovation(Jam)2.89
#926Overall(Jam)2.68
#942Fun(Jam)2.37
#1952Coolness32%

Comments

Caio Varalta says ...
Apr 18, 2015 @ 11:32pm

Interesting idea. But a very, VERY simple game. Congrats, btw :D

napoleon says ...
Apr 18, 2015 @ 11:35pm

thanks, caio varalta !

Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:37pm

Very strange and oddly atmospheric :)

Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:37pm

I love it haha! Art looks awesome and the voice work and effects are really cool! Too bad it isn't longer! :(

napoleon says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:36pm

Thank you !

nuprahtor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:04pm

Wow, that was strange!

napoleon says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:01pm

thank you nuprahtor !

Awpteamoose says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:39pm

I'd play a bigger game with this art style.

napoleon says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:22pm

Oh yeah ?

lody says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:03am

scarycute! i like it :B

napoleon says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:46pm

2spooky eh

goblin says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:56pm

i dont understand concep, sorry. :(
visit my game: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

napoleon says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:58pm

:(

Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:21pm

I liked the adorable art but it is extremely simple. Also the voices sound creepy.

LeoM says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:24pm

Weard but nice. ^^
To short.

napoleon says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:13am

Thanks.

SledKnight says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 1:52am

Interesting. Very short. Bad audio at the end. I liked the mood set with the graphics.

napoleon says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 9:10pm

thanks the audio thing was intentional

May 4, 2015 @ 2:05pm

Wow, I almost died of scare with the voice on the last one!

I really like experimental games, the childish voices and art made quite an impression! Are those your children? :)

napoleon says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 10:30pm

No, I don' t have kids ! That' s just my regular, teenager voice squeaked out to a point that it becomes childish ! Thanks ! Yeah, the art is intentionally childish.

panurge says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 5:07pm

Lovely aesthetic and a really neat concept.

I'd have liked some little bit of feedback when touching a character with a gift to make it clear that the act of giving was what moved the scene on as I didn't realise this at first.

Thoughtful and idiosyncratic - I like!

napoleon says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 6:24pm

Hello panurge !
Thanks for the kind feedback, much appreciated. The game has a much deeper meaning than giving. The whole explanation of this game can be read here : http://gamejolt.com/games/walkmask/news/the-meaning-of-this-game/54373/

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]