Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Chroma Watcher

by Drauthius - Jam Entry

= Game =

Chroma Watcher is a game about neutralizing a radioactive threat with a special-purpose gun. The aim is to match colours while trying to stay alive.

*WARNING* The game is very hard until you've memorized the jump distance, and the location and combination of colours, so don't give up too early! :)

= Tips =

1. If you have time, try the game as it's meant to be played. You will die a lot at the beginning, but after a while it will get easier. If you don't have a lot of time, keep reading.
2. Jumping needs to be timed quite carefully, since the snail doesn't float a lot. Every jump is possible, it just has to be pretty late and not early. Also, when falling from a high cliff, DON'T jump. The randomiser will only generate one hole and then a platform, so just trust the randomiser and free-fall to safety.
3. Don't like jumping? That's fine! Just try to get to a "step" going upwards and get stuck there and focus on shooting and getting the colours right. There is (currently) no penalty or repercussion of doing this.

Most of all, we want to thank you for playing our game, and hope you enjoy it. :)

= Background =

My girlfriend and I made this game together, and like many others, this is our first Ludum Dare. We had a bit of a problem thinking of a good game to match the theme, since we didn't want to do anything overly violent. This is the result.

= Tools =
Code: Lua & LÖVE 0.9.1
Graphics: Adobe Photoshop

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#282Innovation(Jam)3.46
#443Theme(Jam)3.45
#514Graphics(Jam)3.31
#574Overall(Jam)3.15
#590Humor(Jam)2.69
#627Mood(Jam)2.91
#661Fun(Jam)2.83

Comments

frosty says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:55am

Neat concept. I like the snail design and the colorful death explosion. =) It's pretty unforgiving, though... I don't think I lasted more than a few seconds at a time. Congrats on finishing!

thecord says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:44am

Cool game, but extremely hard

manabreak says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Congrats on your first LD game, both of you! A nice concept and neat graphics, but really difficult to play. :p

Glitchy Pixel says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:19pm

Its really cool, I liked it :). But its very difficult to play.

Having to think in platforming, forming colors and shooting, all at the same time is really complex.

Maybe getting rid of one of the mechanis would help out a lot (I think maybe the platforming might not be necessary).

Nice game though, cheers!

Drauthius says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:33pm

Thanks for the feedback! I have a really big problem balancing games, especially after I've played it a few hundred times trying to get it to feel and look right - I could probably play it in my sleep by now. I should probably get some more play testers before submitting next time. :) Also, it doesn't help that I like games with a high "skill cap". Not very suitable for LD when people only have a few minutes for each game.

boateye says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:10pm

not sure why, but when i tried jumping, my character flew off the top of the screen and never came back down. I couldn't play the game because of it.

nihilaleph says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:46pm

Very cool game! I loved the art and the concept!
Like everyone else, the game feels very difficult xp I die by jumping wrong even when there is nothing to shoot at.... maybe I just suck at it kkkk
Congrats!

wilsk says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:13pm

Wow... fun but as others say quite hard!

plams says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:48pm

It's really hard and confusing to begin with, but then you get the hang of it and it gets really fun. Nice touch that it saves your highscore :) 213 points is the best I could do.

commodoreKid says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:08pm

It's a good mechanic but too damn hard :D I would have to play quite long to get used to the combinations. You can get over this by making it only primary colors at the beginning and gradually increasing the difficulty.

Drauthius says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:19pm

It takes a while to get used to the jump distance and timing, and thinking about a colour and jumping at the same time is the kind of challenge I liked to include! :) Good suggestion to build up the colour variation gradually, though!

boateye: never seen that happen. Shouldn't be possible, unless your computer experiences a serious lag spike at the exact time of the jump!

Fabraz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:24pm

Wowza. the difficulty seems unbalanced here. Cool concept!

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:42pm

Woah that's hard. Just how I like it! XD

Good job, looks great.

lochmann-apps says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:15pm

Nice Idea!
It is just a liitle bit to hard to handle jump and shoot both with the mouse and at the same time choosing the correct colors for all the elements flying around.

jk5000 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:45pm

Simplify the concept and you'll have a great game. But still great idea.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:07pm

I just wanted to let you know that your game made it into my list of top 10 games for LD32!

https://love2d.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=80063&p=183180#p183180

Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:36pm

The color combination weapon is a lovely mechanic.
I think it would work well with the xbox controller and the 4 color buttons.
about the difficulty....I think its almost impossible to combine the colors, shoot and jump at the same time.
I made so little points that I wanted to skip the: "enter your name" screen.
Nice little detail of having two scores already set, soplayers have a target to defeat.

terpin says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:53pm

Love this game, but you might want to add a tutorial level to help people figure out what they should be doing - and maybe grade the difficulty on a slope (seriously, this is one of the hardest LD games I've played today. good going!)

rjhelms says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:57pm

I really like the idea here, and the sound and graphics are great - but it's just a bit too much to juggle at once, for me at least.

The biggest challenge for me is that the timing for the jumps is really unforgiving. If the jumps were a bit more "floaty" it would feel a lot easier.

All in all, great job. This is one of the more innovative games I've seen so far this LD.

Drauthius says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:19pm

Thanks Windmill for including us. I'll give the other games there a try. I think your Valo/Varjo game should definitely be on that list though. :)

The difficulty is "sloped" a bit, but it does start too high, and the jump is a bit hard to get right, especially on the lower speeds. I do want to change this since everyone is having the same problems, but it's not really a bug, so I'll add a disclaimer, to warn those that are not prepared. :)

rzfmzn says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:54pm

snail!!! :P
nice work :D

KaiseanGames says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:07am

The concept is great, I just think you should've focused more on the color than the platforms. I was almost completely unable to mind both the colors and avoiding holes in the ground. It was too difficult for me.

But, anyway, it's a great entry. I used color as an unconventional weapon too, you might wanna check it out and tell me what you think :)

http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44370

igoramendola says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:25am

Yeah, at the beginning is a little bit hard. As designer, one of the hardest things was make my brain to accept that red plus green is yellow haha xD But after a while I get used to the colour combinations and the controls. By best high score is 271, so far.
I don't mind if a game is hard, I do like challenges hehe. I think it's a very nice entry with an interesting gameplay concept, also a great first participation. Congrats to you both! :D

Embalaje says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:36am

Very nice concept, and graphs!
Like I read, it´s really difficult to play, it could help to take off the gaps of the floor, so you can focus only on the colour and the enemies.
The idea is really original and I think it´s an awesome mechanic to have a hand full of colours to pick against the enemies.
Nice job!

Drauthius says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:51pm

I added a Tips section which might help out a few people. :)

josefnpat says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:50am

Solid mechanics, and the gameplay felt smooth! Perhaps it would be nice to have multiple levels to ease the player into the difficulty! Nice job! Love the top-score screen feature as well!

Os_Reboot says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 4:35am

Great job! The difficulty was a little intense, it would have been better with slightly less targets. Sometimes the jumps spawn far apart, and it is tough to focus on both shooting and jumping. I love the sound and graphics! This game had a mood like no other!

TyrusPeace says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 4:56am

Excellent music choice!

I was _very_ intimidated by the title screen, but the gameplay wasn't all that complicated, and I had a good time. Cool idea! The jump was pretty brutally short, though. The game may have been more pleasing if the jumps were less tough. Then the player could concentrate on your cool color mechanics!

Arche-san says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 11:12am

I love the concept! It's a bit hard at the beginning to focus on mixing up colors and move with the snail at the same time.

We've got the same idea to mix up colors as a weapon but with different gameplay (this is the "magic of Ludum Dare"). Good work! :)

Justin Mullin says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 7:46pm

Very neat game - as seems to be consensus, it's extremely difficult, but fun to play. I think I prefer the color matching and shooting to the jumping game, but it's a unique challenge to try to do both at once.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]