Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Hazardisc

by JerryLeeLodbrok - Compo Entry

Update: Gamepad or Keyboard / Mouse for Single Player, fixed bug with angles, aim, and dash mechanic!

Hazardisc is a Single-Screen Action/Fighting game with single player and two player local competitive modes. You can play with the Keyboard or Xinput Gamepads, no need to toggle between the two the game will recognize which input you are using.

In the future Disc Golf becomes the national past time, as rules and regulations evolved so have the tools. Now the Flying Disc uses a solid metal frame and doubles as a weapon, more commonly referred to as a Hazardisc. A once harmless recreational activity has now become one of the most exciting and brutal sports society has to offer!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness90%
#128Fun3.69
#137Audio3.52
#208Overall3.58
#228Graphics3.65
#352Mood3.17
#522Humor2.76
#725Innovation2.85
#933Theme2.75

Comments

mtanton says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:14am

Fun game. The controls were a bit awkward to manage. Good job all around!

rukai says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:24am

The bouncing mechanics look like a lot of fun, I'll have to try this with a P2 some time.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:52am

Thank you! It was definitely designed with a Gamepad in mind, when I got around to working on keyboard controls I had short time and a bunch of issues lol. I'm going to try to make a hotfix for keyboard + mouse aiming in Single Player at least.

ManicMiner says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:20am

yeah keyboard controls basically don't work (shoot and melee not responding) - but I killed a bunch of dudes by jumping on their heads, so that works. Cool game!

minnouu says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:31am

Pretty great, looks like it could be a lot of fun with 2 players. If I had one complaint, it would be that the targeting cross-hairs are really hard to see.

tomdeal says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:32am

Nice Game! Controls were fine using the controller. Graphics are cool, pacing is right and enough content for 48 hours, although a powerup would have been nice (or blocking the opponents disk with your own)

mike1101 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:34am

Wow, great music. Couldn't really figure out what to do ... The controls looked complicated !

Can imagine this must be good with two players.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:36am

I believe you can block their discs with your own, they are physics based.

iSamurai says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:13am

Nice game, the control feels good! But i found a best strategy during play when the enemy is re-spawned, i just wait at the lower right, and he will just move towards me, then i just shoot to kill him lol

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:55am

Nifty little arena shooter. Platforming controls a little odd, and the aiming indicator could be brighter, found it difficult to see where I was aiming. Good job though!

KedumeBits says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:20am

Nice game. I like the graphics too.

xirion11 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:16pm

Really fun

Fanttum says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:24am

Really nice idea here. Wish I could have fired while moving and the controls took some time to pick up. but fun to play for sure.

Xanderzoo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:17am

Because the AI is so easy to kill, it might be more fun if there were more enemies at once.

xbcw says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:21am

This was really fun.

GTA LUDUM V says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:40am

Pretty fun playing it~! I like the bouncing bullet mechanism, good job!

xplicitone says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:49pm

Pretty fun game!! Love the double jump and wall slide/jump, and the ability to hold. I wish you can shoot through the portal (end of the map you can walk through to get to the other side but other than that it's fun! Can't wait to try with 2 people :P

FrederickK says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:23am

Very fun and well made!
Congratz!! :)

NoxNode says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:59am

Nice game, I think the dashing should go towards where your going, not towards the mouse tho, because most of the time you're aiming toward the enemy, but don't want to dash toward him.

Acuity says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:46am

Jumping was a little awkward, but this was pretty neat.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:47am

Played this against my friend, was rather fun!

Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:43pm

I think I know what you mean with the dashing, I believe I patched that playa!

Urbanbg says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 5:34am

I liked the arena feel to the game and how you could wrap around the edges. However, I thought the jumping was a bit off. The bouncing ball mechanic was really neat though.

daredevildave says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 7:26am

Fun game. I only tried single player, but I can see two player would work well. Controls didn't feel quite fluid enough. Perhaps would be better if number of keys used was reduced.

scumbly says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 7:33am

Cool to find another 2 player 2D battler! You implemented a bunch of stuff that was on our wishlist (edge wrap on levels, AI, scoring) quite successfully.

Will Edwards says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 8:14am

Excellent! Technically a very strong entry. I suck at keys and mouse coordination. The AI played actually quite convincingly humanly.

Pietdagamer says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 1:09pm

Graphics are good, I like the audio aswell.

May 8, 2015 @ 2:48am

Thank you!

Team-KwaKwa says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 9:11pm

I really liked the mechanic of the bouncing exploding balls. I was several times stuck in the wall. Great music and background are psychedelic, maybe a bit distracting!

NAL says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 11:30am

A lot of fun in two-player, me and a mate had a blast! Cool concept as well :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]