Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Monkey Pop

by scumbly - Jam Entry

Monkey Pop is a competitive game for 2 players. A pair of monkeys -- subjects of brain-control-experiments -- have gotten loose in their dangerous laboratory.

Unconventional weapon: Picking up the remote controller allows you to mind-control the opposing monkey for a few precious seconds.

Red Monkey controls: [W] [A] [D] for himself, and [S] [Z] [C] when controlling Blue
Blue Monkey controls: [O] [K] [ ; ] for himself, and [ , ] [L] [ / ] when controlling Red
(Easter egg: [Spacebar] instantly pops both monkeys)

Due to time constraints and life events, gamepad support and a score tally were not functional before the deadline. A future version will add these important monkey features!

Game by Eran Haas
Concept, Characters, and Animation by Flash Deese
Other Assets by Jesse Holden
Thanks for playing our first ever Ludum Dare submission, our first ever Unity 2D project, and our first ever completed game!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#85Humor(Jam)3.81
#112Innovation(Jam)3.78
#120Theme(Jam)3.94
#199Fun(Jam)3.52
#239Overall(Jam)3.56
#331Graphics(Jam)3.67

Comments

felipeberquo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:12am

hahaha very fun to play this one! the best i've played until now

acronaut says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:16am

Quite useful as a benchmark game.

Hambone says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:19am

This is cool!

LogGiant says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:00am

One minute I was jumping around, the next minute the room was filled with monkey bits.

Buko-Studios says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:04am

very fun game. feel bad for the monkeys tho i always cringe when they get sawed! :D

Kahztein says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:18am

I'd love this as a mobile game

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:58am

Great fun!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:42pm

Not bad. Controls were a bit awkwardly placed, would have liked it if one player could be on the numpad and arrow keys so the other player can go full on the letters.

Deal With It says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:43pm

Ahahaahah! Very fun!

trappytrap92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:44pm

Really fun game, the controlls a little hard to remember and to use, but love this, good job!

trappytrap92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:44pm

Really fun game, the controls a little hard to remember and to use, but love this, good job!

kyyrma says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:44pm

Pretty amusing, but the controls are a bit complicated. Maybe it would have been simpler to just control the enemy monkey with your own movement keys when you pick up the remote?

TailyILoveYou says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:46pm

Fun little game, I love the art :P Controls are a tad confusing though.

adsilcott says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:59pm

Looks great, and probably a lot of fun with two players, I just gotta get someone to play it with me! :)

smbe19 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:04pm

I like how it says "New Unity Project 2" in the title :p

Null DIES says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:18pm

The game idea is amazing. I really liked it.
Awaiting for more games developed by you.

jordinuco says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:00pm

Cannot play it!! I have a 'Ñ' key in my SPANISH keyboard in the place of the blue monkey RIGHT control. Damnnnnn...

I suppose the developer knows this better than anybody else, but... please, everybody, just stop playing the way is meant to be and push fast&repeatedly the SPACE Bar. Ugggggg I´d like I could rate the game´s mood, cause is... disturbingly relaxing

43iscoding says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:19am

Insane idea, great implementation! Good job! :)

Pixel_Reaper says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:11pm

Great gore!

scumbly says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:25am

As the developer I can state that we fully endorse jordinuco's suggestion that you play by just whamming madly on the spacebar

That was like 99% of our playtesting

scumbly says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:26am

Also thanks for the awesome feedback everyone, we will link to a post-deadline version with bugfixes and updates from your feedback xoxo

Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:52pm

Since I'm a Billy No-Mates I didn't really get chance to test this properly, but the idea seems really fun.
PS. I, too, took great pleasure in mashing space bar constantly.

diegomachado says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 3:41pm

I wish this had some basic AI. Got no friend to play!
But I love the concept.

May 5, 2015 @ 9:25pm

Very fun, can't wait to play against my girlfriend! Seeing the dead bodies rolling is curiously satisfying. This deserves 5 stars! :)
The jumping is a little buggy, though: sometimes the monkey jumps twice with only one button press, therefore hitting the ceiling (and sometimes the chainsaws), and if the screen is too crowded with dead bodies, the monkey can't jump. I'd suggest adding a button to reset the game.
Excellent competitive game, I think you should keep developing it!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]