Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Vacuum Maiden

by UnconventionalFusion - Jam Entry

Vacuum Maiden is a extreme house cleaning simulator. You get invaded by monster mites and you gotta clean the mess they are making while getting rid of them.

*XTRA PRO TIPS*
Controls:
Moving: WASD
Aim/Char Direction: Mouse cursor
Vacuum ON/OFF: Mouse scroll up/down
Shooting: Mouse left click

*How to shoot: Vacuum = Off & you have suck in Dirt/Furniture(Yellow box)
*Get as much dirt as possible without neglecting furniture
*When shooting: dirt > furniture (later waves)
*White ball = power up
*GODSPEED!


Game was made by:
@yamasakai Code/'Art'
https://soundcloud.com/james-beckstead <-Sound/Awesome track

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#454Audio(Jam)2.92
#544Theme(Jam)3.32
#630Innovation(Jam)2.92
#655Fun(Jam)2.84
#717Humor(Jam)2.45
#727Overall(Jam)2.97
#751Mood(Jam)2.71
#908Graphics(Jam)2.26

Comments

Hectigo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:20pm

I'd focus on fixing the feel of the controls first, there's way too much inertia when moving around. Some sound effects could also do a lot for the game. I like the music though.

Nysten says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:25pm

A decent game, controls feel a bit wonky in my opinion. Still a nice little game, just would need a bit more work.

Red_Fan games says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:19pm

Chores have never been this epic :)

SimianLogic says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:19pm

I couldn't figure out how to kill a monster, though I did suck up a lot of furniture.

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:21pm

The controls are a bit touchy, but other than that I like the suction mechanic :)

Tortoise says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:23am

I like the idea of having to manage ammo like this, unfortunately the controls made it very difficult for me. Good start!

SowiHowl says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:26am

Nice game but needs more work, it can be really better !

Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:33pm

Thanks for the feedback guys :).
I will work on it on my free time to polish it, and put it on Game Jolt after the judging end.
I also feel that I could have make this game a bit more complete but hey it's playable, it got a Start&End
and it's a prototype and that's what Ludum Dare is all about!

edve98 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:26pm

Please make port for Linux! (and while you're at it, probably make one for Mac as well ;) )

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:19pm

Good job! Interesting idea, and I loved the sound and especially the particle effects. It was kind of hard at first to distinguish what the different shapes represented, but the game was a lot of fun when I figured it out!

Big Cow says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:33pm

wasn't sure what i was doing at first, but once i figured it out, i really enjoyed it! it had really interesting and fun game mechanics. i do think you should continue developing it, it's great proof of concept.

Flayk says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 6:51am

I couldn't quite sense the mood of the game, as it was put together in a fairly abstract manner. I didn't find it necessarily funny, but it has a clever premise. I think there is a very innovative game brewing in here, and that you owe yourself a pat on the back for that. (:

rzfmzn says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 12:40pm

nice music, controls could be a bit smoother :)

Xanjos says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 3:48pm

Controls are a bit awkward but the concept is pretty cool and I love how well you've fleshed out the sucking/shooting mechanics.

M9Josh says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 12:11am

Liked the music, as others have said the controls could feel a little snappier. The mechanics are pretty solid, overall I enjoyed it!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]