Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

LOVE: An Unconventional Weapon

by Cherrymochi - Compo Entry

LOVE: An Unconventional Weapon

You are a lonely drunk Japanese salaryman at a cherry blossom viewing party.
Can you find love?

A mix of idle and RPG battle mechanics.
Meet ladies, unlock new skills and try to find 25 lovers to win.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#331Humor3.15
#337Mood3.19
#352Graphics3.39
#412Audio2.96
#498Theme3.41
#559Overall3.17
#608Innovation3.03
#621Fun2.96

Comments

ehtd says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:04am

This was unexpected, but fun!

Bemmu says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:08am

The characters are quite cute and for some reason I want to keep clicking!

togie says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:14am

lol it kept me playing ... even with that horribly annoying sound when you get the girl

Havacore says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:14am

Noooo!!!! I got to 19 lovers :(

That was an interesting take on the theme. One of those games that you would try to play at work for hours instead of doing your actual work. Loved the music!

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:18am

Cute game, though it was a little one-dimensional with only one thing to do (flirt).

Cherrymochi says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:23am

@Fuzzywuzzie Thank you for playing! actually there are 6 skills to unlock, you have to buy them at the shop (top right).

mtanton says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:41am

Interesting game. A bit slow at first, but good overall. Nice job!

nurabsal says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:45am

more strategy than initially apparent

Uruca Games says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:49am

I love the art. Very Nice! ^^

Bitterdeath says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:30am

I played way more than expected. The beer had me laughing.

morgondag says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:43am

clicked the flirt button then won.

RudyRain says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:45am

Music is awesome, especially end-of-level effect made me laugh (:

Earlier levels was too much repetitive though, a bit slow on progress side.

minnouu says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:51am

Interesting game, very cute

KedumeBits says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:51am

I like it. It's an original aprouch to the theme.

rnlf says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:52am

Fun little game with very cute art. Like it!

madjackmcmad says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:05am

This could have been an Orisinal game, in some alternate universe. Remember him? Good work-- I do wish it ramped up a little faster, but it looks and sounds great.

ker0chan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:02am

The graphics are too cute >w< ! Nice music, though a bit repetitive.
Could make a nice idle game with a bit more work :)

Skywilly says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:12am

Really great little game, very addictive.

freaknarf says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:33am

LOVE IS THE VVEAPON :) i found those games a bit lame but it win scene and concept are fun :) Autoflirt... raining bills...

Dyn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:50am

So sweet! ^_^

iSamurai says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:07am

Haha, funny setting! I like the sound effect when successfully get a girl - that's the winning whistle!

Suvidriel says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:30pm

Really lovely music :) Such a busy guy hitting on so many women x)

Olias says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:45pm

THAT WOMANIZER.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:56pm

I get real good SNES wibes over here.

Marcellus says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:12pm

Because sometime Beer can be an unconventional weapon. Congratz on this very good entry, I loved it !

ManicMiner says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:13pm

Nice, enjoyed it - agree with commentors who say it would be better if it ramped up quicker.

Also, I hit FIVE BAD JOKES IN A ROW - How unlucky am I? I know its "truly" random but honestly I would probably have fiddled the probabilities so that a bad joke reduces the odds of a bad joke next time.

tonypai says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:16pm

Auto flirt amused me lol

strong99 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:25pm

Unexpectedly fun. I loved the background style. Learned I need to read the how to. Getting more cash was easier than I thought.

Nomys_Tempar says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:54pm

So addictive !

igorfelga says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:02pm

Strange and unexpected, but very funny.
Keep clicking, but my jokes is very bad =P

SadSmile says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:08pm

Very good!

pavel_insight says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:19pm

Cute, funny and well polished game. :)

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:23pm

Kinda fun, interesting game with perfectly fitting music, and cute graphics.

Matsuki says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:59pm

That was a neat idea, I had fun with it.

Sogomn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:00pm

The sounds are way too loud and annoying.
Cool game tho, nice interpretation of the theme. Was fun too.
What does the game teach? You can get every woman with enough money. :D

DKoding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:02pm

Graphics looked good, a little more uncertain about the 'weapon' - 10/10 best game ever, would play again. :-) Please rate my game at http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=16225

DKoding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:03pm

Graphics looks good. A little unsure about the 'weapon'. However, 10/10 best game ever, would play again. :-) Please rate my game at http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=16225

Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:25pm

Love the graphics, especially the mood with the music and cherry blossoms. I did see some comparisons with male prostitution (getting paid with each lover). I liked how it got more complicated with mechanics like the joke. IRL all my jokes are bad...

Buko-Studios says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:49pm

love the cutesy pixel art. game play is a bit repetitive. had fun flirting and getting the girl :D

Hatsome says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:16pm

Nice little game, but the sounds were to high pitched

EwChap says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:38pm

Simple but cute. A little more options would go a long way.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:11pm

Cool graphics and audio for quite a different Asian theme. The joke wasn't as good as I hoped it would be. :(

Good luck!

Xgor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:15pm

Very interesting variant of Idle Game style of game.

zatyka says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:31pm

Interesting use of the theme. Very cute, but it quickly becomes repetitive, though the power ups help a little bit.

LTPATS says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:43pm

Cute game! I could click on the money up to five times and collect extra before it would disappear sometimes. It probably wasn't intentional though the extra cash helped :P. Some of the sound effects were pretty loud compared to everything else. Overall I really liked it and would love to see more, great work!

Garris says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:11pm

I liked the music but the other noises this game made were really screechy. It hurt my ears a little. But! Really really cute, and surprisingly fun to play! Nice job!

Malsanity says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:13pm

Money raining, you get paid if you end up flirting, getting them drunk helps... are you a prostitute? :P

cgmorton says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:37am

I have no idea how to get my 20th lover. I think once you hit 15 simultaneous lovers, you start taking a long hard look at yourself, and as a result lose all confidence. At least I assume that's the reason.

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:11am

It's funny, although a bit limited in what you can do. Not sure if it's a joke over dating sims, but that's one way I can see this game as well. Thanks for this entry.

iapc says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:17am

Lol, you can press money twice ;)

iapc says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:19am

Lol, you can press money twice ;). How do you get money when you get a girl? Realism much?

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:23am

This game i had to stop playing... only because i knew i would get sucked in and wouldnt get around to playing anyone elses. i love how you can choose a fairy and i have a soft spot for fairies as that was my first deck of yugioh cards...... super nerd here. haha anyway well done. you got high ratings from me :)

Ryumaru says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:25pm

Great little game, got to 19. A vague, pixelated girl WOULD be the undoing of a pixel artist.

hadesfury says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:11pm

It's a little slow but good idea

jukimv1986 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:20pm

Ah, a fun clicking game. Quite addictive, but at the same time a bit slow to build up levels. First time I went shopping I bought the auto-click and then I lost, which was quite frustrating. Good work for a LD!

LogGiant says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:18pm

Really cute! Graphics are very nice, simple implementation. A bit slow paced, but very polished.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:43pm

THIS IS GREAT!
Well done, you have made a great and funny game!
I love the graphic and the gameplay.
Good Job!

Drauthius says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:33pm

Cute and fun :3

fixitteam says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:22pm

It's raining money~~~ and there's sakura in the background.

This game is really fun, but not much of a gameplay... but definitely fun. And the music is really nice.

Good job!

Fanttum says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:23am

Cool game. Harder than it looks, and I got one just as the bar ran out so it played the winning sound as I lost :/

nicotuason says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:36am

Cute merging of an idle game with the theme! Also, why you need so many women huh? :p

peterkirk says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:58am

Really cute and I played longer than I thought I would.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:39am

This was a very addictive and interesting game. Nice job with progression!

May 11, 2015 @ 1:01pm

Cute graphics, simple gameplay, but addictive. I included it in part 8 of my Ludum Dare 32 compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/Fg_0-yj__pU

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]