Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Grand Piano Zombie MMO

by fndy - Jam Entry

Are you hungry for some MMO action? So listen,

you are trapped in a corridor with complete strangers. The entire world of Cupetria is swarmed by zombies, and you are the man to save the whole Kingdom! Just need to escape this corridor, fighting with the only moving thing available...
Fight your way through hordes of zombies and save your Kingdom in the amazing game of Grand Piano Zombie MMO!

Move left and right, push and use the ultimate weapon - The Lid to destroy the enemies

By Matvey "MATov" Cherevko, Ilya Belyy, Pavel "fndy" Kovtunenko, Sergey "ISG guitar" Ikonnikov, sprites by Kazzador

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#159Theme(Jam)3.85
#351Innovation(Jam)3.34
#369Graphics(Jam)3.58
#420Audio(Jam)2.97
#463Humor(Jam)2.99
#582Overall(Jam)3.14
#648Mood(Jam)2.88
#890Fun(Jam)2.49

Comments

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:09pm

haha cool grapfics, the gameplay could be a little improved and there are way lot of zombies in the beggining, but nice idea using the theme.

insane66 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:33pm

this was good i guess

TajamSoft says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:51pm

The graphics look very good, and the audio fits perfectly!
The only problem is that the gameplay get's a bit boring after a while.

OrangeeZ says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:35am

Aside from performance issues having server part is just great!
But what's the best build for PvP tank?

jacobturn says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:53am

nice art style.

Tanser says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:38pm

This game literally made my day. Amazing work!!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:43pm

OMG. online mutiplayer. quite an achievement.

Saker Games says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:43pm

Those zombies are so small they could walk beneath the piano and eat our brains. Thanks God, we're in 2d sprite world.. :P
Good looking sprites though. Gets boring after a time, but you can chat with nice people in the meantime.

DaGamesta says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:29pm

I think the idea is kinda silly and fun.

Zayron says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:30pm

Nice job! This is the only multiplayer I have seen so far and the art works looks very nice.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:31pm

Looks nice, and the multiplayer is quite a fun idea. The gameplay is very monotonous though, to be fair.

TeamCalcium says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:31pm

The idea is incredible good. The game itself
is simple but funny.
But you should be carful with those graphics from Kazzador. They are edits of RPG-Maker graphics and you are not allowed to use them here.

mantis says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:49pm

Really fun little game, was having fun playing it with you :) could do with some powerups or special attacks though. Two thumbs up otherwise!

Sublustris says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:42pm

Awesome art!

Druid says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:17pm

Interesting, little boring but interesting!

jordgubben says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:18pm

Best interpretation of Theme!

Smokeylope says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:18pm

Amazing graphics and audio and online multiplayer was a pleasant surprise, but the gameplay gets boring quickly.

scumbly says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:06pm

Quite an achievement! Loved your take on the theme.

jsmars says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:19pm

Freaking awesome idea man, nice job! Would have been great with a bit more game mechanics tho :)

pikmin4000 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:51pm

With my help, we pushed aside the zombies and piano to reach our communitive goal of 250 meters!!!!!!!!!!

sbarrio says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:51pm

Great graphics and audio. I like the idea of playing this as a MMO.

ehtd says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:07pm

15000 zombies killed! Very cool small game

popcorn897 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:00am

Only fun for a short time, but it's a really funny concept and I enjoyed it for the time I played it.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:18am

Im amazed you managed to write an mmo! not buggy at all. there wasn't anyone else in the game but it was still cool

frondeus says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:00pm

Not bad, but without other players its boring :<

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:54am

Great art and theme! Just wish I could be pushing with more people.

Goutye says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:06pm

I was alone when I tested it but the idea was nice. However, it was a little bit boring to push the piano alone x) 43m o/

MaesK says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 11:35pm

Nice idea! Specially the multiplayer part, even if right now I was as lonely as I could be :D Great and risky game, good work.

FrozenCow says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 9:33pm

I wish there was a way for online multiplayer games to work better on LD. You should probably queue a number of game-ratings and submit them all at once to get on the front-page for a good number of people for a short amount of time. More people will play the game with each other that way.

That said, nice looking game. I can imagine it being fun with multiple people, but was a bit boring on my own ;).

MrShoestore says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 1:54am

unfortunately there was no one else playing when I was, so it made the game a "press the 'lid' button simulator". Potentially interesting, but quickly boring.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]