Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Way Of The First: The Untold Slater Saga

by devilright - Jam Entry

Maybe I shouldn’t have come here...

I can barely walk… my head is still spinning. Hell... I’ve even started talking to myself. Something sure got rattled when I went down. I still can’t believe it. He used moves I’ve never seen before.

...Damn… Well, no time to dwell now. This isn’t going to be easy, but I was the master of my craft once. An artist some may say… and once I get my hands on that ancient scroll, nothing will stop me. I’ll fight my way through every last one of them... I’ll show them that I’m still the top dog. The Alpha. The head honcho... Alright Slater… You’ve got this.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#106Humor(Jam)3.74
#154Graphics(Jam)4.07
#240Audio(Jam)3.37
#369Fun(Jam)3.25
#530Innovation(Jam)3.07
#549Mood(Jam)3.00
#582Overall(Jam)3.14
#596Theme(Jam)3.25

Comments

Sublustris says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:01pm

5/5 really great idea!

dusho says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:07pm

feels like opponents are cheating..
really nice art

DKoding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:30pm

Simple yet effective.

Sevauk says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:35pm

Cool game ! I've been playing this for 6 hours now... can't stop

Linus123xbb says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:38pm

Very funny, it was simple gameplay but yet a fun game. I really enjoyed the SFX and graphics aswell!

Ludipe says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:46pm

The art is great and the fact that you added voice-acting is pretty awesome ^^

However, I didn't think the gamplay was fun :/

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:03pm

Maybe the dialogue could be skipped fast, The art is nice, but the grandppa must be hacked, because I cannot win kkkk

ccglp says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:05pm

I love the humor of this. You guys make an excellent work with the characters design.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:35pm

Cute graphics but I hate the song. Also the delay between the choice is too long. It gets boring waiting after a few tries.

Xaychru says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:47pm

5/5 humor! I like the sounds and graphics, the game really feels unique! I just wish the gameplay was more interesting...

goblin says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:30pm

great job, was very entertaining, I played a lot. Happiness Is! Look at my game. http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

Tortoise says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:09am

I actually really liked the your artstyle :D

rodobodolfo says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:04am

Loved the music and art. Gameplay is really simple but works. Good job!

Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:15am

Decent humour and nicely polished feel. It's just too bad I couldn't beat stage 5 and see the ending :(

syncxzoz says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:20pm

lol... good game!!!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]