Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Octopus Odyssey

by Flayk - Jam Entry

There once was a hungry octopus who lived in the reef.
"I'm famished! I could sure go for some crabs!"Said the octopus, as the nearby crustaceans backed away in horror.

A pearl flies by the octopuses head, nearly hitting it.
"Ey you" Said a clam within the seaweed. "You aint welcome here anymore"

"What do you mean? I eat guys like you for breakfast!" said the octopus

"Not anymore you don't" the clam replied as all sorts of eyeballs and baddies are in the background.

INSTRUCTIONS:

wsad: Move
lmb: Squirt Ink

Use the bubble to block pearls and change the jellyfish' direction.
Grab the giant ink splotches for POWER UPS
The first-level Power-Up will grant you, "Penetrating Squirt" (Can shoot through pearls).
The second-level Power-Up will grant you "Rapid Squirts" (Shoots ink rapidly)

BOSS TIP: Use the Penetrating Squirt first to thin the numbers of clams. After they are thinned out, use the Rapid Squirts to clear a path.

THANK YOU FOR REVIEWING OUR FIRST JAM!

I did a speed-run:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iT922xJlQuc

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#426Audio(Jam)2.96
#428Fun(Jam)3.18
#460Mood(Jam)3.15
#569Graphics(Jam)3.18
#644Overall(Jam)3.07
#686Humor(Jam)2.50
#790Theme(Jam)2.93
#874Innovation(Jam)2.39

Comments

sugarbyte says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:56pm

So cute!

jankcat says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:13am

nice audio ;)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:37am

I was unable to beat the stage with the billion clams because sometimes picking up an ink powerup would create another octopus and the camera/viewport would get really confused. Since there were so many powerups it was difficult to avoid this happening.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:23am

Hey this game looks and sounds great.
I enjoyed playing but the mouse control
was painful on my mouse laptop's pad.
Fun game, thank you.

AtomicVikings says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:23am

Sometimes a bit hard but do able. I was on the way back to the exit and i died. AHHHHH :-)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:32am

final stage was way too difficult. i finished it because the game glitched out and duplicated the player. so i had a double fire ability. that aside i loved the mood of the game.

Hambone says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:41am

Nice art!

rattyinc says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 8:39am

LOL I liked the cute graphics and the random R&B beats playing in the BG whilst you shoot clams and seals in the face with your ink

Croze says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 8:53am

Very cute and fun, with very solid gameplay mechanics! Quite difficult I must add, also reminds me of the gameplay in Beat Buddy!

borgi says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:14am

Cute octopus :D

peecestudios says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:45am

Really great and tough!

celisoft says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 11:15am

Like the game even if it was very difficult to play on azert keyboard.

Damdoshi says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 9:36am

Very cute graphisms ! (but not enough animated)
It's a bit difficult (can't pass the blue octopus and the fish), and a lifebar would have been very useful !

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]