Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Kitten Defense

by Archonthewizard - Jam Entry

In Kitten Defense you use a laser pointer to guide your pet kittens around the living room. Little critters may try to steal your kitty food - DON'T LET THEM! Your kittens will kill nearby critters automatically, but they get distracted quite easily. Make sure the laser pointer is close enough for them to notice it.

Controls:
Left-click to activate the laser pointer

HINT:
The kittens won't attack enemies while focused on the laser pointer.

Also, keep in mind that the laser pointer must be near the kitten to attract it.

Unconventional Weapon:
Laser pointer.... or Kittens... whichever you prefer

There's an option to turn off blood effects in the game menu

ENJOY!

Special thanks to everyone on Twitch who helped give feedback, test the game, and help me fix coding errors. You guys rock!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#102Overall(Jam)3.82
#145Theme(Jam)3.88
#149Fun(Jam)3.63
#155Innovation(Jam)3.68
#169Humor(Jam)3.56
#199Mood(Jam)3.52

Comments

LadyEnigma says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:45am

Love this game! The kitty cuteness is great. Fun to play

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:18am

This game was really fun to play. Good job man!

RoryD says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:19am

Fun game! I wish laser pointer would fade out away from the cat to remind me that it can't see it. The pesky squirrels were fast. Good job.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:21am

Using kittens is always cheating. Even as an unconventional weapon :o)

kikijin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:23am

Great game it's fun to lay the kitty killer ^^

UltraRat says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:23am

haha... So Cute, kittens only hunt for sport, they do not eat the animals they kill and still need cat food.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:24am

Surprisingly interesting. good variance of mechanics and difficulty ramp

cdrch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:25am

Great theme usage. It is difficult to figure out how to hit spiders, though. I basically click-spammed until the kitten hit it, which felt unsatisfying. I now am furious at squirrels, though, for hurting poor kittens with their nut bombs.

Murchurl says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:43am

Nice graphics. Fun gameplay.

I enjoyed this, good job!

ironleonem says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:19am

Solid gameplay, and a pretty unique concept! I loved the art and music, good choices there. I'd love to see more of this!

Buzzwerd says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:24am

Definitely one of the better games I've played. Great job!

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:01am

Surprisingly fun game. During the first few levels, I was thinking to myself "this would be awesome with more kittens", then next thing I know I'm controlling three.

One thing that I felt it needed was being able to "laser focus" some enemies with the laser. In many situations, I'd have a spider or rat eating the food, I'd lead my kittens there, then they'd go chase a squirrel or something. Cats, man.

Norbex says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:51pm

Interesting idea! :)

LMT says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:44pm

Really nice polished complete game. I like the music and the sounds and the ability to turn off the blood is a nice option.

Yazara says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:54pm

Aw the kitten getting hit is sad :(
Overall a really nice game, well done! I especially like the animations.

iapc says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:09pm

verry enjoyable game. just straight up amazingly fun.

OniiRam says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:27pm

Cool! this is very cute and relaxing to play, I loved it

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:35pm

Very cute. Nice models, animations, and sound effects. Great submission.

SpringCabal says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:43pm

Well made, fun to play.

ekkiiiii says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:43pm

Very cute game. Love the smooth and cute movements!

Drauthius says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:16pm

Good game! Those pesky raccoons are making things hard. The cats are pretty self-sustained also - we just think we're influencing them, but they just do what they want, just like in real life!

dray says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:47pm

Really cool game, well polished, with great art and music. the tower defense gameplay with a great twist is a nice idea. good job

ianburnette says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:13am

Noooo! Out of food! This was really fun, and an EXCELLENT use of the theme. We're not firing kittens out of rocket launchers or anything, we're using them in a way that is logically conceivable (if not all that probably). Really great.

Blobo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:35pm

The anamations are amazing, and i loved watching the cats beat up squirrels. nice work!

Plustech says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:55am

Movable tower defense!
Loved the theme and execution, great entry mate! Impressive!

Scornz says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:01am

So much fun! All fives from me :D

Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:25am

Pretty good game. Perhaps a little violent, but that's cats for you. Good level design/progression. My only qualm was sometimes when two kittens were close together they were a bit hard to separate. But everything from graphics to audio and controls were good.

dcRfj15 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:31am

Fun to play, challenging but it became that way because of harder enemies rather than just more of them, which is good. I really liked how each round had a different ideal strategy, so the player was forced to adapt. Good job.

uvwar says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:05am

Pretty fun! I did begin to feel like the laser pointer didn't really have much to do with the game, but was just an annoying way to control the cat because there was a distance limit on it. Sometimes my cat would run in the opposite direction from my pointer which was strange/frustrating.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:32pm

Really cute! :)

HeffJoker says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:55pm

One of best all around entries I've seen so far! The amount of polish and attention to detail is fantastic!

However, I think the kittens are slightly overpowered at times. There were times where I was just sitting, watching the kittens kill things rather than wrangling them with the laser pointer. Maybe they need to be slightly dumber?

Nonetheless, great job!!

Foxarya says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:17pm

You should have opted for the graphics category! I like the game, I think a cat would see and follow a laser from farther, it needs to be too close.

Karsten says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 7:18pm

nice, very much done in such a short time.i made it to wave 4 when things start to get mad hard xD

Leandrus says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 7:52pm

I love it. Really good.
I love when the nut blows up and the little cat meows :)
Thanks for sharing.

panurge says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 3:08pm

Kittens are such badasses! This was a lot of fun to play.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 3:23pm

Perfect. This is perfect! Super cute graphics and idea, nice satisfying sounds, great level progression and teaching the player, and I didn't see any bugs (aside from the spiders :P). The only thing I can even think of to criticize is the default UI button sprite (I think it looks better if you just use a 16x16 blank square sprite for a minimal look rather than the stretched Unity UI sprites), but obviously that's a really minor thing. Awesome work, 5 to the 6th power from me :)

Smirnov48 says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 4:21pm

Super game! Great idea, great realisation.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]