Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

battle star

by omaha - Compo Entry

Defend your solar system.

-- ANDROID BUILD now available --

Made in ~8 hours. Intended to be run at 16:9.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#311Graphics3.47
#411Innovation3.31
#470Theme3.44
#542Fun3.06
#578Audio2.64
#612Mood2.86
#693Overall3.03
#919Humor1.76

Comments

talecrafter says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:15am

Great work for 8 hours. The 'battle star' feels nice to interact with.
Presentation is very good.
Time until the 'enemies' spawned was sometimes very long, which left me a bit confused.

omaha says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:21am

You have to click to start the game. Maybe it was still on the title screen?

ssiegel2 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:55pm

Interesting mechanic. A little hard to control.

rnlf says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:06pm

Nice variant of the fruit ninja type gameplay. Pretty hard though, but with some training manageable!

Nice look and feel!

timtipgames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:24am

Feels great to interaction with

Simon says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:48pm

This is very hard! But I kept coming back and the mechanic is really interesting. And it's very pretty too. Well done!

nov1kk says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:55pm

Pretty neat game! A little bit confusing at first, but once you know what to do it's pretty challenging!

jukimv1986 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:01pm

Amazing work for that short dev time! Very difficult to stay alive for long, the most points I could achieve after several plays were 9. Good fun and pretty addictive, nicely set mood and decent audio. Well done!

adsilcott says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:14pm

I like the way I can make the sun "set" behind the foreground, and the way the enemies become stars in the sky. Fun game! I think I'd like it if the orbiting weapon had a little more weight/moved a little slower.

jhell says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:26pm

This was hard as hell x). It looks pretty though, and the idea is original. I'd say I liked it.

DKoding says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:33pm

Hard. Not bad. Simple effective graphics. Still rating you for 48 hrs even if you claim 8. :-P

Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:23pm

Messing with the star and swinging the little planet around is really satisfying for some reason! The difficulty is pretty brutal though. Cool game.

Park says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:34pm

One of the most fun gameplays I've experienced this jam, really enjoyed the potential to develop some skill at the game, and wielding the battle star in an effective, beautiful way had a lot of appeal. My best score was 53, on average around 17-20. Very good work, Omaha. ・◡・

Making the "Battle Star" text at the top larger on replay, or adding some "click to play" text in the center would solve the confusion talecrafter experienced, I sometimes forgot to click again myself while playing a few dozen times. (〃 ̄ω ̄〃ゞ

omaha says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:09pm

Thanks Park!

I'll concede the part about improving the title text and providing a bit more direction. I was going for a minimalist appeal but might have gone too far.

LMT says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:36pm

Awesome game and it really suits the touch controls. I also like the interesting take on the theme. The graphics are simple but nice.

CowShark says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:03am

Snazzy! I like the weapon mechanic a lot. The minimalist look really works, I think. Anything more elaborate and the visuals would have been busy enough to cause readability issues, possibly, so well done on that! The difficulty level was a little beyond me, but that didn't stop me from enjoying the game!

TeamQuadratic says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:53pm

Really hard but pretty fun. Graphics are simple but good!

Super Hamster says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:50pm

Got 15! The game design looks cool. The control feels a little bit awkward though. Eventually I learned some kind of spin move that seemed to work out but it definitely took practice. Also I think sometimes the attacking star thing went through enemies some times. Probably is nice on android. Good job!

gruhn says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:21pm

Good choice of mechanic.

vikpek says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 1:25pm

Couldn't get more than 29 ... It's a fun game! Simple and elegant idea.

davient says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 12:40pm

Love the star controls

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]