Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Solenoid

by FROSTBYTEDEVELOPMENT - Jam Entry

About the game: Solenoid is a puzzle based platformer which incorporates the use of magnets to perform tasks in a building. Although we had numerous levels set up for use, we were only able to perfect one in the time frame. Use A and D to move. Space to jump. T to use magnet. Mouse Wheel to change magnets.

Want to learn how to play the game? Here is a quick tutorial: https://youtu.be/ZXYz1gFCWwo


Want to listen to the AMAZING game music?! Click the following link: https://soundcloud.com/frostbytedev/sets/ludum-dare-32

About the development: The game was fully written in Java, with the use of NO game engine or extra library.

Developers (Our first Ludum Dare):
Avery Durrant (16) - Programmer
Jacob Kline (16) - Audio and Game Development
Steven Wood (16) - Some game development, mostly sitting around being lazy
Fawful (17) - Graphics

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#263Audio(Jam)3.31
#540Graphics(Jam)3.25
#601Overall(Jam)3.11
#605Theme(Jam)3.24
#607Innovation(Jam)2.96
#714Mood(Jam)2.78
#783Humor(Jam)2.30
#960Fun(Jam)2.33

Comments

Paulozz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:17pm

Where can we play?

Shimmergloom says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:17pm

Hey, you're not providing a way for us to play it :(

Paulozz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:17pm

Just got it the jar is in source

Paulozz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:22pm

Nice graphics and sound but it way too slow paced for me.

Matt Tuttle says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:12am

I got the game to run but got stuck going up the ladder. The gap between the floor doesn't seem big enough for me to go through.

andrewjoy says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:22am

Looks good but I agree that it plays quite slowly.

Dustician says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:03am

The game is pretty slow paced. I would also recommend change the link name to make it more obvious that it is actually the game

ProjectX593 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:05am

Couldn't tell how to make the robot hit the switch, robot floated up through the floor and got stuck in another room, got stuck trying to climb a ladder.

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:10am

Looked like fun but I didn't get very far because I couldn't figure out how to switch magnets. Can you post some controls?

TheColorMan says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:19am

I liked the music. The animations and the art were good. Overall very good! My only suggestion would be to make it more obvious what kind of magnet you're using (I didn't see the text on the top left for a while) and a little indicator so we know what robot we're magnetizing.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:41am

Much too slow to move and get to the building, in my opinion. I could see that my mousewheel was changing something in the upper left, but unfortunately the top 3/4 of the text was cut off and I couldn't figure out what to do.

Cstudios says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:20pm

The controls are not to ergonomic, and the character movement is slow. The music is realy good, i agree with you, also i like the mechanics. Just change the keyboard layout and the character speed and it will be awesome :)

Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:35am

What key's would you want me to change?! I do not see the character being slow?!

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:21am

It's a nice little series of mechanics, and I can see them broadening out really well; though I found the tutorials pace a bit slow - would've been nice if we had a more free playground to run around while inducting the mechanics

BIZM says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:02pm

Cool mechanics. Really dig the xylophone music! Good work!

Squidtank says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:56am

This was a bit too slow for my liking. I don't think the audio tutorial was necessary either and felt it added to the slow pace of the game. I would have rather had visual cues instead. The controls were a bit .. unnatural. It felt weird to move my hand from the mouse to the keyboard so often to change magnets and use it.

dvdfu says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:59am

Gameplay and tutorial were a little slow, but the music is great! Cool concept, too.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:48am

wow this was like so complicated - it was an interesting idea tho - nice effort

SamH says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 12:37pm

The puzzles are interesting, too bad you didn’t release more levels. Also, please add alternate control bindings. I don’t have a mouse wheel and I had to wait a whole week before I could try your game at someone’s place…

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]