Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

SPOON

by JDAivaliotis - Jam Entry

! This game does not load in Safari - Working on a fix !

A lone spoon must fight off endless waves of evil baked goods. Try to knock enemies into the air and combo them for maximum combos and points!

Try different attacks! I.e. hold down in mid-air and attack to do a down spike, hold up and attack on the ground to knock enemies into the air.

Read the in-game help!
Controls:
~ Arrow Keys - Movement
~ Z - Jump
~ X - Attack
~ R - Reset
~ Q - Menu/Pause

Music: Battle of the Void by Marcelo Fernandez

Made Using:
- Playground.js
- Sublime Text 3
- Photoshop CS6
- Audacity

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#214Fun(Jam)3.48
#238Humor(Jam)3.42
#352Theme(Jam)3.59
#387Mood(Jam)3.24
#546Overall(Jam)3.18
#569Graphics(Jam)3.18
#687Innovation(Jam)2.80
#1811Coolness36%

Comments

Synert says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:13am

Loved it, great fun once I started to get the hang of the controls and pull off combos. Great job on the graphics!

SledKnight says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:02am

Not able to play. Freezes on the loading screen.

IamAcoconut says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:18am

This is pretty awesome :)

tylo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:22am

Once I got ahold of the controls... (btw, you should list what they are in your description)

I felt like I was playing the best Souls game of Ludum Dare 32. Combat felt very visceral and weighty.

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:16am

Wow this has great game feel. I got so much satisfaction out of pummeling donuts. You did a great job capturing and implying the force of each impact through your animations. Great job!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:59am

Really like the game feel, especially concerning feedbacks and camera movements. I enjoyed this funny little game and loved the combat. Pretty solid entry !

Grouflon says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:28pm

Nice FX

edve98 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:58pm

Very fun, but a bit hard for my taste

llamaguy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:17pm

Great controls, but I feel an lack of personality.

llamaguy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:18pm

Good try.Great controls, but I feel an lack of personality.

Ghen says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:41pm

quite fun game, i love the title screen, the font and background really nice, but it didn't fit nicely with the player sprite or enemy sprite, quite odd i must say
but nontheless, really nice game

gjvonn says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:25pm

Feels very good, plays smoothly. The only thing I'd like is some knockback when the player is hit. Great job!

43iscoding says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:58pm

The first thing that came to my mind: that's a LOOOT of screenshake! Looks like someone enjoys sfx ;D

Fighting muffins & donuts in hell with a spoon is pretty fun experience, I liked it.

But I got a few freezes and controls look a bit buggy :(

spriters2000 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:47pm

Pretty good for being a jam game. The graphics are nice and the animations are really smooth and bouncy, you really feel like everything has its weight.
Good concept overall and well realized, just a bit boring and pretty monochromatic.

LuisDC says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:06pm

Well done! I liked this one.

KCrimson says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:18pm

Think the enemies had too much health, fighting them felt like trying to chop down a tree.

Integershift says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:21pm

The game is extremely fun! Well done! The music is good, the controls were easy to get accustomed to, fit the theme. Well done!

JoshuaBurr says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:52pm

Didn't get past loading screen in Safari:

[Error] Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 404 (Not Found) (battle.mp3, line 0)
[Error] Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 404 (Not Found) (menu_music.mp3, line 0)
[Error] Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 404 (Not Found) (enemy_hurt01.mp3, line 0)
[Error] Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 404 (Not Found) (enemy_hurt02.mp3, line 0)
[Error] Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 404 (Not Found) (enemy_hurt03.mp3, line 0)
[Error] Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 404 (Not Found) (enemy_death.mp3, line 0)
[Error] Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 404 (Not Found) (jump.mp3, line 0)
[Error] Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 404 (Not Found) (player_hurt.mp3, line 0)
[Error] Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 404 (Not Found) (menu.mp3, line 0)
[Error] Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 404 (Not Found) (player_death.mp3, line 0)
[Error] Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 404 (Not Found) (favicon.ico, line 0)

Bishkip says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:42pm

Nice, loved how solid the attacks felt.

JDAivaliotis says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:40am

Hi everyone, thanks for all the great feedback!

The game has issues loading in Safari due to it's inablity to playback ogg files. I'll try to fix that asap.

jackrugile says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:18am

Man, this is awesome! I love getting combos and time slow down when attacking. Some things I think could improve it if you continue to develop this:

1. Sound effects (might just be an issue in Chrome, I saw them loading in the network tab, but didn't hear them. I only heard the music).
2. More detailed levels with terrain that can be used strategically.
3. A little quicker response time on the thrust of the spoon. It felt a little unwieldy at times. I love that you can influence the direction and action of the attack, but adding a quicker response time would bring it all together in my opinion.

Overall, an awesome game! I used Playground.js for my game as well. It looks like you really put it to good use, so many cool animations in your game.

And now I want a donut...

vortex says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:20pm

Nice game, theme buddy!
But please don't use Z and X as keys for those of us with a qwertz keyboard...

May 4, 2015 @ 2:29am

working perfectly on chromium for Linux. Pretty funny game, loved it! The controls were a little difficult to master (awsd player here :p), but not a problem at all. Nice music too!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]